Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
    Next Generation

    Archive

Ready For The Summer Of Your Life? Jewish teen athletes encouraged to apply for 2016 JCC Maccabi Games
January 26, 2016
Read the Full Story

NOA GOLDBERG: BBYO'S Winter Convention 2015
by Noa Goldberg, (Grade 9 student at Gray Academy), March 13, 2015
Read the Full Story

EDITOR's DAUGHTER LEAH CORNE IN WARSAW: THE REMAINS OF THE WARSAW GHETTO, ANTI-SEMITISM IN POLAND-AND THE MARCH OF THE LIVING
by Leah Corne, grade 10 student Gray Academy June 29, 2014, with files from the Winnipeg Jewish Review
Read the Full Story

Channah Greenfield: Single Mother Raises World’s First Bedouin Woman Doctor -A Graduate of BGU's Medical School
by Channah Greenfield, April 5, 2014
Read the Full Story

RAFI HOULT: GRAY ACADEMY’s RAOUL WALLENBERG DAY A SUCCESS.
by Rafi Hoult, March 4, 2014
Read the Full Story

Read Rafi Hoult 's Winning Essay
by Rafi Hoult, November 4, 2013
Read the Full Story

Nicole Meged's Movie Review of The Attack
by Nicole Meged, August 27, 2013
Read the Full Story

Meital Kraut Wins B'nai Brith Essay Contest
August 20, 2013
Read the Full Story

Shachar Dahan: The Last Survivor
by Shchar Dahan, May 30, 2013
Read the Full Story

Raphael Hoult: The Shadow of Vienna
by Rafi Hoult, posted May 30, 2013
Read the Full Story

NATHAN KIRSHNER OF BROCK CORYDON : MY EXPERIENCE HOSTING TAMIR FROM THE ISRAELI HOCKEY TEAM
by Nathan kirschner, grade 6 ,Brock Corydon School, March 29, 2013
Read the Full Story

Eran Efron: My Experience Hosting Madj and George from the Israeli Hockey Team- Sushi and Tushi
by Eran Efron, April 26, 2013
Read the Full Story

Jana Elazar; Israel's Reputation: A Change in Perception
by Jana Elazar, a grade twelve student at Gray Academy of Jewish Education, 2013
Read the Full Story

JANA ELAZAR: UNWRA AND THE PALESTINIAN REFUGEE QUESTION : A HINDRANCE TO PEACE
Jana Lazar, a grade 12 student at the Gray Academy of Jewish Education
Read the Full Story

Azrieli Foundation Launches Three Holocaust Memoirs At Event in partnership with Bnai Brith

The goal of the Azrieli Series of Holocaust Memoirs is to put a personal face on what was lost –one story at a time.
By: Shaked Karabelnicoff [with files from Rhonda Prepes and Rhonda Spivak]
Read the Full Story

REVIEW OF EVA WISEMAN's NEW BOOK THE LAST SONG
by Shaked Karabelnicoff, entering Grade 8 , Gray Academy
Read the Full Story

Shlomo Enkin Lewis Reviews Winnipeg Jazz Festival
By Shlomo Enkin Lewis, June 29th, 2012
Read the Full Story

ERIN MINUK: MY BAT MITZVAH, READING TORAH AND COMMUNITY SERVICE
by Erin Minuk, July 12, 2012
Read the Full Story

PETITION LAUNCHED TO HAVE VENDING MACHINE AT ASPER CAMPUS NEAR LIBRARY PROVIDE HEALTHIER SNACKS
by Shaked Karabelnicoff, April 5, 2012
Read the Full Story

AIDAN FISHMAN 2012: Springtime for Kurdistan?
Aidan Fishman, March 14, 2012
Read the Full Story

TALI AZIZA AND SHAPIRA TESSLER: STRONG WOMEN STRONG GIRLS
by Tali Aziza and Shapira Tessler, Israel, Feb 5, 2012
Read the Full Story

POSTCARD FROM BENJAMIN MORGAN AT HEBREW UNIVERSITY-- PRESIDENT OF WINNIPEG CHAPTER TAKES OFF TO HAWAII
by Benjamin Morgan(with small additions by the Editor), posted December 6, 2011
Read the Full Story

SPECIAL REPORT BY DOV CORNE: WE DAY-WE ARE THE GENERATION TO MAKE CHANGE! THUMBS WAY UP TO BOB SILVER, RICHARDSON AND CHIPMAN
by Dov Corne, with Editorial Comment by Rhonda Spivak, November 25, 2011
Read the Full Story

