Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
RE: HAWAIDA ARAF-PALESTINIAN WOMAN WHO ORGANIZED THE FLOTILLA WAS AI IAW HERE

April 7, 2011

 

Dear Ms. Spivak:

 
Hi. My name is Daniel, and I'm the editor of the Jewish Voice in New York.  My publisher passed your message along to me, originally under the impression that you were supporting the ISM (until he actually read the article).

I think your article would make an interesting feature piece that our readers will enjoy.  I'd just preface it with something to the effect of "one of our colleagues to the north, editor of the Winnipeg Jewish Review, had a recent face to face meeting with..." and so forth.

Please let me know if we can have your consent to utilize the piece next week.  Also, check out our latest issue at jewishvoiceny.com (should be up by later today).  I wrote the editorial this weekend, and coincidentally it happens to be about U.S.-Turkish-Israeli relations.
 
Looking forward to hearing from you.
 
 
Kol tuv,
 

Daniel Perez
News Editor
Jewish Voice

2154 East 4th street
Brooklyn, New York 11223

Editor's Response: Yes.



 
 
Re: YOUR ARTICLES-HOLOCAUST GALLERY LETTER AND UNWRA REFUGEE ARTICLE

April 3, 2011

To the Editor,

Bravo to you for your letter re the Holocaust gallery. And your article re your visit to the Palestinian refugee camp is very sobering.

Where do you get the time to do this all?

Susan Turner, Winnipeg


 
 
RE: FIRST HAND ACCOUNT: VISIT TO UNWRA PALESTINIANH REFUGEE CAMPS

April  5, 2011

To the Editor ,

Greetings,
We will be running the article "Visit to UNWRA Palestinian Refugee Camps" by Rhonda Spivak, space permitting, in upcoming issue. Can we get high res photos to use with the article (specifically - the Key)?

Thanks,
Pam Spence, editor
Ohio Jewish Chronicle
Columbus, OH 43230
[email protected]


 
 
RE: FIRST HAND ACCOUNT: MY VISIT TO UNWRA PALESTINIAN REFUGEE CAMPS

April 5, 2011

To the Editor,

Hello and Shabbat Shalom,

My name is Sharone Levinson and I am the Executive Director for Act For Israel (http://www.actforisrael.org).  Act For Israel is a digital advocacy group. We focus on broadcasting Israel's voice in the social media. We work closely with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and with the IDF. As a part of the Act For Israel Media Fellowship, we send delegations of influential bloggers to Israel.   When they return, we work closely with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and with the IDF to make sure the bloggers stay engaged in a relationship with Israel.

Act For Israel is a centrist organization.  We are in the process of implementing a sophisticated activist platform that will unite pro-Israel supporters regardless of their religious or political beliefs.  You still can't see the platform, but I wanted to give you the background so you will know who we are. But, even without the platform, we have been making a lot of noise.  We were fortunate to be ranked number one in the prestigious JTA Top Digital Activists for 2010.

I am contacting you because we would like to post the following article on our site:

FIRST HAND ACCOUNT: MY VISIT TO UNWRA PALESTINIAN REFUGEE CAMPS

Normally, we don't post entire articles.  We generally provide an introduction, along with the first few paragraphs and a link to the publishing site.  After that,we work to disseminate the information through the social networks.  But this article is different. The content and the message are so important and we would like to make an exception and post it in its entirety.  We will provide your publication with full credit, and are willing to adhere to your requirements in the process.  In a few short weeks, when we release our new site and platform, there will be an entire section dedicated to UNWRA.   At that point, we would like to include this article in that section.

I appreciate your consideration to this matter.  I hope that we can work together on this project and make a positive impact for Israel.  If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Thank you,
Sharone

Sharone Levinson
Executive Director
Act For Israel
5042 Wilshire Boulevard, # 13938
Los Angeles, CA 90036 USA

Editor's response: Yes, you have my permission.


