Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
June 17, 2010

To the Editor,

South Africa is considering expelling the Israeli Ambassador from its country.  It is possible that this could cause a diplomatic avalanche and many third world countries and perhaps others would also then follow suit, leaving Israel quite isolated.  That Isolation could in turn create some severe difficulties for Israel. I believe that any sort of diplomatic isolation of Israel will be more dangerous than the 1975 U.N. Zionism is Racism Resolution was, because at that time the United States very clearly and openly had Israel’s back.  Sadly, that is not Israel’s present reality.  Hence anything we can do to help stem an international anti-Israel tide is significant. Below is a link from a South African website that is conducting a public opinion poll on whether South Africa should expel the Israeli Ambassador.  As of today June 9th with 115,000 votes in its 51% yes to break off diplomatic relations and 49% no.  Please vote  'no'.   I do believe that the South African Government will be looking at this poll as a possible factor in their decision. 

Here is the link to iafrica news ....
http://news.iafrica.com/features/2454580.htm. Please vote "No" and pass this on.

J. P., Winnipeg


 
 
Re: KEEP IT UP

June 16, 2010

To the Editor,

Hi Rhonda. Hope things are going well. I am liking the review – keep it up!

Marty Goldberg, Toronto


 
 
Re: Rebecca Walberg’s Jewish Ethics and Flotilla Realities

To the Editor,

Rebecca Walberg continues to view Israel and the Israeli government through rose coloured glasses. The killing of peace workers aboard the Mavi Marmara has drawn international condemnation against the Israeli government and its continued illegal blockade of Gaza. There is absolutely nothing honourable in the treatment of the citizens of Gaza by the Israeli government. For Rebecca to claim that Israel is following the talmudic teachings of conducting a just war, is so far from the truth to be laughable. 

Ideological supporters of Israel are not helping the state of Israel, and its citizens, by blindly supporting each and every action taken by the Israeli government. It is time for supporters of Israel to recognize that the continued blockade of Gaza is illegal and that for peace to come to the middle east Israel needs to stop being a bully and fall into line with UN resolutions, and end its illegal occupation and put an immediate end to the Gaza blockade.

Thanks,
Harold Shuster
Winnipeg


 
 
GREAT INTEREST

June 11, 2010

To the Editor,

First of all I would like to tell you that I read regularly with great interest your review.

I would like to ask you if you received Ashes in the Wind by Jacob Presser, recently republished by Souvenir Press in London. I asked the American distributor to send you a copy.

I would of course be very happy if you give a review of this important book about the Holocaust in the Netherlands. I attach a very positive recent review in the Jewish Chronicle in London on the book.

Beginning November I will come to Berkeley, the University of California and to Ann Arbor, the University of Michigan, to give lectures about the book and to show my film about the author, The Past that lives (1970. 65 min) The film is in distribution at the National Center for Jewish Film, Brandeis University. They are preparing to publish a DVD on the occasion of the republication of the book by Jacob Presser.

With my best regards,

Philo Bregstein
Amsterdam, the Netherlands


 
 
June 10, 2010

To the Editor,

The paper looks great.  Thanks for reviewing Jordan's show . . . it sounds like your writer enjoyed it.   I'm not sure your reviewer realized that they showed the video that Jordan had created for Kendra's Walk at the end of the evening because the boys had decided to donate a portion of the show proceeds to the Walk (which took place on June 4, just a few days after the show).  They didn't specifically announce their intention, but simply ran the video. I don't know if everyone "got it."   Anyway, thanks again and keep up the great work!   

Cheers,
Susan Billinkoff
 
PS:  If you don't already have my parents and my in-laws on your mailing list, they would like to be added.


 
 
ASPER FOUNDATION HOLOCAUST AND HUMAN RIGHTS TRIP TO WASHINGTON D.C.

June 11, 2010

Letter to Editor,

Last night, June 10, 2010, I attended the "graduation" ceremony of the students who participated in the Washington, D.C. Trip to the National Holocaust Museum (can't remember the exact name) and other sites.

This trip was the brainchild of the late Dr. Israel Asper, and became the impetus to creating the Human Rights Museum in Winnipeg.

Aside from the Gray Academy students, who took the trip at a different time, kids from schools all over Winnipeg attended 9 two hour sessions with Renee Kaplan (title and orginization details to follow) and were honoured to listen to the personal testimonies of Holocaust survivours.

The Jewish kids aren't really the focus of this amazing story. It's the students of the "inner city schools" that impressed me the most. Kids obviously from lower-income, less fortunate homes. Kids of every cultural background and religion-aboriginal, african, phillipines, asian....groups of kids who gleaned so much about the suffering of the Jewish people and other atrocities of the time. They learned about antisemitism, hate, tolerance, and hope. They were infused with hope for the future. They learned that one person can change the world. It was amazing.

Each group presented an account of their experiences. There were diary entries read, power point presentations, movies, speeches. I was very impressed, at one point, in tears.

