Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
RE: ANTS IN MY KITCHEN, MISSILES OUT MY WINDOW

November 2, 2011

I loved it.  "A cease fire here means we cease and they fire." So clever.  So glad you weren't hurt. 
 
Your Hebrew is better than you think - a "juke" is a cockroach!
 
Hugs, hope to see you soon (we'll meet under the iron dome :-)

Cec Cohen

From Glass and Light, Israel - www.glassandlight.blogspot.com
 


 
 
RE: ANTS IN MY KITCHEN, MISSILES OUT MY WINDOW

November 2, 2011

I liked your article. Hope it found lots of readers abroad.

By the way, the man whose house you took a picture of is the one who died in the attack. He’s my daughter’s neighbor and did work on her front garden wall. If you see a tractor parked in a little field  down the hill from the little supermarket, this was his.

Yep, Ashkelon is still a small town and we all seem to be connected.

Regards,

Myra Gabor


 
 
RE: ANTS IN MY KITCHEN, MISSILES OUT MY WINDOW

November 1, 2011

guess those nasty ants ("n'malim" b'mitbach)  in Heb.  (ants in the kitchen) will find their way to the next world in your place....

Renie Hersch


 
 
RE: ANTS IN MY KITCHEN, MISSILES OUT MY WINDOW

1 November 2011

I enjoyed the article. It’s a terrible business indeed. However the indecisiveness of our leadership is not helping. I lived under rockets in my childhood and know what they are going through and have no words

Zelda

 


 
 
RE: ANTS IN MY KITCHEN, MISSILES OUT MY WINDOW

October 31, 2011

SO SORRY THAT YOU HAVE SUCH PROBLEMS; ANTS CAN BE ELIMINATED;  BUT SO FAR, THE TERRORISTS ARE NOT BEING ELIMINATED.

SOMEONE ONCE TOLD ME THAT ANTS DO NOT LIKE SALT, SO TRY PUTTING SALT ON THE SHELVES OF YOUR CUPBOARDS; 

AND IF YOU DO, LET ME KNOW IF IT WORKS!!

THIS WEEK WE ARE BUSY WITH GUESTS FROM TORONTO AND MONTREAL.

WHEN YOU HEAR THE SIRENS, PLEASE GO TO YOUR SAFE ROOM!!

OUR THOUGHTS ARE WITH YOU AND PLEASE STAY SAFE!!

BELLA & SIDNEY


 
 
RE: AVIVA COHEN'S ARTICLE ON THE NON-PERSIAN BRIDE KOSHER COOKBOOK
October 25, 2011

To The Editor,

 
 Please see the nice letter I received from the author of the cookbook who found it on the internet.--Aviva  Cohen
 
Dear Aviva,
 
 I wanted to thank you so much for the review you did on my cookbook. Today I am finally sharing it with everyone on facebook! I am so sorry it has taken this long to get back to you, but I want to assure you I have been thinking about you and I am so grateful you are enjoying the cookbook. I hope you had a wonderful Sukkot and Simcha Torah. I hope one day our paths will cross and I get to meet you personally.
 
All the best to you and your beautiful family!
 
Reyna Simnegar
 
Exotic Kosher, LLC.
 
 

 
 
RE: WHY IS THERE AN IRANIAN TERROR FINANCIER IN CANADA?

Date: Thu, 20 Oct 2011

 Subject: Re: WHY IS THERE AN IRANIAN TERROR FINANCIER IN CANADA?

 Will post Rhonda's article under Iran at www.david-kilgour.com.

 Onwards.

 David Kilgour


 
 
FW: Jane Enkin Coffee House Concert November 12

23 Oct 2011

Dear Rhonda,

 
The Grant & Wilton Coffee House presents Jane Enkin in Concert
 
Jane presents her original songs, the delicate, the powerful and the passionate, along with some of her favourite folk and jazz gems. The wonderful Jeremy Rusu accompanies on keyboard, guitar and fretless bass.

Saturday November 12, 7:30pm

1077 Grant and Wilton,
across from Grant Park Shopping Centre
(more parking up the ramp west of building)

Bring friends & family for a coffee/tea, a munchie (included) and come for an casual evening of excellent music. For later, stay for an interactive music session. The magic comes from everyone bringing their own spark - who knows how hot it will be!