 
 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE : SHARING TRADITIONS AND INTERCOMMUNITY DIALOGUE ON THE MENU FOR A COMMUNAL SEDER TO BE CELEBRATED IN SHERBROOKE

APRIL 4, 2011
 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE : SHARING TRADITIONS AND INTERCOMMUNITY DIALOGUE ON THE MENU FOR A COMMUNAL SEDER TO BE CELEBRATED IN SHERBROOKE
 
MONTREAL - The Quebec Jewish Congress, the Université de Sherbrooke, the Canadian Center for Ecumenism and the Sherbrooke Agudath Achim Society will host a communal seder presided by Archbishop André Gaumond, dedicated to the sharing of cultural traditions and intercultural dialogue. Personalities from the political, cultural and business sector of the Eastern Townships will share a special meal traditionally served during the Jewish Passover holidays in celebration of freedom and tolerance.


Monday, April 4, 2011
At 6:00 p.m
Foyer Orford du Centre culturel de l'Université de Sherbrooke
2500, boulevard de l'Université
Sherbrooke (Québec), J1K 2R1


 
 
RE: NIGHTMARE IN CANADA

April 4, 2011

Hi Rhonda,
 
I thought you would be interested in the following story:
http://www.ynet.co.il/articles/0,7340,L-4049728,00.html
 
Best,

Gady Jacoby, Ph.D.
Department of Finance
Stillman School of Business, JH 625
Seton Hall University
400 South Orange Ave
South Orange, NJ 07079


 
 
RE: HUWIADA ARAF-PALESTINIAN WOMAN WHO ORGANIZED FLOTILLA

April 2, 2011 
 
To the Editor,
 
Here is outline of what really happened, but no one ever brings out these facts.
 
The Holy land, or Tran Jordan as it was known up until the beginning of he British Mandate, was a sparsely populated area in the Syrian Province of the Ottoman Empire up until the Crimean War in the middle of the 19th century.
 
The Napoleon invasion in 1799 was the beginning of the rediscovery of the Holy land after the long middle ages period, but the major change came following the Crimean War (1853-56), when as a reward for the assistance given by the European countries, the Ottoman Government relaxed restrictions on travel and granted concessions to its European allies.
 
A Thomas Cook report on the Holy land from 1869, describe the area as largely depopulated, with concentrations of Jewish population in Jerusalem, Hebron, Tiberius and Safed.
 
The European Governments established Consulates etc. and the Churches established hospitals and schools. Together with this the Templers established came and established the first agro industries and Jewish immigrants established industries and commerce. Pilgrimage tourism was also renewed.
 
The influx of Europeans brought the beginning of the first cash economy into the region. This attracted Arab workers from surrounding countries. The Arabs were taught trades, by the Templers and the Jews and were educated by the Church schools. This Arab mixture thus became different from the Arabs in the surrounding countries of the Middle East and it can be said that the Christians and Jews created the Palestinians.
 
MAX Z.BLANKSTEIN,  
ECONOMIC AND PLANNING CONSULTANT, 
JERUSALEM (FORMER WINNIPEGGER)
 


 
 
Re: Amnesty blasts Tories’ rights record, citing pro-Israel stance

March 31. 2011
 
To the Editor
 
Now that Canada enters an election, our agency notes that Amnesty International has lambasted the Canadian government because of its stance on Israel ,as reported in the Toronto Star on March 31, 2011
.
http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/politics/article/966586--amnesty-blasts-tories-rights-record-citing-pro-israel-stance-funding-cuts?utm_source=Act+For+Israel+List&utm_campaign=027fab7a68-Act_for_Israel_Action_Alert3_31_2011&utm_medium=email
 
However, Amnesty has a credibility problem in terms of its middle east reporting.
 
As a matter of policy, Amnesty hires PLO officials to conduct its research in the middle east.
 
Back in 1989, our center invited Amnesty officials to Jerusalem to explain that policy.
 
