Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
Re: I Predicted that Jordan’s King Would Sack his Cabinet Based On Reading Jordan Times Editorial A Day Earlier

February 7, 2011

To The Editor,

Rhonda, thank you, this is very interesting. 

Benjamin Baader


 
 
RE: Interview with Tortured Egyptian who escaped to Israel on Jet-ski

February 7, 2011

To The Editor,

It is a fascinating story. I will pass it around.
 
Best, 
Gady Jacoby


 
 
Subject: Re: Interview with Tortured Egyptian who escaped to Israel on Jet-ski

To the Editor,

Feb 7, 2011

Hi Rhonda,

The article is fascinating.

Shelley Breslaw-Wynn


 
 
RE: WHAT KIND OF SEX EDUCATION DID WE EVER GET AT JOSEPH WOLINSKY COLLEGIATE
To the  Editor

Peed myself laughing.....GREAT WRITING.
 
D Gurvey


 
 
RE: Story of Two Brothers by Eli Herscovitch

To the Editor,
 
Eli Herscovitch is not only an amazing soul activated musician that dazzles my senses whenever I have seen him perform he also is a captivating “story teller.” Keep on keeping on Eli.
 
Three cheers Eli. My respect and good wishes to you and yours.
 
Hart Peikoff


Hart Peikoff
797.4000
[email protected]
H.A.R.T.  "Honest. Awareness. Reliable. Tenacious."
          DRUG FREE / THE WAY TO BE!
          "Are you stoned or are you stupid?" Huh?


 
 
Re;I PREDICTED JORDAN’s KING ABDULLAH WOULD SACK His CABINET BASED ON JORDAN TIMES EDITORIAL A DAY EARLIER

To the Editor,

February 4, 2011

Congrats for scooping the story before it even happened!


Tina Greenfield


 
 
RE: YOUR NEWS ITEMS ARE VERY INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE

To The Editor,

Feb 4, 2011

I read all your news items, and they are very interesting,
informative, and keep up the good work.

Irene Marantz


 
 
Subject: RE: Prediction that Jordan's king would sack his cabinet based on reading of editorial in the Jordan Times a day earlier

Hi Rhonda,
Thank you for sharing you article with me it was very interesting to read it.

Orit Ben-Or


 
 
UPHEAVAL IN EGYPT AND ISRAELI HUMOUR

February 2, 2011

To the Editor,
 
This was posted on Facebook by an Israeli:  "Dear Egyptian rioters, please don't damage the pyramids. We will not rebuild. Thank you."      
 
Henry Ballon, Winnipeg


 
 
Subject: Re: I Predicted Jordan's king would sack his cabinet based on my reading of the editorial in the Jordan Times a day earlier


Feb 2, 2011
To The Editor,

Well done, Rhonda. Care to make any predictions about Judea & Samaria?


Regards,
Frank Hellner


 
 
Subject: Re: I predicted jordan's king would sack his cabinet based on my reading of the editorial in the Jordan Times a day earlier

Feb 2, 2011
To the Editor,

Rhonda thanks.The real quesion is now much planning and by whom went into ratcheting up the rallies in Egypt (Iran funding? Qatar? etc etc) and what is the role of the Muslim Brotherhood---which says that Hamas has a right to use force to take back conquered homeland, etc etc ....and what is the strange role of Obama in this whole scenario?
Dr. Eliyahu Richter 


 
 
Subject: World Council Of Israelis Abroad –Article in The Jerusalem Post

To the Editor,


Hi Rhonda,

I read your article in the Jerusalem Post. Very nice!

http://www.jpost.com/Sci-Tech/Article.aspx?id=205978

Who is your contact person in Toronto? I am interested in cooperating with them.

Thanks,


Amihai Bannett,
Educational Director – Israel Connect


 
 
Dershowitz piece

January 27, 2011

To the Editor,

Thanks for running the Dershowitz piece on the J Street double standard.  I think it's an important issue and I'm happy to see prominent liberals speaking up on it.  As a right-leaning gentile who regards himself as a gharqad tree I'm heartened by Liberal Jews who show this kind of balance.

Dershowitz made many good points and I'm happy to give his piece the thumbs up.  I don't mean to sound any sour notes, as I really appreciated it, but I feel the need to say that I think he missed a few key turns of thought on this issue.

