Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
[UN Holocaust Programme] Invitation to "Justice and Accountability after the Holocaust"

[UN Holocaust Programme] Invitation to "Justice and Accountability after the Holocaust" - Wednesday, 9 November 2011, 6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.,ECOSOC Chamber, UNHQ

Date: Wed, 12 Oct 2011
 
To the Editor,                 
 
United Nations Department of   and the International Bar Association invite you to Justice and Accountability after the Holocaust Wednesday, 9 November 20116:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
ECOSOC Chamber, Temporary North LawnBuilding (UNHQ).
 
The roundtable discussion with prominent historians and legal professionals will focus on the role of the judiciary n Germany under Nazi rule, and the establishment of the international justice system in the aftermath of WWII and the Nuremberg Trials. The panelists will address the legal implications of the judiciary’s complicity in upholding is criminatory Nazi laws which culminated in the Holocaust. The discussion will then shift to the role of States and courts today in protecting vulnerable populations, holding war criminals accountable and preserving democratic values.
 
Speakers:
 
Cecile Aptel, Co-Chair of the International Bar Association’s War Crimes Committee, Professor at Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University
 
Patricia Heberer, an historian with the Centre for Advanced Holocaust Studies at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum  
 
Irwin Cotler, Member of Parliament and former Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
 
Karen Odaba Mosoti, International Lawyer, Head of Liaison Office of the International Criminal Court to the United Nations
 
Moderator:
 
Ramu Damodaran, Deputy Director for Partnerships and Public Engagement, Outreach Division, United Nations Department of Public Information.
 
To register, please complete online registration form at www.un.org/holocaustremembrance.
October 31, 2011
 

 
 
RE: ONE OF TERRORISTS BEING RELEASED IN SHALIT DEAL MURDERED WINNIPEG'S FERN SHAUNA RYKISS Z'L
October 13, 2011
Even after all these years...still hard to read about poor Fern...

 
 
RE: B”NAI BRITH RAISES PLIGHT OF ERITREAN REFUGEES. ERITREANS IN MANITOBA SAY THEIR FRIENDS ARE GLAD TO HAVE FOUND REFUGE IN ISRAEL
October 13, 2011
 
Dear Rhonda,
 
Awesome job! I can't imagine how you put your memories into such an amazing article. You got it all. wow....thank you.
 
I am sure that I will read more of your Eritrean articles soon.
 
 Thanks again,
 
Bereket Yohannes

 
 
RE: Links

11 Oct 2011

Found a Dead Link on Your Website

Hello!

I wanted to let you know that a link on your page,
link, http://www.yale.edu/yiisa/ , points to a page about Antisemitism that
doesn’t seem to be there anymore.
 
I suggest a great article about The History of Antisemitism and the Jewish
people on ReligionInSchools.org:
http://www.religioninschools.org/antisemitism . It would make a great addition
to your page as well as a replacement for the page that no longer works.
 
Best,
 
Megan White

 
 
PRESS RELEASE
October 12, 2011
Shalit Agreement Shows Moral Failure of International Human Rights Frameworks
 
JERUSALEM - While welcoming the agreement to release kidnapped Israeli soldier Gilad Shalit as an important humanitarian act, Professor Gerald M. Steinberg, president of human rights watchdog NGO Monitor, noted that this episode further exposes the moral bankruptcy of international human rights mechanisms.
 
"Throughout the five years of Shalit's captivity in Gaza, during which every human rights obligation was blatantly violated, organizations such as the UN Human Rights Council, Human Rights Watch, Amnesty International, Euro-Mediterranean Human Rights Network (EMHRN), Gisha, and the International Red Cross demonstrated very little interest," Steinberg stated. "Similarly, the report of the UN Fact-Finding Commission on the Gaza War, headed by Judge Richard Goldstone, downplayed Shalit's captivity in blatant violation of international law. This moral stain will never be erased."
 
In addition, NGO Monitor noted that the agreement to release hundreds of terrorists, responsible for heinous crimes, and tried and convicted according to due process of law, highlights the continued erosion of international legal principles. Instead of serving their time for these convictions, the murderers have been freed under extreme duress and compulsion, adding to the incentives for similar actions in the future. Organizations dedicated to human rights have an obligation to condemn such immoral extortion.
 