Amnesty dispatched Toronto native Richard Reoch, head of Amnesty's global media operations, to appear at our agency's press forum, where he explained that the PLO was an NGO and could therefore be considered to be a reliable source.
 
When our agency published a dossier of direct PLO involvement with violent acts, the Amnesty director responded with the fascinating explanation that  "We do not believe that membership of, or association with a violent organization is conclusive evidence that a certain individual has used or advocated violence".http://tinyurl.com/2evxtvl
 
Amnesty established the precedent for  other organizations defined as human rights groups  to hire PLO operatives to provide reports for them about the Palestinian situation.
 
Amnesty's record represents  an exercise in  tendentious middle east human rights reporting.
 
David Bedein
Director
Israel Resource News Agency
Center for Near East Policy Research
 


 
 
Re: HELEN THOMAS REVEALS ALL IN PLAYBOY INTERVIEW-NO SHE’S NOT NUDE

March 29, 2011

To the Editor
 
She not Nude??? Oh how disappointing???

- Alan Levy


 
 
Re: Interview with Palestinian Woman Huwaida Araf who organizad the Floatilla

March 27, 2011

To the Editor,
 
Keep up your vigilance, it is important to know the players and their tactics without giving them the sort of publicity they want.
 
Shalom
Geraldine Jones
President
Jewish Ozzies' Inter.Net (JOIN) Inc.


 
 
Re: Interview with Palestinian woman [Huwaida Araf] who organized the Floatilla

March 24, 2011 
 
To the Editor,
 
Very interesting, but not surprising.
 
Gidon Bromberg
Israeli Director, EcoPeace/Friends of the Earth Middle East


 
 
Re: Article by Dore Gold re How Israel Could Revolutionize Global Energy Sector

March 21, 2011
 
Hi Rhonda:
 
The article by Dore Gold , “ How Israel Could Revolutionize The Global Energy Sector” reminded me of the year I spent on Sabbatical in Israel (l962/63) at the Technion.  Work was being done on the shale-oil by a Ph.D. student.  I did some work with her on the recovery of oil and some of the rare components in the oil. 

Your "Paper"  Is a joy to read.

Hyman
Dr. H.D. Gesser
Professor Emeritus
Chemistry Department
University of Manitoba


 
 
RE; HOLOCAUST SURVIVORS PROJECT

March 21, 2011
 
Hello,
 
My name is Ceanray and me and my friend Haylynn are doing a project on Winnipeg Holocaust survivors. We were wondering if perhaps you could put us in contact with a survivor.
 
Sincerely,
 
Ceanray Harris Read and Haylynn
 
Editor’s Response: Thank you for your letter . There is  recent book edited by Belle Millo and put out by the Jewish Heritage Centre  that tells the stories of the  many Holocaust survivors in Winnipeg, titled “Voices of Winnipeg Holocaust Survivors.” I am giving you a link (below) to an article we wrote about that book below as well as links to articles about two survivors in Winnipeg, Walter Saltzberg, and Regine Frankel.
 
I will also give you Belle Millo’s phone number and email address and she will be able to  help arrange for you to speak to one or more  survivors. I will also provide you the contact information for Shelley Faintuch, Community Relations  Director of the Jewish federation of Winnipeg who will also be able to help you , and  tell you about  Holocaust Awareness Week, which is in May this year. You can attend events and meet Holocaust survivors who will be there. If you do a search on the Winnipeg Jewish Review website and look through our archives from  April  and May 2010  you will find articles about Holocaust Awareness Week from last year.  
  
http://www.winnipegjewishreview.com/article_detail.cfm?id=132&sec=6&title=Launch_of_Book,_“Voices_of_Winnipeg_Holocaust_Survivors”_–_Thursday,_April_15
 
http://www.winnipegjewishreview.com/article_detail.cfm?id=105&sec=6&title=EVERYONE_IN_BOMBED_BUILDING_KILLED_EXCEPT_HIM_-_HOW_WALTER_SALTZBERG_SURVIVED_THE_HOLOCAUST
 
http://www.winnipegjewishreview.com/article_detail.cfm?id=280&sec=6&title=Frankel_Shares_her_Story_of_Survival


