Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
Looking for the heir of the late Mr. Bernard Kupferberg’s estate

 

Sept 14, 2011

to the Editor,

The law firm of Richard Rydiger on 23/5 Sepwska street in Krakow, Poland is looking for the heir of the late Mr. Bernard Kupferberg’s estate. Mr. Kupferberg recently passed away in Canada, however it is known that he lived in Poland until at least 1947 in the town called Tarnow on 1 Goldhammer street.
 
He was a relation of the following people who were murdered during war time in Poland:
Wolf Jarmark, Lea Jarmark, Izaak Jarmark, Regina Jarmark nee Küpferberg.
 
We would be grateful for any information that can be provided regarding where Mr. Kupfergerg was buried, who made such arrangements, his last will and testament, and his heir(s).
 
Information from Canadian Jewish Congress Charities Committee National Archives: Our file about Mr. Kupferberg contains 3 items: 2 letters and a form. The form is filled out on both sides of the page. The file concerns Bernard Kupferberg, who had been in Montreal Canada since 1948, and was trying to bring a step brother to Canada from Poland in 1950.
 
On the form Bernard Kupferberg describes himself as married, but does not give his wife's name. No children are listed. He was 41 in 1950, and writes that he was born in Beniowa Poland in 1909.
 
The form lists by name 2 individuals related to Bernard Kupferberg:
 
Moses Kupferberg, brother, in Krakow Poland is listed as his only relative residing outside Canada (no further details about him are given)
 
Wladyslaw Galajewicz, step-brother, born in 1912, single as of 1950, originally from Jamna Gorna Dobromil Lwow, Poland, was approved to immigrate to Canada, as indicated in the other two letters in the file.
 
The deceased left behind two large apartment buildings in Poland.
 
 Sincerely,
 
Richard Rydiger
Tel.: +48 501 577 916
 
 

 
 
AIPAC Website!

September 9, 2011   

Introducing the new AIPAC website! 
Your one-stop shop for everything about the U.S.-Israel relationship.
› Easy to navigate
› More than 300 videos and slideshows
› Most up-to-date analysis on the issues affecting the U.S.-Israel alliance

http://www.aipac.org/


 
 
REQUEST TO USE YOUR PHOTOS FOR BOOK RE: UNWRA

 

2 Sept 2011

Rhonda Spivak
Attorney, writer, and member of Canadian & Israel Bar Associations, 

Editor, Winnipeg Jewish Review 

Dear Rhonda.


 I have written an e-book about UNRWA  [United Nations Relief and Works Agency] 

I would cordially like to request you to send about a dozen pix* , that that you have taken in the UNRWA camps, both panoramic shots and pix of people and wall posters, and to expedite these pix to our  agent.

*JPG formatted and captioned, and with your byline and permission to use these pix.

Thanks.

DSB

David Bedein
Director
Israel Resource News Agency
Center for Near East Policy Research

 
 
RE: NEW NOVEL-THE WARSAW ANAGRAMS

 Sept 1, 2011

To the Editor,

Please excuse my writing to you about my new novel, The Warsaw Anagrams (set in the Warsaw ghetto), but I have just received the most positive, wonderful and intelligent review in my life.  It was published on Sunday in the San Francisco Chronicle.    

Here is the link.  
http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=%2Fc%2Fa%2F2011%2F08%2F12%2FRVI51K96PC.DTL   

All the best, 
Richard Zimler


 
 
RE: ERIC CANTOR: FAILURE OF PA TO CONDEMN LAST WEEK'S TERROR ATTACKS NEAR EILAT AGAINST ISRAEL

August 24, 2011

Rhonda,
Thanks again for the reprint of your article .
Just to let you know the article [ Eric Cantor: Failure of  PA to Condemn Last Week's Terror Attack's Near Eilat ] will appear next week both in print and online on our website floridajewishjournal.com

- Alan Goch, South Florida Jewish Journal editor
 


 
 
RE: WINNIPEG KOSHER BEEF

 

23 August  2011

Dear Rhonda,

My name is Adam Soclof and I write for the JTA Jewish News Archive. I was hoping you might be able to help me with the following:

I am writing a blog post about "Breef," a kosher canned meat that I believe was manufactured in Winnipeg by the "Chicago Sausage Mfg. Co." beginning in 1946. 
 
