Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam

Terry Schwarzfeld: Gourmet Terry


Cover of the cookbook



 
TERRY' S COOKBOOK: RECIPES, STORIES AND TIES OF FRIENDSHIP - IN MEMORY OF TERRY SCHWARZFELD

A Cookbook and A Hadassah-WIZO Daycare in Israel to remember Schwarzfeld who was senselessly killed by an attacker in Barbados while vacationing

By Bobbi Soderstrom and Rhonda Spivak, December 7, 2010

Terry Schwarzfeld,  who had just become the National Presdient of  Hadassah-WIZO Canada, was vacationing in Barbados with her family, when she and her daughter-in-law, Luana Cotsman, were accosted and brutally beaten by a mugger on February 28, 2009.  Luana recovered but Terry, who was 60 years old died from her injuries on March 18, 2009.  Extensive media coverage captured the tragedy of her death. (Editor's note: A Tribute written following her death is reprinted at the very end of this article.)

TRIBUTE TO TERRY: THE ORIGINS OF TERRY'S COOKBOOK

By Bobbi Soderstrom, December 7, 2010

Family came first for Terry, but she had boundless energy. She was committed to community. She loved the outdoors and was an avid hiker, dragon boat racer, and cross-country skier. She would sign off her emails with, "May the forest be with you".
 
Perhaps Terry's greatest talent was cooking. Terry could spend the day hiking in the woods and entertain 30 people for a gourmet dinner at her house that night.

Terry talked about writing a cookbook with her friends that not only contained recipes, but told stories about where the recipes came from and the times when they were enjoyed. After her death, ten of Terry’s friends, calling themselves “Friends of the Forest,” resolved to fulfill Terry’s unrealized goal. It took a year of tracking down relatives and friends around the world to gather the stories and photographs, to trace down the origins of Terry’s recipes and to decipher and interpret the instructions on Terry’s recipe cards.  

Terry's Cookbook is now available. The recipes, pictures and stories celebrate Terry's life - her love of food and nature - her strong connections to community - and the family and friends who love and miss her. Profits from the sale of Terry's Cookbook will be donated to the Terry Schwarzfeld Ottawa Daycare Centre, taking care of disadvantaged Arab and Jewish children, located in Akko, Israel.

THE INAUGURATION OF THE TERRY SCHWARTFELD DAYCARE CENTE IN AKKO, ISRAEL

By Rhonda Spivak, editor of the Winnipeg Jewish Review and cousin of  Terry Shwarzfeld, z"l, December 7, 2010

There is a place in this world where the generous and loving spirit of Terry Shwarzfeld lives on--- a small oasis of peace and hope and spirit of co-existence, in a neighborhood that  is otherwise quite challenged and disadvantaged in the sea side town of Akko, in Northern Israel. It is a place my children and I  were fortunate enough to see with our own eyes, a place situated between crowded apartments where there is otherwise very little green space.

It is a place where the memory  and legacy of  Terry Shwarzfeld lives on, in the bright  and glowing eyes of the young children who  greeted us along with Terry's extended family and many friends who journeyed there in June 2010 for the inauguration of the Terry Shwarzfeld daycare.

On the day we visited the sun shone, and shone and shone and the daycare staff and children had put in so much effort to host and entertain their guests. Every detail was attended to--from the signs  that greeted us to the many kinds of  snacks and food that were set outside near the neatly ordered white plastic chairs we sat on. 

The daycare's  children, both Jewish and Arab, stood in a line with Israeli flags in hand, singing, and visibly excited to greet us.

We came into the newly renovated centre, (which had been renovated with the funds donated to Hadassah-WIZO  in Terry's memory) and  we toured each carefully designed room and could see the new sinks and bookshelves and everything that had been made mini-size for the children.

When we entered the music room, we sat  downs  as the chilren spread out a parachute and sang and danced until we were all laughing, and (possibly) crying at the same time. It reminded me of Montessori school in Winnipeg and I was rather amazed to find something so similar in Israel. Terry would have loved it, and  I remember thinking that  she was there that day with us--as if she were the sun shining down upon us, spreading her warmth and generousity everywhere.

I do not remember all of  the details in the number of beautiful speeches that were made that day about Terry--except I do remember one thing. Terry's  younger sister Aviva (who has the same rather amazing organizational skills as Terry did)  said that it is not the case that this daycare was renovated because Terry died. For if Terry had still been alive, she would have ensured that the funds would have been raised to renovate the daycare under her leadership. It was a project that she had already taken under her wings before she died. And anyone who knew Terry knew that she completed every task she took on and  she completed it not barely or with mediocrity, but she completely it  well- to the very last detail.

Near the end of our visit we went into the small yard behind the daycare and watched Terry's family members plant  saplings--saplings that would grow into trees that  will provide shade, protection and respite for little children.  Tears flowed down my face as I watched Terry's cute little grandson Ben (who  looks so much like his grandfather Steve Cotsman, Terry's husband) as he bent over to plant his tree in his grandmother's memory--and I remember thinking that luckily he was too young to really appreciate the fullness of his own loss, in being deprived of a grandmother who would have had enough love stored up inside her to nurture him and all the other little children in the garden that day.

Terry's Cookbook can be purchased for $25 a copy  from any Canadian Hadassah-WIZO centre office (for information go to www.chw.ca/ottawa),  by mail order from General Store Publishing in Renfrew, Ontario, Canada  (www.gsph.com)  and  from many individual "Friends of the Forest". In Winnipeg, contact Melanie Richters at [email protected] or 204-798-8385.
 
Profits from the sale of Terry's Cookbook will be donated to the Terry Schwarzfeld Ottawa Daycare Centre, taking care of disadvantaged Jewish and Arab children, located in Akko, Israel.  

THE FOLLOWING IS THE TRIBUTE  WRITTEN IN APRIL 2009 SHORTLY  AFTER TERRY'S DEATH 

TRIBUTE TO TERRY SHWARZFELD

By Rhonda Spivak, April 2009

Jewish community leader Terry Shwarzfeld, who had recently become the 20th national president of Canadian Hadassah WIZOo died on March 18th, after being brutally attacked on February 28 by a lone man while vacationing in Barbados.

Shwarzfeld, age 60, was walking with her daughter-in-law, Luana Cotsman of Guelph, on an isolated stretch of Long beach  in the afternoon, when they  were approached by a would-be robber who had an imitation handgun. After it became clear that the two women had no money on them, the attacker left but then returned with a hunk of wood and struck Shwarzfeld on the back of the head, knocking her unconscious. She was flown back to Ottawa and succumbed to her head injury three weeks later.

On witnessing her mother-in-law being attacked, Luana Cotsman, struggled with the killer (whose face was covered), and was  knocked unconscious. She regained consciousness within hours, and is currently recovering from her injuries.  

Althou

 
<<Previous Article       Next Article >>
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • Sveinson Construction
  • The Home Store
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • John Wishnowski
  • Stringer Rentals & Power Products
  • JLS Construction
  • Roseman
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Holiday Inn
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • Ingrid Bennett
  • Chochy's
  • Interlake Service
  • Hugh's Electric
  • Lakeside Roofing
  • KC Enterprises
  • Bulrushes Gallery
  • Gulay Plumbing
  • Trevor Arnason Plumbing
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Country Boy Restaurant
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Shenanigan's On The Beach
  • Nikos
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Whytewold Emporium
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.