First, the term "blood libel", unlike "Holocaust", is generic.  It does not qualify, in all instances, as a reference to (say) the Protocols.  Yes, for many that is the primary instance, but in general it is not the first thing that comes to mind.  The Protocols, to the general public, is not a household word while the Holocaust is, and probably far less than 50% of the public would have connected Palin's comments to the antisemitism issue without the elucidation of prominent persons who repeatedly and explicitly made the connection.   It is quite possible that Palin herself was not even aware of the association of the term with the Protocols, and even if she was, it is very probable that the connection did not enter her mind at the time she made the comment.

Further, while the principal meaning of the term refers to accusations of ritualized religious murder, esp. of children, it is common for the pro-choice movement to accuse the pro-life movement of "blood libel" in their discussion of abortion clinics, so the term has weight in a more secular, generic setting in so-called liberal discourse.  Indeed, it strikes me that perhaps we need a new term to describe this phenomenon, something like "blood libel libel", in which someone is
unfairly accused of blood libel.  Perhaps Palin is being accused of blood libel libel.  One could argue that this accusation against her is unfair by saying that it is "blood libel libel libel" (etc.  :-) )

Second, Palin is the wrong person to charge with injecting the term "blood libel" into this discussion.  No less a media powerhouse than the Wall Street Journal used the term to make exactly the same point two days before Palin recorded her statement.  I regard Palin's appropriation of the term as a paraphrase of the WSJ piece.  It is patently unfair to pin that term on her as if she was uniquely responsible for heightened levels of this kind of rhetoric.  She was injecting comment into an existing public discourse, long after the major players had already said their piece.  Her statement contained nothing new, and it registered far down the scale of "inflammatory comment" compared to prior statements by her critics.  The charges leveled against her to this effect are a clear instance of projection.

Third, the reason Palin is targeted can have a finer point put on it than even Dershowitz makes:  When Palin was announced as a VP candidate the response of the electorate was electric.  Since Obama's primary momentum in the election was founded on his star appeal, and the democratic media/lobby/political machine was relying so strongly on his personal charisma to carry the day, Palin was immediately seen as a lethal threat.  This perception is clearly seen in the response of the left.  Never in American politics have we seen such a vicious, sustained and personal campaign to delegitimize a politician, and on such flimsy bases.  One eventually loses track of the number of "ethics violations" she was charged wtih after entering the federal campaign, all of which were eventually thrown out, and almost all of which were obvious nuisance suits whose purpose was to colour short-term public discourse more than to establish any factual violations.   Not satisfied with assassination of Palin herself, the machine went after her family with a vengeance.  It is generally understood in American political discourse that such attacks on a candidate's family are beyond the pale, but the liberal media and para-political collectives like J Street showed little restraint in this regard, and  I've yet to see a Liberal of Dershowitz' stature call them out publicly on this (some minor Liberal voices have done so, including a few well-known feminists, I'm happy to say).

So it was quite natural for them to leap to try to make the stain from this tragedy stick to Palin -- it was simply another episode in their ongoing attempt to undermine her public support.  Judging by the sudden slide in her approval ratings, in seems that they have finally managed to have the desired effect.

Fourth, I'm surprised that a smart commentator like Dershowitz would  publicly profess to criticize Palin's use of "crosshairs" on a map.   He is surely familiar with the instances of similar maps produced for years in American electoral campaigns of all political stripes.  The only thing noteworthy about the "offending" poster of the Palin campaign is its ordinariness -- it fits comfortably into a well-established genre.  The language on the poster compares very favourably against some Democrat campaign posters from prior years in which targets are placed on Republican seats and considerably more militant imagery is invoked.

So, as long as Dershowitz is pointing out J Street's double standard he might have the presence of mind to include a mea culpa about this.

Finally, as you may perceive I'm no fan of Obama, but I have to say that his handling of the issue was excellent, and spoke well for his character.  He was one of the few Liberal principals who not only kept out of the fray, but called for their people to tone it down.  That won him some points with me, and apparently with the American public as well, because his approval ratings also took a small upward turn right then.  He has come off much better than many of the cogs in his support engine.

Robert Craigen


 
 
Review Inquiry

January 26, 2011

Hello,

I am writing from the University of Toronto Press, wondering if there was an address for a review editor to whom I could send a  review copy of one of our recent publications, The Defining Decade: Identity, Politics, and the Canadian Jewish Community in the 1960s by Harold Troper? I think it would be of interest to your readers. 