For NGO Monitor's detailed reports on the neglect of Shalit by human rights groups, see:
 
Gilad Shalit Marks 24th Birthday Still in Captivity, August 27, 2010
 
NGOs, Universal Human Rights and Gilad Shalit: Four Years of Double Standards, July 1, 2010
 
NGO Monitor: HRW Statement on Gilad Shalit Better Late Than Never, June 25, 2009
 
Letter to Haaretz: NGO Silence on Gilad Shalit, May 6, 2009
 
Betrayed by Silence: NGOs Ignore Gilad Shalit's Rights, March 26, 2009
 
Only B'Tselem Notes One-year Anniversary of Gilad Shalit's Captivity, July 2, 2007
 
Contact:
Jason Edelstein
NGO Monitor
+972-52-861-2129

 
 
RE: EDITOR’ S SPECIAL REPORT: ANALYSIS OF THE SHALIT DEAL : HAMAS STRENGTHENED, FATAH WEAKENED

October 12, 2011

Dear Rhonda,

It certainly is nice to read an article that does not try to change the facts.  I see the media is already misleading the public in the way they report this.  The biggest error I notice is the fact that Shalit was not captured in Gaza, where there were no Israelis since August 2005 when Israel withdrew all it's citizens from their communities of homes, farms, and all the infrastructure that was in place there.  Shalit was taken from Israeli territory after terrorists tunneled into Israel and attacked an army outpost.

Thank you for giving facts instead of misinformation.

Mary Wilson from Pennsylvania


 
 
RE: 64% OF PALESTINIANS WOULD NOT OBJECT TO BIN LADEN BURIAL IN PALESTINE
Oct 8, 2011
The Palestinian daily Al-Hayat Al-Jadida reported in July 2011 that a new poll carried out by the Palestinian Near East Consulting institute found that 64% of Palestinians “would not object to bin Laden being buried in Palestine, were such a possibility raised.”
 56% of those questioned said that they believed bin Laden had been killed, while 44% thought that he was still alive.
 Tom Gross adds: 64% would welcome a burial and 56% think he's dead, raising the possibility that 8% would like to have him buried alive!
 G Baumgarten

 
 
RE: B”NAI BRITH RAISES PLIGHT OF ERITREAN REFUGEES. ERITREANS IN MANITOBA SAY THEIR FRIENDS ARE GLAD TO HAVE FOUND REFUGE IN ISRAEL
October 12, 2011
 
Rhonda
 
This is really great and thanks for the detailed report. 
 
Our friends at Bn'ai Brith brought the believers in us. That things do change;  that we could make a difference;  that common struggle for the better world is still possible.
 
Thank you,
 
All the best,
 
Ghezae Hagos Berhe, Winnipeg
 

 
 
RE: FEATURE ARTICLE ON MOSHE DAYANS EX WIFE RUTH DAYAN-AGE 95-RETURN TO NAHALAL PUBLISHED IN JERUSALEM POST

To Rhonda,
 
9 Oct 2011

Not likely to have room to ever use in print, but I will try to include a note about it in our e-newsletterlater this week with a link to the story online.

 Best for a healthy New Year.

 Michael

 

Michael E. Bennett, publisher and editor

Cleveland Jewish News

23880 Commerce Park, Suite 1

Beachwood, OH 44122

 


 
 
Re: FEATURE ARTICLE ON MOSHE DAYANS EX WIFE RUTH DAYAN-AGE 95-RETURN TO NAHALAL PUBLISHED IN JERUSALEM POST

October 9, 2011

http://www.winnipegjewishreview.com/article_detail.cfm?id=1555&sec=1&title=WE_MADE_THE_JERUSALEM_POST_WITH_THIS:_RUTH_DAYAN:_A_RETURN_TO_NAHALAL

Will reprint this. Thanks

Larry Gordon,Editor,

The 5 Towns Jewish Times
www.5tjt.com


 
 
Re: Links Section

 Sun, 9 Oct 2011


Dear Rhonda,

 Hi, I don't know if you remember me but my name is Esther I am Haskel Greenfield's sister. I live in Israel.

I am working at a Judaica shop in Jerusalem on Yoel Salomon St. I have started advertising our website and I was wondering whether you will be able to add an anchor link to our website on the "Jewish Winnipeg Review" website.

