Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
April 20, 2010

Dear Ms. Spivak,

I kindly appreciate the article written by you in the Winnipeg Jewish Review where you provide broader information on Azerbaijan and Azerbaijani-Israeli relations. I hope for further co-operation with you and please, kindly accept this scarf as a gift from Azerbaijan.

Respectfully,
Farid Shafiyev, Ambassador of the Republic of Azerbaijan to Canada, Ottawa


 
 
Re: VOLCANIC ASH, TARARAM AND YOM HA’ATZMAUT - April 22, 2010

To the Editor,

We just wanted our Winnipeg friends to know about the whereabouts during Yom Ha’atzmaut of Tararam, the Israeli group that performed in Winnipeg at the JNF Gala last year.

In the midst of the volcanic ash when all the airports in Europe were closed, Tararam flew to Helsinki for a Yom Haatzmaut show for the Jewish community and diplomats from all over Europe (some of whom were stuck there due to the lack of flights.) TARARAM flew to Vienna when the airport in Helsinki was still closed and then it opened for a few hours only. They landed safely and the airport closed off the flights once again. It was a miracle that TARARAM got there. The ambassador and the consul both met them at the airport and applauded them. Quite amazing !

Cheryl Hechter, former Winnipegger and Marketing Director, TARARAM


 
 
April 19, 2010

To Rhonda,

Yasher Koach on a fantastic E-newsletter. I love reading about what's going on. Let's keep that "Next Generation" piece going! (the fact that its even a feature is impressive!)

Amy (Greenfeld) Dorsch

Editor’s response: We have two new articles in the Next Generation section , and there are more to come.


 
 
April 18, 2010 - Re: B’NAI BRITH NAME BY NAME-HOLOCAUST REMEMBRANCE

To The Editor,

Thank you for the piece on the NAME READING Event, sponsored by BNA'I BRITH CANADA at the Annual SHOAH observance week throughout Canada, By reading the actual names of those who were brutalized and than murdered en Masse. It's our obligation to remember those whom we loved and those who loved us, by sharing this difficult task with our community members and providing them with an opportunity to participate, we are in fact passing the torch to all who are willing to take on this responsibility for the future. I am forever grateful to all of the participants, I know that before long I and others like me won't be able to continue with this task which we consider our DUTY. Thanks so much for sharing it with your readers.

Barbara Goszer


 
 
April 16, 2010 - Re: TRICK OR TREAT: UNICEF APOLOGIZES AFTER LOGO APPEARS AS PALESTINIAN HATE AD

Superb Reporting!

Raymond Hall


 
 
April 16, 2010

To Rhonda,

I've been treating myself to reading your "paper" in greater depth. Truly, kol hakavod! Well-written and well-researched!

Audrey Shwartzfeld


 
 
April 15, 2010 - Letter from Ronald S. Lauder to President Obama

Dear President Obama:

I write today as a proud American and a proud Jew.

Jews around the world are concerned today. We are concerned about the nuclear ambitions of an Iranian regime that brags about its genocidal intentions against Israel. We are concerned that the Jewish state is being isolated and delegitimized.

Mr. President, we are concerned about the dramatic deterioration of diplomatic relations between the United States and Israel.

The Israeli housing bureaucracy made a poorly timed announcement and your Administration branded it an "insult." This diplomatic faux pas was over the fourth stage of a seven stage planning permission process - a plan to build homes years from now in a Jewish area of Jerusalem that under any peace agreement would remain an integral part of Israel.

Our concern grows to alarm as we consider some disturbing questions. Why does the thrust of this Administration's Middle East rhetoric seem to blame Israel for the lack of movement on peace talks? After all, it is the Palestinians, not Israel, who refuse to negotiate.

Israel has made unprecedented concessions. It has enacted the most far-reaching West Bank settlement moratorium in Israeli history.

Israel has publicly declared support for a two-state solution. Conversely, many Palestinians continue their refusal to even acknowledge Israel's right to exist.

The conflict's root cause has always been the Palestinian refusal to accept Israel as the nation state of the Jewish people. Every American President who has tried to broker a peace agreement has collided with that Palestinian intransigence, sooner or later. Recall President Clinton's anguish when his peace proposals were bluntly rejected by the Palestinians in 2000. Settlements were not the key issue then.

They are not the key issue now.

Another important question is this: what is the Administration's position on Israel's borders in any final status agreement? Ambiguity on this matter has provoked a wave of rumors and anxiety. Can it be true that America is no longer committed to a final status agreement that provides defensible borders for Israel? Is a new course being charted that would leave Israel with the indefensible borders that invited invasion prior to 1967?

There are significant moves from the Palestinian side to use those indefensible borders as the basis for a future unilateral declaration of independence. How would the United States respond to such a reckless course of action?

And what are America's strategic ambitions in the broader Middle East? The Administration's desire to improve relations with the Muslim world is well known. But is friction with Israel part of this new strategy? Is it assumed worsening relations with Israel can improve relations with Muslims?