Thanks very much, 
Kaitlin


 
 
Israeli Link for the Winnipeg Jewish Review

To the Editor,
Hi Rhonda,

I came across your article on Israeli links for the Winnipeg Jewish Review, and have another website you might want to add. I'm a Gray Academy graduate (class of 2006) and this fall, graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree. For the past 4 months I've been living in Tel Aviv and doing an internship with a company called Omanoot.

Omanoot is a new Israeli startup that promotes Israeli arts and culture through its website www.omanoot.com. After years of hard work, the website's film section was finally launched 2 weeks ago. On the site, visitors can stream Israeli short films and documentaries for free, download them for public or private viewing, and also read about Israeli filmmakers and feature films and watch their trailers.

In the future, Omanoot will have sections for Israeli music, literature, and visual art and more films are being added to our website every week. We also have a blog (blog.omanoot.com) with weekly art events in Tel Aviv, and artist profiles.

I hope you like the website and blog and find that one or both of them is appropriate for the Winnipeg Jewish Review's list. If there's anything else you'd like to know, I'd be happy to give you more information.

Best,
Alix Billinkoff


 
 
Breakfast Winnipeg

Hi Rhonda can you take a look at the website when you have time?

http://www.breakfastwinnipeg.com/Reviews.html

Thanks
 
A Hassan


 
 
The Skeleton Exhibit

January 13, 2011

To the Winnipeg Jewish Review,

The body is the temple which houses our soul while we are on this planet. Using body parts to save another human's life during transplant operations is far different than disrespecting the "dead" with this claimed educational tool. This exhibit baffles decency vibrations. I am still in shock it was allowed to present itself to the public. In this situation morality has been pushed overboard. 

Sincerely,
Hart Peikoff


 
 
RABBI BRYKS SAGA - NEW DOCUMENTARY BY VISION T.V.

January 7, 2011

To the  Editor,

I am really grateful that you are following up on the Bryks fiasco.

Being on the Board of  Herzlia Synagogue at the time I know the hatred we [those who did not support Rabbi Bryks] went through when we broke away and started are own minyan at Ramah school.  I was the secretary at the time. There unfortunately were no minutes taken at the Board meetings at the time.

Ben Luffman, Winnipeg


 
 
RE: TESS DOAN'S ARTICLE IN THE WJR_MY JOURNEY HOME: CHOOSING TO CONVERT TO JUDAISM

December 31, 2010

To the Editor,

Hello, my name is Jacqueline Bechtold. I am not Jewish. I read an amazing article written by a young lady, Tess Doan. It was heart warming and so full of hope. That young lady is the daughter of a very close childhood friend. It is easy to see her maturity and sincerity in this article. It is evident that my friend has raised a beautiful daughter and supports her in her walk in the Jewish faith. I remember Tess as a little girl. She was sweet , innocent and radiated a beautiful spirit and this spirit of life is evident through the medium of her words. I am so happy that she is discovering her way in the Jewish faith. It is wonderful that she has support from a warm community. Because of Tess's article, I spent many hours reading your online magazine and I loved it. I have book marked it and will be looking forward to reading and enjoying your publication for many years to come. I hope that Tess will write more articles. She has a gift of touching people's hearts with her words. Its funny because her Mother was very much like that as a young girl. Tess you will not remember me but I am so proud of you and the courage you have to choose a wonderful life for yourself.
 
Sincerely,
Jacque Bechtold


 
 
RE: IRAN AND RESPONSE TO JOANNE NAIMAN

In her letter dated November 27, 2010 Joanne Naiman states " The sabre-rattling of the U.S. and Israel at this moment is both troubling and dangerous, not only for people in the Middle East region – including Israelis – but also for the rest of us."

 
However, The Wikileaks has proved  that the Arab States in the Middle East fear Iran, not Israel. "Publication of some 250,000 classified diplomatic cables by the Wikileaks website has exposed the fact that Arab states see Iran and its nuclear weapons program and not Israel as the real threat to Middle East stability and their own security." Analysis from Reuters puts the truth in stark terms: “The revelation confirm the depth of suspicion and hatred of the Shi'ites among Sunni Arab leaders, especially in Saudi Arabia, the leading Sunni power and which regards Iran as an existential threat.”
 
