Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam

Entrance to UNWRA's Aida Palestinian Refugee Camp near Bethlehem, with key representing the right of return that says "not for Sale"
photo by Rhonda spivak


Mural of a former Palestinian village (as it was in 1948) in UNWRA's Aida Palestinian Refugee Camp
photo by Rhonda Spivak


Mural of first Female Palestinian suicide bomber on UNWRA School in UNWRA's Deheishe Palestinian Refugee camp.
photo by Rhonda Spivak


Mural of a Shahid, terrorist who died for cause of liberating all of Palestine on street near UNWRA school in UNWRA's Deheishe Palstinian Refugee Camp
photo by Rhonda Spivak

 
FIRST HAND ACCOUNT: MY VISIT TO UNWRA PALESTINIAN REFUGEE CAMPS

by Rhonda Spivak, posted April 7, 2011

[Editor's note: Since first publishing this article on March 31, 2011, it has been picked up by atleast 20 other websites, in addition to being published in the Ohio Jewish Chronicle. The websites include:

http://blog.dailyalert.org/2011/04/01/time-warp-in-unrwa-palestinian-refugee-camps/      Daily Alert is produced by  The Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs for The Conference of Presidents of Major Jewish Organizations. The Center is headed by Former Israeli ambassador to the UN Dore Gold.

http://www.martinkramer.org/-  Martin Kramer directed the  Moshe Dayan Centre for Middle Eastern And African  Studies  for 25 years, and founded Middle East Strategy  at Harvard (MESH) and also has been a Wexler-Fromer Fellow at the Washington Institute for Near East  Policy. ]

I have recently been to two Palestinian refugee camps run by the United Nations Refugee and Works Agency [UNWRA] near Bethlehem. My visit has unfortunately have left me with the impression that the Palestinians as a whole are far from giving up on the right of return to their 1948 homes and villages in Israel. I saw first hand how Palestinian refugees in UNWRA camps live  in what I can only describe as  a ‘time warp,” as these  UNWRA camps perpetuate the illusion of  them one day  returning to former homes and villages in pre-67 Israel.

For example, I was rather shocked to see that  the entrance to the Aida UNWRA refugee camp  has a “huge key” that says “not for sale,” promoting the notion of a right of return, which can not be bought.  [This begs the question why the West allows this to be put up in a UN refugee camp that the West funds, which only feeds the illusion of  a mass  right of return, which means the ultimate destruction of Israel.]

Many years ago, in 1989 when I co-founded the chapter of Peace Now in Winnipeg it was because I believed that Palestinian in UNWRA refugee camps would forego the right of return to 1948 Israel and would live in a future Palestinian state (in the West Bank, Gaza and East Jerusalem) that would co-exist alongside Israel (which would have a Jewish majority) . For a two state solution to ever be feasible, Palestine would have to forego the right of return.

But on my recent visit , I saw that in UNWRA Palestinian refugee camps people live in streets according to the villages they came from [i.e. refugees and their descendants from Jaffa all live near each other], children’s sports teams are divided according to former villages [i.e children who are descendants of  Jaffa refugees are on one team]. All of this serves only to perpetuate the conflict by feeding the false and unrealistic notion of returning to pre-67 Israel. In both UNWRA refugee camps I visited there were “NAKBA” signs that showed maps of Palestine, which included all of pre-67 Israel.

When I was in Aida refugee camp, I saw several long blocks of huge murals of all the Palestinian villages to which the refugees talk about returning to. I was struck by the fact that one of the villages in these murals, for example, depicted Be’er Sheva as a small pastoral village with several houses.[Today of course Be’er Sheva is a developed city of  200,000 people.]

When I was at a J-Street conference in Washington last month, I met a naive Jewish peace activist who spent time in  UNWRA’s Deheishe Refugee Camp run in Bethlehem where she volunteered in running an art program.  She told me that when the children were asked to  draw something, rather than draw a tree or a sun or a moon -THEY ALL DREW THE  SAME THING –a large key, representing  the key to the home of the village where their grandparents lived in 1948, to which they would one day return to.
 