History is clear on the matter: appeasement does not work. It can achieve the opposite of what is intended.

And what about the most dangerous player in the region? Shouldn't the United States remain focused on the single biggest threat that confronts the world today? That threat is a nuclear armed Iran. Israel is not only America's closest ally in the Middle East, it is the one most committed to this Administration's declared aim of ensuring Iran does not get nuclear weapons.

Mr. President, we embrace your sincerity in your quest to seek a lasting peace. But we urge you to take into consideration the concerns expressed above. Our great country and the tiny State of Israel have long shared the core values of freedom and democracy. It is a bond much treasured by the Jewish people. In that spirit I submit, most respectfully, that it is time to end our public feud with Israel and to confront the real challenges that we face together.

Yours sincerely,
Ronald S. Lauder, President, World Jewish Congress


 
 
April 6, 2010

Hi Rhonda,

I like your paper. I would be interested in receiving your paper!!

Ruth Riesenbach


 
 
Subject: Re: Mazel Tov, April 2, 2010

Hi Rhonda,

Mazel Tov on the Winnipeg Jewish Review! Good Work. Chag Sameach.

Ruth Laveman


 
 
Subject: Re: WJR and IAW articles, April 2, 2010

Hi Rhonda,

I enjoy reading your Review - keeps me connected and some good insights. I was especially interested in the stories about IAW at the universities last month. Keep it up!

Jacob Blumes


 
 
April, 2010

To the Editor,

Please invite your readers to the The Grant & Wilton Coffee House, Joy Diamond Band Concert, Saturday 7:30pm May 1,Doors open at 7:00pm, Tickets $10, Tel: 488-0207,across from Grant Park Shopping Centre (more parking up the ramp west of building) Bring friends & family for a coffee/tea, a munchie (included) and come for a casual evening of excellent music. For later, bring an instrument, a song, a voice, an ear, a smile, a joke for interactive jam session. The magic comes from everyone bringing their own spark - who knows how hot it will be!

Phil Spevack


 
 
March/April 2010

Hi Rhonda,

I have really enjoyed the first editions so far!

Harry Odwak


 
 
Subject: Re: Article on B'nai Brith and Jewish Heritage Centre Lecture on Fighting Anti-Semitism -The Battle at Old Market Square-1934

Hi Rhonda,

Wow! The piece is outstanding and accurately reflects the night. Thank you. Kudos on some fine writing!

Harry-Helmut Loewen, Professor of Sociology, University of Winnipeg


 
 
Subject: Re: Two State Solution

I AM AGAINST A TWO STATE SOLUTION BECAUSE THIS LAND IS MINE AND THERE IS NO PALESTINE. THE ARABS ARE IN MOST OF THE WORLD ALREADY.

Rose Ettelman, Israel


 
 
Subject: Regarding Judy Haiven comments In Support of Israel Apartheid Week (see her letter at bottom of this section)

Judy Haven stated the following: "Apartheid is not too strong a word to label Israel's mistreatment of Palestinians. Even former prime minister Ehud Barak calls it that."

This is not at all accurate. Ehud Barak speaking at a Conference north of Tel Aviv last February said " If there is only one political entity in this area it will eventually be either non-Jewish or non-democratic. If that bloc of millions of Palestinians vote, then there will be a bi-national state, and if they don’t vote, then there will be an apartheid state. Neither is the Zionist dream...

He was talking about the FUTURE status of Israel as ONE political entity (including Israel proper, Gaza, West Bank), not the PRESENT situation!

Palestinians do vote in the West Bank and Gaza. They voted for Hamas. They are not Israeli citizens so of course they can't vote in Israeli elections.

Mark Kittner


 
 
Subject: Winnipeg Jewish Review

I receive your news publication and am always thrilled with your reporting.

Eileen Monkman


 
 
Subject: March 11 Edition

I really like your Review. I find the articles both informative and interesting.

Mona Juravskky


 
 
Subject: Latest Edition

Looks great Rhonda!

Cindy Bass


 
 
Subject: Editorial on Israel Apartheid Week, March 11

Excellent article, Rhonda!

Belle Millo


 
 
Subject: Make it printable

Ms Spivak,

As much as I appreciate receiving your online publication, a printable version would be even more appreciated. It would make the Review available for Shabbos reading.

Rocky Kravetsky


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • TD Canada Trust
  • CHW
  • ClearCare Periodontal & Implant Centre
  • GTP
  • Imperial Soap
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Nick's Inn
  • Josef Ryan
  • Roseman Corp.
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • HUB
  • CDN Visa
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Pasquale (Charlie) Aiello
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Allan Davies
  • West Kildonan Auto Service
  • Kristina's Fine Greek Cuisine
  • Erickson Motors
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Grant Kurian Trucking
  • Nikos
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.