 
 
RE: WOMAN WHO ORGANIZED FLOATILLA WAS HERE AT ISRAEL APARTHEID WEEK

Marh 18, 2010

To the Editor,

I always look forward to receiving your excellent articles on my computer.  I want to commend you on the way you handled the interview with Ms. Araf.  I especially was impressed with your last words to her.... to help Gaza by releasing Shalit.  Yasher koach to you!
 
Hillel Taylor, 
Winnipeg


 
 
RE: IRAN

March 17, 2011

To the Editor
 
This is a letter I wrote published in the Wall Street Journal on February 19, 2011 regarding  Protests in Iran.

What the West does not seem to understand or appreciate is the fact that the current reformist leaders Mir Hossein Mousavi and Mehdi Karroubi are an integrated part of the Islamic regime and are only interested in creating small reforms within the current Islamic constitution.

The majority of the Iranian people on the other hand, are seeking a complete overthrow of the Islamic regime and are only using reform as an excuse to take to the streets and protest. In fact one of the most popular slogans chanted during the June 2009 protests was "Mousavi is an excuse, entire regime is target."

Instead of promoting reforms within the Islamic regime, the West needs to support the real demands of the Iranian people, which are a secular and democratic government in Iran.

Sayeh Hassan


 
 
Re: Interview with Palestinian woman who organizaed the Floatilla Huwaida Araf

March 17, 2011 
 
To the Editor,
 
Excellent interview of Hawaida Araf.
 
Almost in honor of Purim, I liked the Purim-like ending of Iran's (Persia's) attempt to murder Jews via Hamas, with the Naval IDF seizure of 50 tonnes of weapons aboard the 'victoria' March 15. "So eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow we shall again refuse to die."
 
http://www.jpost.com/Opinion/Columnists/Article.aspx?id=212906
 

Happy Purim Festivities,
Elaine Bigelow


 
 
Nefesh B’Nefesh & THE JEWISH AGENCY to hold MEGA ALIYAH FAIRS in NORTH AMERICA

To the Editor,
 
(JERUSALEM; 14th March, 2011) – As part of Nefesh B’Nefesh’s ongoing initiatives to provide comprehensive Aliyah information, guidance and inspiration to potential Olim, the organization will be holding a week of Mega Aliyah Events together with the Jewish Agency in four major cities across North America. The Aliyah Mega Events, which will take place in Toronto, Montreal, South Florida and New York between March 27th and April 3rd, will incorporate Aliyah-related seminars and workshops, as well as personal consultations with Nefesh B’Nefesh and Jewish Agency staff. Representatives from various Israeli ministries, health funds and shippers will also be present.
The 1,200 attendees expected at the fairs will be able to participate in workshops and seminars on various topics such as: Finding a Job in Israel, Financial Planning, Taxes & Budgeting, The Israeli Healthcare System, Navigating Israel’s Education System, Introduction to the Aliyah Process, Aliyah Rights and Benefits and the Go North Program. Express Aliyah meetings on a range of Aliyah-related topics will also be available.
 
The New York event will also feature a special presentation by veteran Olah Denise Bar-Aharon, founder of the Israeli branch of the Make-a-Wish Foundation and Advisory Board Member of the Fashion Institute of Technology. Denise who also works as a fashion buyer for Gap, Anne Klien and other high profile fashion labels will talk about how to “Follow your dreams in Israel”.
 
This year’s fairs will include special programming for those making Aliyah in 2011, on preparing for the Israeli school system and budgeting in Israel. Additionally, for the first time, the Montreal event will feature a French-speaking Aliyah counselor who will be available for question and consultations.
 