EYE ON SPORTS: NATE THE GREAT INTERVIEWS ROXANNE KIRSHNER
by Nate Kirshner, age 10, posted Nov 10, 2011
Read the Full Story

NATES THE GREAT : SECOND INTERVIEW WITH JESSICA KIRSHNER AND JETS HIGHLIGHTS
Nate Kirshner, posted Nov 17, 2011
Read the Full Story

NATE THE GREAT'S EYE ON SPORTS : GO JETS GO: PITTSBURGH VS. WINNIPEG, OTTAWA SENATORS VS WINNIPEG
by Nathan Kirshner, October 18, 2011,updated October 19, and October 20 2011
Read the Full Story

ERIN MINUK WINS MINA ROSNER HUMAN RIGHTS AWARD-READ HER WINNING SUBMISSION HERE
by Rhonda Spivak, September 27, 2011
Read the Full Story

Mishpatim Program-University of Manitoba Law Students Study at Hebrew University in Jerusalem

Prof Brian Schwartz initiated the program
By Jonah Mozeson, July 23, 2011
Read the Full Story

ASHLEY FAINTUCH:ATTENDING AIPAC CONFERENCE IS AN EXPERIENCE LIKE NO OTHER
by Ashley Faintuch,May 28,2011
Read the Full Story

Read Lexie Yurman -THE BASKETBALL PROJECT -Winner of the B'nai Brith Essay Contest 2011
by Lexi Yurman, May 20, 2011
Read the Full Story

STUDENTS RETURN FROM JEWISH BUSINESS NETWORK CONFERENCE IN NEW YORK—HEAR GRIPPING TALE OF SURVIVOR WHO WAS ON 78th FLOOR OF TWIN TOWER IN 9/11
by Ashley Faintuch, May 17, 2011
Read the Full Story

BAILLIE SHUSTER: A TIME TO REMEMBER- A TIME TO HONOUR YOM HAZIKARON 2011
by Baillie Shuster, May16, 2011
Read the Full Story

THE HISTORY BEHIND HATIKVA, ISRAEL'S NATIONAL ANTHEM
By Dov Corne, age 11, Brock Corydon School, May 11, 2011
Read the Full Story

CLONING A HUMAN BEING? GRAY ACADEMY STUDENTS ATTEND MOOT BEIT DIN 2011 IN SAN FRANCISCO
by Rabbi Ari Ellis and Avichai Stoller, April 11, 2011
Read the Full Story
AHMET SEYHUN AT U OF W: SAUDIA ARABIA IS MORE ANTI-ISRAEL, ANTISEMETIC THAN IRAN
By Ashley Faintuch, student at University of Winnipeg, March 30, 2011
Read the Full Story

REMEMBER - MERKAZ HARAV YESHIVA AND THE FOGELS
By Aliza Cohen, Grade 12, Grant Park High School, March 22, 2011

On March 6, 2008, I was surrounded by thousands of other Israeli and American teenagers in celebrating

Read the Full Story

Successful Community Wide Teen Led Shabbat Held at the Rady JCC Was Warm and Welcoming
By Ilana Elbaze,teen participant February 8, 2011,

After weeks of well organized meetings and preparations, a group of Jewish teens representing youth movements from all over Winnipeg put together a

Read the Full Story

My JOURNAL ENTRY: MARCH OF THE LIVING
By Sadie Silverstein, age 18, February 10, 2011

[Editor’s note: This was written  on April 11th, 2010 by Sadie Silverstein while on March of the Living]

Read the Full Story

WINNIPEG'S ALIX BILLINKOFF: MY EXPERIENCE INTERNING AT ISRAELI START-UP OMANOOT IN TEL-AVIV

Omanoot.com – Spotlighting Israel Through the Arts
By Alix Billinkoff, Tel-Aviv , January 26, 2011
Read the Full Story

WHY CAMP MASSAD IS IMPORTANT
by Zach Fleisher, university student and counsellor at Camp Massad, Jan. 5, 2011
Read the Full Story

MY JOURNEY HOME : MY CHOICE TO CONVERT TO JUDAISM


By Tess Doan, high school student at University of Winnipeg
Read the Full Story

VISITING KIRYAT SHMONA IN ISRAEL ON P2K- THE PROGRAM THAT CHANGED MY LIFE
by Baillie Shuster, November 26, 2010

I am not sure how I can put a life changing experience into a shiort article, but I will try my best.