If you know anyone who might remember consuming or manufacturing this product, would you kindly sent them my way?


 
- Adam Soclof
JTA Archive
Phone: 212.643.1890x201

 
 
Re: WHAT TO DO IN ASHKELON WHEN IT'S RAINING MISSILES

 

August 22, 2011

To the Editor,


Kol HaKavod to  Orli  Avior - thought her article was great.  I've forwarded it to Michelle who runs israelifrontline.com - she'll probably post it on the site.

- Rhoda Goodman, Ashkelon

Editor's note: Orli Avior's article first posted on this website on August 21, has in fact been picked up by  israelifrontline.com.


 
 
RE:WHAT TO DO IN ASHKELON WHEN IT'S RAINING MISSILES ON SHABBAT

21 August 2011

To the Editor,

 

Well written article by Orli Avior.  She gave a very accurate account of what has been happening.  How great that it will get as far as Winnipeg and who knows where else from there.  This is exactly what we need to get our point across.

 

 I would  love to be updated on anything further that may come along.

Thanks,

Doris Seaberg, Israel


 
 
Re: WHAT TO DO IN ASHKELON WHEN IT IS RAINING MISSILES ON SHABBAT

 21 August 2011

Thank you to Orli Avior. This is a great article and I wish more people would write and let friends and family know what is going on here. We don't have good hasbarah at all but it is improving especially with the help of facebook

Damn had to stop for the siren!  At least they didn't not catch me in the loo or in the shower!!

I would like you to know that where ever we can help with translations or anything else all you have to do is call and we will be only too happy to help.  

Have a safe and quiet night,

- June Narunsky, Ashkelon


 
 
RE: WHAT TO DO IN ASHKELON WHEN IT'S RAINING MISSILES ON SHABBAT

 

 

 21 Aug 2011

 

I thought that Orli Avior's article was well written and I, for one, appreciate that she took the time to send it to someone who can circulate it.

Some random thoughts:

A rocket landed right outside the apartment where we used to live. It was a dud, but still it made a really big noise when it landed. The wife of the family that moved in had a panic attack and had to be taken to the hospital. I say, if a rocket lands near me, I’ll show people what a panic attack really is.

In the previous shelling, one rocket landed a few houses away from us. Not the loudest boom I’ve ever heard, that honor belongs to the tree that got struck by lighting outside my old apartment building. And I make no distinctions between types of rockets. They’re all trying to kill us.

By the way, one of the ladies I used to work with had all the windows blown out of her house. She lives on the same street in Afridar, by Beit Vosk, where the Knesset Member Avi Dichter lives. Apparently, his house is always being targeted.

On another note, if you should suffer damage during an attack, I understand that everyone has automatic government insurance. I’m just not sure how to apply for it. I guess whoever comes around to inspect any damage would know that.

FYI, the hospital is building an underground facility, supposed to be able to hold up to 1000 patients. I’ve seen the great big hole in the ground and the retaining walls, I just don’t know how far along they are.

Hutzot Mall got hit once, on the top floor, the side that’s closest to Migdal, where the gyn’s used to practice. The building now has saucer shaped extensions on the roof. I told Robert that they must be to deflect missiles, but he doesn’t agree. So we don’t actually know what they’re for.

Oh, yeah, a ceasefire is supposed to be in effect starting tonight, but the other side usually breaks them.