“It was disturbing to realize that this was the first thing the children drew”, the art teacher told me,  as for there to be a peace agreement youth in UNWRA’s Palestinian refugee camps need to  be taught to focus on moving on, upgrading their lives and resettling into nice homes in Bethlehem, Ramallah  in the West Bank, not in pre-67 Israel.
 
Having been to UNWRA’s Palestinian Refugee Camp in Deheishe, I can attest to the  fact there is a large mural of a female  suicide bomber [a graduate of the school] on an UNWRA school right near the entrance to the camp. In allowing this mural to remain, the UNWRA school  glorifies terror, and perpetuates the continuation of the conflict. The suicide bomber becomes the person children admire and seek to aspire to become. Why the United States and other Western countries fund a UN school without requiring it to remove a huge mural of a terrorist on the school defies reason, does it not?
 
I also saw the street near the back of the school and noticed a number of other large murals of terrorists (martyrs) who have died for the cause of liberating all of Palestine.  
 
At the J-Street conference in Washington, I  met George A. Laudato, who works for US AID [The U.S. Agency for International Development], in the Middle  East Bureau. Laudato confirmed that although the US Aid builds schools in UNWRA Palestinian Refugee Camps, US Aid “does not monitor the content” of what is taught in those schools, which he acknowledged “ is a problem.” Laudato told me of a situation that “occurred 3 - 4 years ago” at a a school built by U.S. Aid he visited in Egypt.
 
 “When I looked at one of the globes in a classroom, I realized that the globe didn’t have  Israel on it. All of the globes in the school were the same [missing Israel]. I knew that the American Congress wouldn’t want to be paying for this,” he said
 
Laudato said he stepped in and insisted that all these globes be replaced with ones that did have Israel on the map. But Laudato emphasized that normally US AID wouldn’t have intervened in something like this. “I did intervene because we have had a relationship in Egypt for over 30 years so I felt I could do something about replacing the maps. But this is not the usual case.”
 
 
Andrew Whitley the outgoing director of the UNWRA’s  New York office,  made headlines this past fall when he told the  told the National Council for US-Arab Relations’ annual conference on October  22, 2010 that it was time to level with the refugees:

“If one doesn’t start a discussion soon with the refugees for them to consider what their own future might be – for them to start debating their own role in the societies where they are rather than being left in a state of limbo where they are helpless but preserve rather the cruel illusions that perhaps they will return one day to their homes – then we are storing up trouble for ourselves....We recognize, as I think most do, although it’s not a position that we publicly articulate, that the right of return is unlikely to be exercised to the territory of Israel to any significant or meaningful extent...It’s not a politically palatable issue, it’s not one that UNRWA publicly advocates, but nevertheless it’s a known contour to the issue.”
 
When Whitley said this he was roasted over the coals by Palestinian negotiator Saeb Erekat and others in  the PA and several days later he retracted the statement  and apologized for it,  clarifying that his remarks were  “ inappropriate and wrong” and that his “ remarks did not represent UNRWA’s views.” You can read the full Whitley retraction by clicking here.
Many refugees claim that Palestinian leadership can not give up the right to return, since it is not theirs to give up. They claim therefore that each refugee family can decide what they wish to do—receive a compensation package and live elsewhere, return to the West Bank/Gaza or go back to their original villages in 1948 Israel

It should be noted that Lt. Col. (Res) Jonathan Dahoah Halevy has pointed out that Saeb  Erekat, when he was PA chief negotiator, delivered two speeches at Fatah conventions in Hebron and Jericho during 2009 in Arabic in which he said "the right of return" is the individual right of each refugee and cannot be conceded by anyone in negotiations [ http://www.dore-gold.com/2011/01/saeb-erekat-shows-his-cards-the-palestinians-will-demand-the-return-of-refugees.php ] This is consistent with  what Erekat wrote in December 2010 in the Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2010/dec/10/israel-palestine-refugee-rights.