Read the Full Story

MY P2K EXPERIENCE- A SECOND HOME IN KIRYAT SHMONA
by Maya Pollock, November 25, 2010
Some events enrich your life beyond any others. Some events remain with us forever and have the capacity to change the
Read the Full Story

A Place Like No Other: Shaarey Zedek’s Unique New York Post-Bar/Bat Mitzvah Trip
By Zachary Fleisher, November 22, 2010
Read the Full Story

POEMS WRITTEN TO REFLECT ON MARCH OF THE LIVING: CREATION,HORROR, PRAYER
by Sadie Silverstein,age 18, University of Winnipeg

Editor's note: these poems were written after Sadie Silverstein wnet on th e March of the Living program]

Read the Full Story

TOP NOTCH LEARNING AT BEST OF HEBREW U

PROFESSORS ENGAGED 130 PARTICIPANTS ON TOPICS OF FASD, MEDICINE, POLITICS, GAMES THEORY AND DREAM INTERPRETATION
by Susan Schipper, university student, November 9

On October 24th, 140 people gathered at Balmoral Hall School for a day of inspired learning with four renowned lecturers from one of the world’s leading universities. The “Best of Hebrew U” event, organized by the Winnipeg chapter of Canadian Friends of the Hebrew University, brought in Professors Menachem Hofnung, Ein-Ya Gura, Michael Segal, and Abraham Fainsod to speak about a wide variety of topics

Read the Full Story

HUMAN RIGHTS AND HOLOCAUST STUDIES PROGRAM IN WASHINGTON : A GIFT FROM THE ASPER FOUNDATION

Info Meeting on October 26 at 7:00 p.m.for non-Gray Academy Students at Asper Campus
By Simon Garfinkel, Grade 10 Student, St Paul's High School

The Asper Foundation Human Rights & Holocaust Studies Program is a fantastic program. It gives students the opportunity to learn, grow, and also to enjoy seeing Washington. The program is far more than just a trip to Washington. It is a five month process that the students experience to learn about human rights and the Holocaust.

Read the Full Story

CAMP MASSAD - AN INCREDIBLE SUMMER EXPERIENCE
By Bradley Abells and Max Palay – Machshira 2010, September 29, 2010

This was our last summer as campers at Camp Massad. We painted, acted, sang, went on an overnight, and much more.  We were counselors in training, and could not have imagined a better experience. 

Read the Full Story

SURVIVOR LEO WEISS SHARES HIS STORY AT B’NAI BRITH JEWISH CHRISTIAN ROUNDTABLE
By Aliza Cohen, Grade 12, September 27, 2010

Eighty five year old Leo Weiss, a Holocaust survivor and teacher, is a man who spends much of his time retelling the miraculous story of his survival to teenagers like myself.  I had the privilege of hearing him speak at the B’nai Brith Manitoba Jewish Christian Roundtable on September 14, 2010 to an audience of 150 people in the Multi-Purpose room of the Asper Campus.

Read the Full Story

MY SUMMER AT BB CAMP
By: Jeremy Morantz, age 13, Gray Academy, September 28, 2010

B’nai Brith Camp is a summer sleep away camp that educates their campers in both wilderness skills and Judaism. BB Camp is located on Town Island in Lake of the Woods, which is just south of Kenora, Ontario. At camp, there are two sessions each summer. The first Session consists of four age groups. Habonim (age 7-8), Taste of BB (age 8-9), Kifrim (age 9-10) and Colchot (age 10-11). The second session consists of three age groups Ruach (age 11-12), Chavurah (age 12-13) and Abirut (age 13-14). There are other programs for older campers.

Read the Full Story

ZEV FAINTUCH WINS MINA ROSNER HUMAN RIGHTS ESSAY COMPETITION

FAINTUCH PLANS TO ENLIST IN THE IDF
By Rhonda Spivak, September 22, 2010

Zev Faintuch was awarded the  Mina Rosner Human Rights Award on September 22 which  is presented to the winning entry in the Mina Rosner Human Rights Essay Competition [ His winning essay is presented at the bottom of this article]. The ceremony took place yesterday at the Freeman Family Foundation Holocaust Education Centre of the Jewish Heritage Centre  at the Asper Campus.