Come for an casual evening of Fun, set to Music.

Doors open at 7:00pm, Tickets $10, Tel: 488-0207
includes Coffee/Tea & a Munchie.
 
Please forward this info to your friends!

Phil Spevack - 488-0207
[email protected]

 
 
RE: WHY IS THERE AN IRANIAN TERROR FINANCIER IN CANADA?
 

Thu, 20 Oct 2011

Re: great article-Why is there an Iranian terror financier in Canada

Wonderful article, thanks so much,
 
Sayeh Hassan

 
 
Winnipeg's IDF Contingent

21 Oct 2011


We noticed a new year greeting from Winnipeg's 3 IDF Contingent.  We would
love to send them care packages. Would you mind connecting us via email?

Shana tova,

Koby Tanzer


 
 
To the Editor: I have just published a book

21 Oct 2011

To the Editor:

I have just published a book with the title: From Hell to the Promised Land  A Boy's Daring Escape from a Nazi Concentration Camp

It is a spellbinding story of a 10-year old Jewish boy when the Nazis march into Poland in 1939. He documents events in his town and sorrounding ghettos with vivid descriptions. He winds up with his father in 2 concentration camps and makes a daring escape during the "Death March" of January 1945 to his mother who works in a Catholic convent on Aryan papers. He survives the war and joins a Zionist movement in an attempt to reach the Promised Land. After two years of adventurous travels throughout post war Europe, he is on a boat called Lanegev on his way to Palestine. The boat is intercepted on the shores of Haifa and he is deported along with 750 other young Zionists to Cyprus where he is sworn into the Hagana. On his 18-th birthday he enters Palestine and with his entire group joins kibbutz Negba. Here he is immediately caught in the Israeli War of Independence of 1948 where he participates in heroic battles on the Egyptian front. In the aftermath of the war he joins his mother who immigrated to the USA.
 
I would greatly appreciate if you could give me the name of your book review editor with an address so that I could send him a copy of the book to be reviewed. The book is now available on Amazon.
 
Thanking you very much for your cooperation.
                                                                       
Sam Silberberg

 
 
RE: Cancellation of iERA conference

19 Oct 2011

Sheraton Hotel commended re. cancellation of iERA conference; campus hosting of similar events needs to be reviewed, says B’nai Brith Canada

TORONTO, 19 October 2011 – B’nai Brith Canada has alerted police enforcement and security agencies about upcoming events by Islamic Education and Research Academy (iERA Canada) in Toronto and Montreal. The Jewish human rights organization has highlighted the concern that a number of speakers featured in these iERA events have been linked in media and other reports with antisemitic, anti-Christian and anti-homophobic statements, as well as with alleged threats of violence.
 
Frank Dimant, CEO of B’nai Brith Canada, commented, “The iERA Canada’s blanket rejection of these concerns and attempts to distance itself from any such statements by its speakers, does not answer the allegations raised. The Sheraton Toronto Hotel is to be commended for its corporate citizenship in deciding not to host this conference. The fact that Concordia University and a student group at the University of Toronto are apparently willing to provide space for some of these speakers is, of  course, of grave concern. Such arrangements should immediately be carefully reviewed by the university administration at these institutions to ensure that events that take place on campus premises  are in strict accordance with the principles that should guide Canadian institutions of higher learning.”
 
For more information, please contact Anita Bromberg, National Director of Legal Affairs,
at (416) 315-9438.
B’nai Brith Canada has been active in Canada since 1875 as the Jewish community’s foremost human rights agency

 
 
RE: CISA Announces its first year programing


 October 12, 2011

 Hello Rhonda

 I found your article on Catherine Chatterley interesting. CISA 
ANNOUNCES ITS FIRST YEAR OF PROGRAMMING:  OBAMA'S SPECIAL ENVOY IS COMING TO 
THE PEG!

  I was wondering, when one makes a donation to CISA, where do the funds get allocated to? Is there an annual 
report indicating the dispersement of funds? If I were interested in making a donation, can I decide what my donation is allocated towards? 

Thank you.

 Sincerely, Carol


 


 
 
RE: GREAT ISSUE

To the Editor,

October 12, 2011

 I doubt that Harris Gulko was born in 1976...slip of the digit?!  [Did anyone else notice/comment?]