One school, General Wolfe School created an amazing power point presentation. These kids were incredible, so I sought them out after and told them and their guidance counselor, Laurie Miller, how their words affected me. I asked for a copy of their presentation and was introduced to the creator, a slight, tiny girl named Mira who promised she'd burn a copy for me. I hope to pick it up today. I'd love for you to see it.

Other inner city schools were also present and equally effecting. R.B. Russel, Children of the Earth, Tec Voc, Gordon Bell and others.

My feeling is that these children understood something that the more priviliged kids didn't grasp in the same way. They know adversity. They know isolation. They know blanket judgment. The public school Jewish kids and other students of the suburbs certainly were affected, but their presentations weren't nearly as emotionally charged, weren't prepared in such a way as the kids of the inner city schools.

This doesn't reflect well on the children who are so blessed in their lives that they are simply immune to their gifts, but the real story is that of the inner city students who were truly honoured to have had the opportunity to travel to Washington D.C. and then share their experiences with us.

I can't wait for you to see the CD.

Aviva Cohen


 
 
Re: The Humanitarian Aid to Gaza That the World Ignores

June 5, 2010

To the Editor,

My mother-in-law, an Israeli citizen, is unfortunately very ill with cancer. She is being cared for in a top-notch medical facility, Ichilov Hospital, in Tel Aviv. My husband flew to Israel to help her through this difficult time. Imagine his surprise to discover that among the patients in her ward is a young woman from Gaza! Not only has this woman been allowed into Israel and is being treated by the top specialists in the country free of charge, but her mother and father have also been allowed into Israel from Gaza to be by her side throughout her ordeal.  This is the true definition of humanitarian aid. This woman was not injured in a military conflict. Israel does not owe her or her parents anything. However, in the true spirit of humanity, Israel quietly provides medical care for many cases such as these for Gaza citizens without seeking any recognition from the world. What would be the point? The world would just accuse Israel of either fabricating the information or being self-serving.

Belle Millo ,
Assistant Director, Canadian Institute for the Study of Anti-Semitism


 
 
Re: Flotilla Passengers - Go back to Auschwitz

June 4, 2010

To the Editor,

Here is another piece of the truth. Don't give up. Keep on forwarding the truth.
http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-3899131,00.html

Erez Rotem
JNF Director/KKL Emissary
Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta


 
 
Re: Informative and Enjoyable Reading

June 4, 2010
 
To The Editor,

As a former resident of Winnipeg, I really look forward to your paper. It is informative as well as enjoyable to read. Wishing you continued success.

REESA  SLAYEN BRAUN
TORONTO, ONTARIO


 
 
Subject: G20 Summit and Gaza Flotilla

June 4, 2010

To The Editor,

Today, on Friday June 4, The Globe and Mail has an article, "When protesters meet police"...

Are the police not the same as a BLOCKADE, to not let people near the G20 summit?

What will happen to the protesters if they try to go through the blockade ?
What measures are the armed police, entitled to use  to enable them to do their job.?

Israel is faced with protesters every day. Israel is faced with blockade runners every day.

Lets suppose the Canadian Police/Forces can not hold the protesters out.
Would it mean the potential annihilation of the entire country?

Let's not use police and forces, as measures and counter - measures, for this G20 Summit and see what happens to our Summit.

Is that not what we expect of the State of Israel?

Paul Knight, Winnipeg


 
 
RE: REWRITING HISTORY IN THE BALTICS

June 5, 2010

To the Editor,

I am very pleased to send you the link below to one of the most important articles which have appeared in recent years regarding the ongoing efforts by countries like Lithuania to rewrite the history of the Holocaust. I believe that Paul Frysh of CNN.com is actually the first journalist of a major American news/media outlet to focus on the disturbing campaign led by the Baltics to try and obtain official recognition that the crimes of Communism are equivalent to those of Nazism, an insidious distortion of the historical narrative with potentially very negative results and implications for Holocaust education and history.

Any and all comments, feedback and criticism are welcome.

With best wishes,

Efraim Zuroff, Jerusalem
www.operationlastchance.org
 
http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/europe/06/03/lithuania.nazi.prosecutions/index.html


 
 
Re: Swastika

June 5, 2010

To the Editor,

I can add another report of swastikas being painted.
 
A few weeks ago I was at the Big Breakfast TV studio at the forks and saw a single large swastika crudely painted on the side of the tall orange chimney that stands just outside the studio's main entrance. I mentioned it to front door security and he immediately notified management. They didn't  waste time in having it removed.
 
After being informed, I'm pleased with their fast response in dealing with the problem but can't help wondering why I was the first to 'notice' it and take the minimal effort required to complain about such a distasteful thing, that was so visible to everyone.
 
Eli Herscovitch, Winnipeg


 
 
Re: Muslim Brotherhood Flotilla

June 7, 2010

To the Editor,

It is unfortunate that Israel did not utilize the opportunity to properly expose the Flotilla for what it was.  The problem with Israeli’s is that they fail to understand or utilize public relations opportunities to their advantage.  This after the fact information is not very helpful for world opinion.  It is annoying that the Israeli government is so inept when it comes to public opinion and shaping world comment.