Read the Full Story

ROSH HASHANA AND THE FIVE SPECIES

[Editor’s note: Aliza Cohen, is a graduate of Ohr Hatorah Day School who studied in Israel for grades 9-11 at Ulpanat Darcei Noam. She now attends Grant Park High School.]
by Aliza Cohen, Grade 12, September 5, 2010

A new year, a new beginning, a day of judgement and resolution. This is Rosh Hashanah, the day that calls us to reflect and repent.  Rosh Hashanah is a day of significance and for every prayer we say, and every food we eat, there are a multitude of explanations as to why we do so.

Read the Full Story

THE IMORTANCE OF VOLUNTEERING
By Amy Lieberman, age 17, August 23, 2010

[Editor’s note; the following is a condensed version of  Amy Leiberman’s essay submission  to Bnai Brith’s essay competition this past last  June.]

From a young age, I understood the importance of volunteering, and helping others.  Their appreciation is what allows me to enjoy and desire to continue volunteering.

Read the Full Story

THE IMPORTANCE OF COMMUNITY SERVICE
By Zach Fleisher, July 14, 2010

Many people who pass through or live their lives in Winnipeg often characterize it as cold, lifeless city that often falls short of the task of supporting a vibrant Jewish community. While this community is clearly unique in its history and spirit, I would be hard pressed to find a community in North America with a Jewish population this size

Read the Full Story

Cramer Wins B'nai Brith Essay Contest
June 23, 2010

Continuing its exemplary commitment to community service, B’nai Brith Manitoba Region this spring  invited Gray Academy of Jewish Education grade 12 students to reflect upon the value and significance of their personal community service experiences in an essay writing contest.

Read the Full Story

VOLUNTEERS PITCH IN AT CAMP MASSAD
By Dena Stitz, June 21, 2010

Dena Stitz just completed Grade 10 at the Gray Academy of Jewish Education.

On Sunday, June 13th, around 25 volunteers headed out to Winnipeg Beach, Manitoba eager to take part in Camp Massad’s third annual “Volunteer Work Day”.  The volunteers helped out by gardening, raking leaves, cutting the grass, weed whacking, adding gravel to paths, cleaning cabins and moving kayaks and benches.

Read the Full Story

SWITCHING SIDES: THE SHIFT IN JEWISH POLITICAL SUPPORT IN CANADA
By Zach Fleisher, June 15, 2010

Zach Fleisher graduated from the Gray Academy of Jewish Education in May, 2010.

Since the advent of proportional and parliamentary democracy, various political parties and systems have relied on the strength of different ethnic groups and populations.

Read the Full Story

THE GUESTS OF WAR TRILOGY - BOOK REVIEW
By Shaked Karabelnicoff , Grade 5 Brock Corydon Student, June 14, 2010

The Guests of War is a 563 page trilogy by the wonderful writer Kit Pearson. Girls in grades five to eight, ages 10 to 14, would be touched by this wonderful trilogy. It is quite a long book since it is a trilogy but you don’t even realize it. This book takes place in the 1940s but goes on for around 16 years until 1956.

Read the Full Story

WINNIPEG YOUTH ENJOY A MEMORABLE SHABBATON AT CAMP CHI
By Ilana Elbaze, June 10, 2010

The hard work finally paid off! After a successful bake sale, hours of planning and numerous e-mails, the Winnipeg NCSY youth movement was finally heading to Camp Chi in Wisconsin to join up with the other groups from the Midwest region.

Read the Full Story

B’NAI BRITH WORKS WITH ABORIGINAL STUDENT CENTER IN SELKIRK SCHOOL TO HOLD HOLOCAUST MEMORIAL SERVICE
By Brittany Kessler, Grade 12 Student at Gray Academy of Jewish Education

In the small town of Selkirk, Manitoba, there is not much emphasis placed on studying the Holocaust. In the past few months, however, many Aboriginal students began learning about and discussing the Holocaust after being asked by B’nai Brith in Manitoba to hold a Yom Hashoah service in their school.

Read the Full Story

THUMBS UP: WE LIKED THE COMMUNITY YOM HA’ATZMAUT CELEBRATION
By Jordan Chizda, age 10, and Dov Corne, age 10, both at Brock Corydon School
Read the Full Story

SUNDAY EVENING: ANOTHER NIGHT IN SKOKIE
By Jacob Weinger, age 16, Skokie Illinois
Read the Full Story

THE WINNIPEG JEWISH COMMUNITY: AN OUTSIDER'S PERSPECTIVE
By Brandon Stern, New Jersey, Exclusive to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
Read the Full Story