What a great issue!   So much to read/learn/forward!  Thanks!  Judy.

 JUDITH LONDON BAGER.

 Editor's response: Thanks for catching the mistake re: Gulko's year of birth. It has been corrected.


 
 
Re: Editor's Special Report-Gilad Shalit

 

  October 12, 2011

To the Editor

 One of the best articles I've ever seen, the Shalit exchange.  You got
 everything in and in an understable way, plus you went beyond the obvious.


 Yasher Koach.

Brenda Barrie
 Author of- "The Rabbi's Husband" published October 2011

 


 
 
RE: ONE OF TERRORISTS BEING RELEASED IN SHALIT DEAL MURDERED WINNIPEG'S FERN SHAUNA RYKISS Z'L
14 Oct 2011
 
Since the terrorist who murdered Fern is being deported either to 'the Gaza strip or abroad' let us make sure that he doesn't get refuge in Canada. I wouldn't want to see a single released terrorist claim refugee status here.
 

 
 
RE: ONE OF TERRORISTS BEING RELEASED IN SHALIT DEAL MURDERED WINNIPEG'S FERN SHAUNA RYKISS Z'L
14 Oct 2011

I am hugely conflicted here. How many people will die at the hands of those being released? Nevertheless it will be a huge relief to have Gilad freed.

M.

 

 
 
RE: ONE OF TERRORISTS BEING RELEASED IN SHALIT DEAL MURDERED WINNIPEG'S FERN SHAUNA RYKISS Z'L
14 Oct 2011

Yes, many are conflicted here... On one hand Gilad is free finally to be with his family, but at what cost? Potentially hundred more could die at the hands of those being released.

T


 
 
RE: ONE OF TERRORISTS BEING RELEASED IN SHALIT DEAL MURDERED WINNIPEG'S FERN SHAUNA RYKISS Z'L
14 Oct 2011

I see that the families of terror victims are going to court to try to block the release of some of the prisoners. My heart goes out to them. My heart goes out to the Shalit family. The only winner here is Hamas. Yes Gilad Shalit will be returned (hopefully), but the cost is very, very high and now Hamas knows what an Israeli kidnap victim is worth for ransom.

Annette Paquin


 
 
RE: ONE OF TERRORISTS BEING RELEASED IN SHALIT DEAL MURDERED WINNIPEG'S FERN SHAUNA RYKISS Z'L
14 October 2011
 
I too am conflicted. The cost to Israel and the diaspora is so high and yet... how can Israel not save the life of Gilad Shalit? The loss of even one life is too high.
 
 

 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • RBC Royal Bank
  • Fillmore Riley
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Winter's Collision Repair
  • Gray Academy
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • CHW
  • Cantor's Meats
  • JCFS
  • Esther and Sid Halpern Shana Tovah
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Booke & Partners
  • Sobey's
  • Commercial Pool
  • CDN Visa
  • Jack & Debbie Lipkin
  • Daniel Friedman and Rob Dalgliesh
  • Rady JCC
  • The Bob Silver Family
  • Carol and Barry McArton
  • Shindico
  • D'Arcy & Deacon LLP
  • Shinewald Family
  • Piston Ring
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • Kromar Printing
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Bob & Shirley Freeman
  • Protexia
  • Ixtapa Travel
  • Superlite
  • Brent Schacter Sora Ludwig
  • Dr Ted and Harriet Lyons
  • Amalgamated Drywall Systems Ltd.
  • Josef Ryan
  • Munroe Dental Centre
  • Chisick Family
  • Broadway Law Group
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • JCFS
  • Western Scrap Metals Inc.
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Jim Gauthier
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Stella's
  • Chochy's
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Lazar Family
  • Dr. Marshall Stitz
  • Michel and Danita Aziza and family
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Dimensions Insurance
  • HUB
  • Doheny Securities Limited
  • Orthodox Union
  • Allan Davies
  • City Sheet Metal
  • John Orlikow
  • Ross Eadie
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Miller's Super Valu Meats
  • Pitblado
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Erickson Motors
  • Canadian Magen David Adom
  • Bridges for Peace
  • Elaine and Bernie Lofchick & family
  • Cascade Financial Group
  • Sorrento's
  • Canadian Friends of Boys Town Jerusalem
  • East India Company
  • Nikos
  • Sean Fisher
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.