- Myra Gabor, Ashkelon


 
 
PETITION TO SUPPORT TWO STATE SOLUTION NOT GLEN BECK

August 21, 2011

 Jeremy Ben Ami, J-Street

 

Please add your name to our petition – which closes Tuesday – supporting urgent American leadership to achieve a two-state solution now.:

The Petition says: On August 24th, Glenn Beck is organizing a rally in Jerusalem -and he's telling the world, including Israelis, Americans and our elected officials, that he represents pro-Israel Americans?! Make sure Congress is listening to you, not Glenn Beck.

Glenn Beck doesn't speak for me - I support a two-state solution for Israel's future, like the one President Obama has laid out based on 1967 borders with agreed upon land swaps and security guarantees

 
 
PETITION NOT TO ENDORSE UNILATERALLY DECLAREDE PALESTINIAN STATE

 

August 19, 2011

To the Editor,

I just signed a petition to the UN member nations encouraging them not to endorse a unilaterally declared Palestinian state should this come to a vote in September.

I invite you to join me in raising our voice against this effort and to sign the petition today. Here is the link: 
http://www.jcrcny.org/udipetition


Please help me spread this important effort and circulate the petition to your networks via emails and Facebook/Twitter postings

- Phil Spevack


 
 
Re: FIRST HAND REPORT FROM MASS DEMONSTRATION IN TEL AVIV OVER COST OF LIVING-COULD NETANYAHU BE TOPPLED

 

August 12, 2011

To the Editor,

Regarding the Israeli who said  "I have a puncher in my life"-It's puncture not puncher ( Israeli for flat tire ) - from the days of inner tubes.

Matthew Lazar.

 

Editor's Reply: Yes, but Israelis peonounce it  "puncher" not  "puncture.'

Matthew Lazar: They're Israeli, so they're right.

P.S. Love the articles


 
 
Re: WHAT TO DO IN ASHKELON WHEN ITS RAINING MISSILES ON SHABBAT

 

August 11, 2011

To the Editor,

Well written article on very important subjects. Thank you,

- Len Podheiser, Winnipeg


 
 
RE: INTERFAITH BURIAL DEBATE SPURS LOGICAL QUESTION: WHAT KIND OF COMMUNITY PROGRAMMING IS THERE FOR JEWISH SINGLES TO MEET EACH OTHER?

August 9, 2011

Dear Rhonda Prepes,

Just read your op-ed.  You made me laugh [“I replied to Faye that if I knew a few men “in the same demographic” I would be dating them and wouldn’t need her help!”]  Classic line! I seem to recall that Minneapolis has a fairly active Jewish singles group.  http://www.jewishsinglescollaborative.org/jscevents.html

- Lisa Brodsky
Bloomington, MN


 
 
RE: INTERFAITH BURIAL DEBATE SPURS LOGICAL QUESTION: WHAT KIND OF COMMUNITY PROGRAMMING IS THERE FOR JEWISH SINGLES TO MEET EACH OTHER?

August 9, 2011

Great article Rhonda (Prepes)! 

You laid it out beautifully!

Best,

Susan Meged


 
 
RE: INTERFAITH BURIAL DEBATE SPURS LOGICAL QUESTION: WHAT KIND OF COMMUNITY PROGRAMMING IS THERE FOR JEWISH SINGLES TO MEET EACH OTHER?

August 9, 2011

Dear Rhonda (Prepes),

I found your article of recent date addressing extremely poignant challenges in our community and North America  focused and informative.

You offer a road map! Yasher Koach. I believe we are pretty much on the same wave length.

Respectfully yours,
Baruch Hashem
Chaim (Hart) Peikoff


 
 
Subject: AIPAC Welcomes Senate Call to Sanction Iran's Central Bank

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 9, 2011

AIPAC Welcomes Senate Call to Sanction Iran’s Central Bank

AIPAC applauds today’s bipartisan letter—signed by 92 U.S. Senators—to the administration urging it to sanction the Central Bank of Iran (CBI), or Bank Markazi. The letter, spearheaded by Senators Charles Schumer (D-NY) and Mark Kirk (R-IL), notes that the CBI lies at the center of Iran’s strategy to circumvent international sanctions against its illicit nuclear program.