BBYO CONVENTION A BIG HIT
By Mathew Gunn, student at Gray Academy
About 85 teens were at the BBYO’s AIT/ MIT convention last March, including Dan Saidman, the regional head of BBYO, which took place at Camp Cedarwood, which is located in Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba. Anoother BBYO convention will take place in th eupcoming months.
Read the Full Story

FOURTEEN WINNIPEG YOUTH BUS 16 HOURS TO CHICAGO TO ATTEND NCSY’S WINTER CONCLAVE
By: Ilana Elbaze, NCSY Conclave attendee from Winnipeg Special to the Winnipeg Jewish Report

Just a few months ago, as I was looking at a map of regions of NCSY,  the youth movement of the Orthodox Union of North America.  I noticed that Winnipeg did not appear on the map. In an article I read about the great benefits that this youth movement had brought to Jewish communities. It made me think that, notwithstanding the wonderful opportunities for youth in our community, there was something missing.

Read the Full Story

ART + PSYCHOLOGY = A LOT OF FUN
by Daniel Kroft

A few weeks ago I had a pleasant surprise at school (however improbable that may seem). I walked into my Hebrew class, as always, but was greeted at the door not by my teacher as always, but by an Israeli woman I had never seen before. She was short, with curly brown hair and a friendly smile. She wore big red glasses and a colourful dress. And when I stepped into the room, I realized that the classroom had been completely transformed. All of the desks had been pushed to the center of the room, now covered by an enormous piece of white drawing paper. The same paper was also placed along the edge of the class, all the way around. I stood with the rest of the students at the front of the room, looking around at this strange new environment. 

Read the Full Story

A DEBATER’S LIFE
By J.J Gerstein, a Gray Academy Debator in grade 10.

Traditionally, people picture their children frolicking around and playing video games. Then there are those of us teenagers who spend large portions of our weekend talking about the economy, Iran and various other “adult” topics. We are called debaters, and that is what we did last weekend at the Gray Academy. Twenty-eight teams showed up from all over Canada to participate in the yearly Asper Cup. Although this year there was a twist, we were not only competing for the prestigious cup, we were partaking in the Oxford Cup. Top two teams from this tournament were to go on to Oxford University in England, although I am making it seem much easier than it really is.

Read the Full Story

ISRAELI STUDENTS VISIT FROM KIRYAT SHMONA
by Aviva Cramer

Gray Academy student Six students in grades 11 and 12, who are all part of a student council, as well as their communications teacher, Revital Meiri arrived here from Danciger ...

Read the Full Story
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Fabris & Watts
  • Fillmore Riley
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Commercial Pool and Recreational Products
  • RBC
  • Bill Worb Furs
  •  Bernstein's Deli
  • Sobey's
  • Saper Agencies
  • Booke & Partners
  • Paul Winestock
  • joel dudeck
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Marty Morantz
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • TD Bank
  • Kromar Printing
  • Ellyn Shulman
  • Winters collision
  • Bob Freedman Passover
  • Jon Gerrard
  • Jewish Foundation of Manitoba
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • Charleswood Florist
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Mobile Denture Services
  • GTP
  • Mel Verin
  • Atroid Management Limited
  • Todres Leadership
  • Stephen Rosenfield
  • JCFS
  • Hub International
  • Maric Homes
  • Western Scrap Metals Inc.
  • Fetching Style
  • Imperial Soap
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • City Bread
  • Myrna Driedger
  • Lanny L.M. Silver
  • Kowall Chiropractic Centre
  • Frank Goldberg
  • Price Chopper
  • Jim Gauthier
  • Southwynn Homes Ltd.
  • Peerless Garments
  • Aziza
  • Jon Orliko
  • lameroux passover
  • Ross Eddie
  • JCFS Winnipeg
  • bramer auto
  • Holiday Inn Polo Park
  • Pitblado
  • Canadian Friends of Boys Town Jerusalem
  • Tuxedo Village Family Restaurant
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Active Accounting
  • Magen David Adom
  • Orthodox Union
  • Bridges for Peace
  • national council of jewish women
  • Paradise Restaurant
  • Elaine and Bernie Lofchick & Family
  • Beyond Flowers
  • Chochy's
  • PFM International
  • Super-Lite
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Stella's
  • Rosemarie Peart
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Dieter Bruning-Haid
  • Sarel Canada
  • Bare Body Sugaring
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • MidWest Professional Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning
  • MDR Investments
  • Eston Industries
  • McNeill Media
  • Esthetics by Irena
  • Nachum Bedein
  • Niko's Restaurant
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.