To date, Nefesh B’Nefesh has assisted over 27,000 Olim and more than 47,000 North American and British Jews have attended Nefesh B'Nefesh pre-Aliyah informational seminars throughout the US, Canada and UK, including specially tailored programs, events and individual counseling sessions. For a full listing of programming please visit the Nefesh B’Nefesh online calendar https://www.nbn.org.il/nbncal/main.php
 
Renana Levine Renana Levine / [email protected]
 
ISRAEL: 054-244-9747        USA: 212-203-0071    UK: 0800-075-3353


 
 
Re: INSIDE VIEW FROM WASHINGTON: IS OBAMA RETREATING FROM THE PEACE PROCESS?

March 13, 2011
To the Editor,
 
Fantastic job as usual. As a matter of fact I would like to say thank you for what you are doing and how valuable your news reports are to our community. You are playing a significant role in our community.
 
 
Kind regards,
 
Maxim Berent, Winnipeg


 
 
Re: Inquest into Lilian Peck's death

March 13, 2012

To the  Editor,

The last part of your article [Clarifying The Role of the Crown] left an impression that an inquest was not called
into Lilyan Peck's death because perhaps the family objected to an autopsy.
However, her daughter, Marsha Palansky, has stated to me that the Medical
Examiner's Office never even asked the family about doing an autopsy. Nor did
they do much of an investigation - despite the fact that Victoria Hospital
reported the case to the Manitoba Government as a suspected case of abuse.
Clearly, the Medical Examiner's Office failed to live up to their
responsibilities in this tragic death.  Yet the Medical Examiner has not been
publicly called to account on this!  

Harvey Berkal


 
 
RE: REMEMBERING WHEN YORAM EAST DEFENDED ISRAEL AGAINST HOWARD DAVIDSON
Thank you, Rhonda, for re-publishing this article.   

Yoram,  in his life was loved and admired by most everybody, Jews and non-Jews alike.

Yoram was a famous hero, well known for his bravery and exceptionally unique way of thinking; he joined the army when he was 16 and over the span of his life he was in and out of the military several times accumulating, among others, serious injuries a number of times. Yoram was different, sometimes odd, but always driven by a brilliant and original mind.

 I hope you are well,

Best Regards,
Carol Merhav


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • RBC Royal Bank
  • Fillmore Riley
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Winter's Collision Repair
  • Gray Academy
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • CHW
  • Cantor's Meats
  • JCFS
  • Esther and Sid Halpern Shana Tovah
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Booke & Partners
  • Sobey's
  • Commercial Pool
  • CDN Visa
  • Jack & Debbie Lipkin
  • Daniel Friedman and Rob Dalgliesh
  • Rady JCC
  • The Bob Silver Family
  • Carol and Barry McArton
  • Shindico
  • D'Arcy & Deacon LLP
  • Shinewald Family
  • Piston Ring
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • Kromar Printing
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Bob & Shirley Freeman
  • Protexia
  • Ixtapa Travel
  • Superlite
  • Brent Schacter Sora Ludwig
  • Dr Ted and Harriet Lyons
  • Amalgamated Drywall Systems Ltd.
  • Josef Ryan
  • Munroe Dental Centre
  • Chisick Family
  • Broadway Law Group
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • JCFS
  • Western Scrap Metals Inc.
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Jim Gauthier
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Stella's
  • Chochy's
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Lazar Family
  • Dr. Marshall Stitz
  • Michel and Danita Aziza and family
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Dimensions Insurance
  • HUB
  • Doheny Securities Limited
  • Orthodox Union
  • Allan Davies
  • City Sheet Metal
  • John Orlikow
  • Ross Eadie
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Miller's Super Valu Meats
  • Pitblado
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Erickson Motors
  • Canadian Magen David Adom
  • Bridges for Peace
  • Elaine and Bernie Lofchick & family
  • Cascade Financial Group
  • Sorrento's
  • Canadian Friends of Boys Town Jerusalem
  • East India Company
  • Nikos
  • Sean Fisher
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.