Alan Cantor
 
 
RE: UNWRA IN GAZA TEACHING WESTERN STYLE EDUCATION

To the Editor,

June 9, 2011

I'm going to write something about your report [ on UNWRA in Gaza Teaching Western Style Education] . Can you send me a high res jpg of yourself to include?

Robert Sklar
Contributing Editor
Detroit Jewish News

 
 
RE:Good Broad Material

June , 2010

To the Editor,

Hi Rhonda, best wishes on your wonderful endeavor.......good broad material, local and external, very saliant.....

Morty Simcoe, Winnipeg


 
 
Re: INTERESTING AND USEFUL

June , 2010

To the Editor:

Thanks for sending me your review every week. It’s always interesting and useful information, and I must say, I marvel at how you pull together so many articles on a weekly basis.

Cheers,
John Danakas
Director, Public Affairs, University of Manitoba


 
 
RE: EDITOR’s PICK: MICHEL AZIZA AND THE TOILET PAPER INCIDENT

June 1, 2010

Dear Editor,

I really enjoyed your recent “Pick”. The story of  perfect strangers coming to your aide via “unsolicited advise” truly rings the bell with me. I have experienced  a similar attitude amongst   people in Poland where I have visited some years ago during  the huge inflation and general hardship in the country. I was not familiar with the prices and the currency, which was printed in enormous denominations of thousands and  tens of thousands. Somehow I seemed to always  try to pay 20 000 zlotys for a newspaper and so on. I was invariably corrected and  gently reprimanded by the vendors who returned my “ big” bills and requested smaller payments.  I feel that it is the people who experience some kind of a challenge or a struggle themselves, who are most likely to look out for a total stranger among them.

Margaret Kellermann Mcculloch


 
 
June 1,2010

To the Editor,

The IDF  (Israeli Defense Force or Israeli Army) has a video  on U Tube explaining what's going on re; the floatilla , but U Tube wants to remove it by using
the excuse as not too many people are logging in.
Please let your readership know so many people will log in and  the IDF will be able to have its voice heard.   http://www.youtube.com/user/idfnadesk
 Ron Banjak, Israel


 
 
Re; Second Mameloshen Concert

June 1, 2010

To the Editor,

Hi Rhonda. Just a point of correction. In your review of the second Mameloshen concert, the accompanist for the Gray Academy students was Shirley Goltsman, not Shirley Brown. There was a mistake in the program but MC Kinsey Posen announced that error right away. Also, Jane Enkin and Richard Yaffe had wonderful accompaniment, especially  pianist. Michelle Gregoire.

Regards Sharon Love


 
 
Subject: Hello from Vancouver

May 27,

To the Editor,

Hi, I am a young Jewish Winnipeger entrepreneur, now living in Vancouver, but continue to follow your articles through your website.

We offer a very unique service that no one in canada is offering to help doctors help their patients. It is extremely innovative and worthy of an article. How would we go about doing this with you?

Jordan Rosenblatt, Vancouver


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • RBC Royal Bank
  • Fillmore Riley
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Winter's Collision Repair
  • Gray Academy
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • CHW
  • Cantor's Meats
  • JCFS
  • Esther and Sid Halpern Shana Tovah
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Booke & Partners
  • Sobey's
  • Commercial Pool
  • CDN Visa
  • Jack & Debbie Lipkin
  • Daniel Friedman and Rob Dalgliesh
  • Rady JCC
  • The Bob Silver Family
  • Carol and Barry McArton
  • Shindico
  • D'Arcy & Deacon LLP
  • Shinewald Family
  • Piston Ring
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • Kromar Printing
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Bob & Shirley Freeman
  • Protexia
  • Ixtapa Travel
  • Superlite
  • Brent Schacter Sora Ludwig
  • Dr Ted and Harriet Lyons
  • Amalgamated Drywall Systems Ltd.
  • Josef Ryan
  • Munroe Dental Centre
  • Chisick Family
  • Broadway Law Group
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • JCFS
  • Western Scrap Metals Inc.
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Jim Gauthier
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Stella's
  • Chochy's
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Lazar Family
  • Dr. Marshall Stitz
  • Michel and Danita Aziza and family
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Dimensions Insurance
  • HUB
  • Doheny Securities Limited
  • Orthodox Union
  • Allan Davies
  • City Sheet Metal
  • John Orlikow
  • Ross Eadie
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Miller's Super Valu Meats
  • Pitblado
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Erickson Motors
  • Canadian Magen David Adom
  • Bridges for Peace
  • Elaine and Bernie Lofchick & family
  • Cascade Financial Group
  • Sorrento's
  • Canadian Friends of Boys Town Jerusalem
  • East India Company
  • Nikos
  • Sean Fisher
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.