Now, here's sample of important revelations that were exposed:
 
Iran has obtained advanced missiles from North Korea that could let it strike at Western European capitals and Moscow.
 
Officials from Jordan also called for the Iranian program to be stopped by any means necessary while leaders of the United Arab Emirates and Egypt referred to Iran as “evil,” and an “existential threat.”
 
Saudi King Abdullah repeatedly urged the United States to destroy the Iranian program. “He told you [Americans] to “cut off the head of the snake,” the Saudi ambassador to Washington, Adel al-Jubeir said, according to a report on Abdullah's meeting with the U.S. general David Petraeus in April 2008. Abdullah told a US diplomat: "The bottom line is that they (the Iranians) cannot be trusted."
 
Iran smuggled weapons to Hezballah in ambulances and medical vehicles in violation of international conventions. Hamas also used such vehicles for military and arms-smuggling operations.
 
Iran withheld from the International AtomicEnergy Agency the original design documents for a secret nuclear reactor.
 
Iran will have the capabilities to make nuclear weapons very soon.
 
"In his announcement, probably aimed at bolstering Tehran's bargaining position at the talks, Iranian Atomic Energy Organization head Ali Akbar Salehi said his nation had achieved the ability to produce its own yellowcake, uranium powder that is used in the process of creating nuclear fuel. By using ore mined in southern Iran, he said, the nation would no longer need imported uranium"
 
Important other factors to note:
Despite broad international criticism, strong doubts about Iran's real intentions, and technical delays, Russia's Rosatom state energy corporation has supplied the Bushehr nuclear plant on the Persian Gulf with the fuel rods necessary to begin operations at the reactor.
 
For Tehran, its partnership with Moscow is important because Russia is a permanent member of the UN Security Council and this means that it can block new sanctions against the Islamic Republic.
 
In conclusion, Its not just Israel and the US who are concerned with Iran. Iran's desire is to spread its hegemony throughout the Middle East, especially now with a weakened Iraq. Sanctions have been ineffective in stopping their nuclear program. Iran is the biggest threat to destablilizing the whole Middle East region, because of its desire to becoming a nuclear weaponed State.  In all, the Persian Gulf states are expected to spend approximately $123bln on the purchase of US arms in the coming years.

Saudi Arabia will top the list with $67 billion, followed by the UAE ($40bln), Oman ($12bln) and Kuwait ($7bln).

Mr. K, Winnipeg

 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • RBC Royal Bank
  • Fillmore Riley
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Winter's Collision Repair
  • Gray Academy
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • CHW
  • Cantor's Meats
  • JCFS
  • Esther and Sid Halpern Shana Tovah
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Booke & Partners
  • Sobey's
  • Commercial Pool
  • CDN Visa
  • Jack & Debbie Lipkin
  • Daniel Friedman and Rob Dalgliesh
  • Rady JCC
  • The Bob Silver Family
  • Carol and Barry McArton
  • Shindico
  • D'Arcy & Deacon LLP
  • Shinewald Family
  • Piston Ring
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • Kromar Printing
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Bob & Shirley Freeman
  • Protexia
  • Ixtapa Travel
  • Superlite
  • Brent Schacter Sora Ludwig
  • Dr Ted and Harriet Lyons
  • Amalgamated Drywall Systems Ltd.
  • Josef Ryan
  • Munroe Dental Centre
  • Chisick Family
  • Broadway Law Group
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • JCFS
  • Western Scrap Metals Inc.
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Jim Gauthier
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Stella's
  • Chochy's
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Lazar Family
  • Dr. Marshall Stitz
  • Michel and Danita Aziza and family
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Dimensions Insurance
  • HUB
  • Doheny Securities Limited
  • Orthodox Union
  • Allan Davies
  • City Sheet Metal
  • John Orlikow
  • Ross Eadie
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Miller's Super Valu Meats
  • Pitblado
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Erickson Motors
  • Canadian Magen David Adom
  • Bridges for Peace
  • Elaine and Bernie Lofchick & family
  • Cascade Financial Group
  • Sorrento's
  • Canadian Friends of Boys Town Jerusalem
  • East India Company
  • Nikos
  • Sean Fisher
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.