We urge the administration to heed the Senators' call to sanction the CBI. With other sanctions in place, the bank is Tehran’s remaining lifeline to the international financial system. Sanctioning it would deal a key blow to the regime by severely limiting its ability to conduct international trade and finance illegal activity.

“We must do more to increase the economic pressure on the regime,” wrote the Senators. “In our view, the United States should embark on a comprehensive strategy to pressure Iran's financial system by imposing sanctions on the Central Bank of Iran (CBI)…The time has come to impose crippling sanctions on Iran's financial system by cutting off the CBI.”

On July 28, the administration accused Iran of entering into a deal with an al-Qaeda affiliate that funnels cash and recruits into Pakistan. A statement from the Treasury Department called Iran “the leading state sponsor of terrorism today.” U.S. military officials also say Iran has increased its aid to Iraqi insurgents and the Taliban, who are carrying out deadly attacks against American forces with Iranian-supplied weapons.

Meanwhile, Tehran is accelerating its illegal nuclear program by announcing the installment of advanced centrifuges. Iran is also refusing to answer questions posed by the International Atomic Energy Agency regarding evidence that it is working toward the development of nuclear weapons.

In June 2010, Congress passed the Comprehensive Iran Sanctions Accountability and Divestment Act, which urged President Obama, “in the strongest terms, to consider immediately using the authority of the President to impose sanctions on the Central Bank of Iran and any other Iranian financial institution engaged in proliferation activities or support of terrorist groups.”


 
 
Re: FIRST HAND REPORT FROM MASS DEMONSTRATION IN TEL AVIV OVER COST OF LIVING-COULD NETANYAHU BE TOPPLED

August 8, 2011

To the Editor,

Very interesting article - we really get the sense of the urgency having recently returned from 7 weeks in Israel. . We found our last trip more costly in general - especially rental costs, gasoline and even basic food items. In fact, we had hoped to rent in Tel Aviv but the cost was simply too high. Several people mentioned the high cost of housing to us. The kids of a couple of our friends were talking about leaving Tel Aviv because they simply could not afford to live there anymore. One was looking to moving back to the Moshav and another was looking for a new place outside TA. At the same time we were overwhlemed by the amount of new contruction going on all over the country. Not just a crane here or there (like in Canada), but literally dozens and dozens of them in just about every place we visited or drove by. It looked like residential constrcution (apartments) but we cannot be sure. Whether or not this will help housing costs is anyone's guess.

Keep the articles coming.

- John Farber


 
 
RE: GEORGE SALTZBERG, THE SON OF A HOLOCAUST SURVIVOR, CARES FOR HIS FATHER'S RESCUER: I HOPE MY STORY INSPIRES OTHERS TO FIND THEIR OWN LINKS WITH THE PAST

Was told there was an article about people helping to fund holocaust survivors sent to Canada that mentioned my father MEYER SHWARTZAPEL. Would love to read
it- he was involved in helping Walter Salzberg- Tried to google it, tried on your search area but had no success.   PLEASE if you can would appreciate your
emailing it to me. Want my children and grand children to know what a great guy their grandfather was.
Thanks for any help.
Natalie Cohen

 

Dear Natalie,

I will contact you and provide you with all the information you are looking for.

Sincerely,
Rhonda Prepes


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • Sveinson Construction
  • The Home Store
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • John Wishnowski
  • Stringer Rentals & Power Products
  • JLS Construction
  • Roseman
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Holiday Inn
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • Ingrid Bennett
  • Chochy's
  • Interlake Service
  • Hugh's Electric
  • Lakeside Roofing
  • KC Enterprises
  • Bulrushes Gallery
  • Gulay Plumbing
  • Trevor Arnason Plumbing
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Country Boy Restaurant
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Shenanigan's On The Beach
  • Nikos
  • Sean Fisher
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Whytewold Emporium
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.