 The Gabrieli Gallery sale Judaica like Hannukia, Mezuzah, Kidush cups, Gabrieli unique Tallit design and more. We sale only ISRAEL MADE products.

 Our information is:

 URL:  http://www.gabrielirubin.co.il

Title:  Gabrieli Store for Israeli Tallit and Judaica

Description: Gabrieli Tallit Art and Judaica shop in Israel Store for Hand-woven, hand-loomed Gabrieli tallit set: silk, wool & cotton

Wating to hear from you,

Thank you Very much and Shana Tova,

Esther

 Our website is www.gabrielirubin.com - if you want to check it out.

 


 
 
Re: Sign Free Jonathan Pollard petition

October 9, 2011
 

 Dear Friends,

 I have created a Free Jonathan Pollard Petition on the new White House
 website. President Obama has promised to consider all petitions that get
 25,000 signatures by November 8.  Please, please go to this website and
 add your name.  Please forward to others.


 http://wh.gov/29Q
 Naomi Ragen


 
 
Re: FEATURE ARTICLE ON MOSHE DAYANS EX WIFE RUTH DAYAN-AGE 95-RETURN TO NAHALAL PUBLISHED IN JERUSALEM POST

October 9, 2011

Hi Rhonda:

We'd love to publish this on our site.  Not sure we have room in the paper but we can try.

Rob Eshman
Publisher & Editor-in-Chief
Tribe Media Corp.
(213) 368-1668  ext. 108
Jewish Journal


 


 


 
 
Re: FEATURE ARTICLE ON MOSHE DAYANS EX WIFE RUTH DAYAN-AGE 95-RETURN TO NAHALAL PUBLISHED IN JERUSALEM POST

October 7, 2011

 

This is a very interesting piece that we may reprint in our paper, although I may have to edit it down a bit. Do you have high resolution versions of one or more of the pictures? If so, please forward it along. Also, where do you live? Thank you very much.

 

Susan Jacobs, Editor

 

Jewish Journal

 

201 Washington St., Suite 14, Salem, MA 01970

 


 
 
RE: Palestine Logo At the U.N. Suggests Elimination of Israel

 

October 7, 2011

Take a look at the Palestinian National Charter! Their mandate calls for the taking back of ALL lands and driving us into the sea. Or... that they REFUSE to yet acknowledge Israel is a legitimate country.

Coleen Holtzinger

Kentucky, USA


 
 
RE: PALESTINE LOGO AT THE U.N. SUGGESTS ELIMINATION OF ISRAEL

 

October 6, 2011

The official Palestinian Ministry of Tourism Map of Jerusalem issued Sep 2011 deletes the Jewish Quarter. The statement made by Palestinian leaders is that there will be no Jews in their land so why should anyone be surprised that they do not show a Jewish Quarter in Jerusalem.

 from Sharon, Pennsylvania


 
 
RE: AVIVA COHEN: PERSIAN FOOD FOR THE NON-PERSIAN BRIDE

October 6, 2011

To Aviva Cohen,

 
I love the way you write. You obviously have the gene. Now all I need is the recipe for Persian Chicken Stew!
 
Marsha Maslove, Winnipeg
 

 
 
RE: AVIVA COHEN: PERSIAN FOOD FOR THE NON-PERSIAN BRIDE

 

October 6, 2011

 

Very nice Vivs. and I always enjoy your cooking just as much as Yossi's and Nani's

 

Shoshana Monroe, Winnipeg

 


 
 
RE: AVIVA COHEN: PERSIAN FOOD FOR THE NON-PERSIAN BRIDE

 

October 6, 2011

 

Boy did you get the writer gene, way to go. Now I need the book.

 

Rena Konheim

 


 
 
RE: AVIVA COHEN: PERSIAN FOOD FOR THE NON-PERSIAN BRIDE

 

6 Oct 2011

Wonderful article, it made me hungry.

 

Leslie Hatrick


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • TD Canada Trust
  • CHW
  • ClearCare Periodontal & Implant Centre
  • GTP
  • Imperial Soap
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Nick's Inn
  • Josef Ryan
  • Roseman Corp.
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • HUB
  • CDN Visa
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Pasquale (Charlie) Aiello
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Allan Davies
  • West Kildonan Auto Service
  • Kristina's Fine Greek Cuisine
  • Erickson Motors
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Grant Kurian Trucking
  • Nikos
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.