This is also what Palestinian Huwaida Araf, one of the key organizers of last year’s infamous Floatilla to Gaza told me when she appeared in Winnipeg last week as a speaker for Israel Apartheid Week. Click here. 

The question that needs to be answered is who in Palestinian society is coming forward to level with Palestinian refugees and their descendents to say that they aren’t going back to their villages in Israel? 
 
In other words, who in the PA leadership is telling the refugees in the UNWRA camps I saw near Bethlehem that it’s time to start planning on the Bethlehem area as being their permanent residence, and to begin redirecting their energies towards rebuilding their lives and their future?

The following is a list of other websties that have picked up this article, including a Chinese and Spanish website:

http://www.israelforum.com/blog_article.php?aid=3355432-JBlog Central:The Jewish and Israeli Blog Netweok

 http://israelseen.com/2011/04/02/my-visit-to-unwra-palestinian-refugee-camps-first-hand-account/

 http://actforisrael.org/blog/blog/2011/04/05/who-is-brave-enough-to-level-with-palestinian-refugees/

 

http://cnpublications.net/2011/03/31/unrwa-camps-promote-right-of-return/

http://www.israelbehindthenews.com/bin/content.cgi?ID=4335&q=1

  http://friendfeed.com/palestinenews/17bf46c4/my-visit-to-unwra-palestinian-refugee-camps

http://www.theaugeanstables.com/

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/achristianvsatheistclub/message/604682 


 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:dpQdB2HUVFMJ:faceshuk.
jewpi.com/groups/israelseen-com/+rhonda+spivak+unrwa+palestinian+refugee+camps
&cd=35&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ca&source=www.google.ca
]

 

 

 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • RBC
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • WSO
  • Timothy's
  • Jewish Foundation of Manitoba
  • Mount Carmel Clinic Foundation
  • Sherri Rollins
  • Heather Cardona
  • Sheila Billinghurst
  • Donovan Martin
  • Suzanne Hrynyk
  • John Orlikow
  • Gray Academy
  • Bernstein's Deli
  • Curtis Carpets
  • 2014 City of Winnipeg Election
  • Penny and Gerry Kalef
  • Camp Massad
  • Michel and Danita Aziza and family
  • Dove Interiors
  • BDA Investments
  • JCFS
  • Seacret
  • Karyn & Mel Lazareck
  • Asper Jewish Community Campus
  • Bryan M. Daien
  • Orthodox Union
  • Congregation Etz Chayim
  • National Council of Jewish Women of Canada
  • Simkin Centre
  • Daniel Friedman and Rob Dalgleish
  • Sarel Canada
  • Ali Raizman
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Pottery by Ivan
  • Jim Gauthier
  • Bridges for Peace
  • Tuxedo Village Family Restaurant
  • Princess Auto
  • Jewish Child and Family Service
  • Danita & Michel Aziza
  • Dr. Michelle Halbrich
  • Royal Le Page
  • Interior Illusions
  • The Endo Experience
  • Broadway Law Group
  • Subway
  • Artista Homes
  • Nora Kaufman
  • Danny and Cara Stoller and family
  • Saper Agencies Ltd.
  • Western Scrap Metals Inc.
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • Fetching Style
  • European Shoe Shop
  • Bramer Automotive Centre
  • Super-Lite
  • Canadian Friends of Boys Town Jerusalem
  • Imperial Soap
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Nikos Restaurant
  • cal reich astroid property management
  • Paradise Restaurant
  • Rosemarie Peart
  • Astroid Management Limited
  • Broadway Law Group
  • Marshall Stitz
  • Seekville Inc. Land Development
  • Rings and Things
  • MidWest Professional Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning
  • McNeill Media
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.