Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
RE: ANTS IN THE KITCHEN AND MISSILES OUT THE WINDOW

 November 13, 2011     rom Mobile

Wow, this is an excellent article, it made me smile yet & highlights the sad reality you have to live with. lecture at the University  This really is an excellent article. Well done and thank you for sending it. Stay safe all the best.

Kasim Kaz Hafeez

 

 


 
 
RE: The man with the voice - Moshe Shamir

November 14, 2011

Thanks for this........saw it posted on Facebook, too......I called Moshe & told him...he had no idea it was published!

 

I've e-mailed it to his son (I don't have a printer)....and his son can then fax the Shamirs a copy of the article.................

 

Well-deserved kudos - have known the Shamirs for well over 20 years!

 

Carmel

 

 


 
 
Re: Article about Netanya's Moshe Shamir

November 13, 2011

 

great story!

 

It is also amazing that this man who endured such trauma continues to be a blessing to others.

 

Richard Chaimberlin


 
 
Re: Current Edition of the Winnipeg Jewish Review

 October 28, 2011

 I enjoyed your news this week especially the new subscribers to  "The book
 of life" original stories of real life episodes. 

 Yours truly, Irene Morantz


 
 
RE ELLIOT LEVEN'S ARTICLE: MUSLIM PRAYER IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Dec 19, 2011

Dear Madam Editor:

I wish to comment on Elliot Leven's article regarding Muslim prayer in public schools. While I have no comment on the topic of the article, I do have some things to say concerning his comments about Orthodox Jewry. First of all, I would like you and your readers to know that I am definitely not Orthodox - I am very far from it. However, in recent years I have studied with several rabbis , Orthodox and non, in my quest to know more about Judaism and its "sects", laws and history.

I had always been under the impression that Orthodox women are treated as inferior to women. This misconception often stems from one of the daily prayers that thanks G-d for being born a man. However, this could not be further from the truth. While Orthodox women are treated differently than non-Orthodox women,particularly when it comes to laws concerning prayer and their place in the synagogue, they are considered queens. They are considered to be far superior to their husbands.
As far as Orthodoxy and homosexuality is concerned, the Orthodox movement of today is not blind. They know its existance seems to be growing as more people have become more open about their sexuality. The Orthodox condemn the sexual acts of the gay men, not the men themselves. And, as for lesbianism, it is not an issue at all - it is not "against" the tenets of Orthodoxy.
The information I have presented in this letter is all information that I have learned through my studies with Orthodox teachers. Perhaps if Mr. Leven took the time to do some learning and educate himself, he wouldn't condemn fastest growing arm of Judaism without knowing anything about it.
 

Terri Kushner, Winnipeg

 


 
 
RE: KRISTALNACHT COMMEMORATION: RE : KINDERSTRANSPORT

November 9, 2011
 
Dear Editor,

Following Vera Fast's presentation (as part of the community-wide Kristallnacht Commemoration) about the Kindertransport I would like to add:

1. Not much is mentioned and very little attention is given to the role of non-Jewish organizations in general and The British Quakers in particular in taking in Jewish European children saved from the Holocaust.

"This operation could never take place with out the Quakers support Monday 1st December marked the seventieth anniversary of the first train carrying Jewish children away from Nazi persecution to leave Berlin. Quakers, who played a key role in this evacuation, marked the anniversary with an event at Friends House in London, bringing together survivors and families who cared for the children. Quakers were involved at all stages in the Kinder-transport. In London they joined with Jewish delegates in persuading the government to relax immigration requirements, making it easier to evacuate people from Nazi Europe. Quakers accompanied children on the long journey to safety and many families and Quaker schools provided homes." http://www.kindertransport.org/resources.aspx?cat=9
You can read the Kindertransportees' stories here at www.quaker.org.uk/kinder

2. Its time to re-open the case and investigate again the role that the American  government of Franklin D Roosevelt played  during the late 30's  in saving Jewish European children. The issue of congress blocking proposed bills to admit 20,000 Jewish children under the age of 14 to the US remai a mystery to me to-date. So while praising the British Government for their  part in saving these children we should condemn and criticize  the  US in a louder voice then ever.

3. In contrary to the common notion Kristallnacht was not a random stand alone act of violence against Jews (it was later recognized as the beginning of the Holocaust) that ended with some 'broken windows'. Kristallnach was a government supported, sponsored  and organized nation wide pogrom. More then 1500 synagogues  and 7500 Jewish businesses were burned and vandalized. More then 600 Jewish people died and not 90 as usually reported! http://www.ashkenazhouse.org/vomrath.html

Eran Plotnick, Winipeg


 
 
RE:SPECIAL REPORT: REMAINS OF JEWISH POSSESSIONS IN KRISTALLNACHT FOUND IN DUMP THE SIZE OF FOUR FOOTBALL FIELDS IN KLANDORFF GERMANY

November 11, 2011

Amazing! This is the first I had ever heard of this. So many of the nazi crimes happened in areas that got taken over by the communists, including East Germany. For decades, the Soviets would not allow any kind of commemoration of the Shoah. For that reason, I presume, this remained a secret part of the past.

 Richard Chaimberlin

New York


 
 
Intern Work/Remains of Kristallnacht Found in Dump in Klandorff Germany

Date: Wed, 9 Nov 2011 10:05:03 -0600

 

 

Dear Winnipeg Jewish Review,
 
I just received an H-net email with the story about the Klandorff dump. I would be interested in doing research on this, but I am not sure what type of work you are looking to have done. Currently, I am living as a Fulbright student and researcher in Ludwigsburg, Germany. Next fall I will begin a PhD program in History at the University of Toronto. Do you know if any journalists or historians are planning a visit to Klandorff? It is a strong possibility that I could participate in such a project. I am deeply interested in this story, and I would like to help uncover further information in any way possible.
  
 Many thanks,
Chrissy Matzen

 
 
Re: REMAINS OF JEWISH POSSESSIONS FROM KRISTALLNACHT FOUND IN DUMP IN KLANDORFF GERMANY

 Nov  8, 2011

YOU FOR THIS ARTICLE AND BRINGING IT TO THE PUBLIC.  I STILL GET SO EMOTIONAL WHEN IT COMES TO KRISTALLNACHT.  CANNOT IMAGINE THE PAIN

THAT WAS FELT THAT DAY.  TOMORROW WHEN I ATTEND KRISTALLNACHT YOUR ARTICLE WILL BECOME ALIVE.

  BEST,

PHYLLIS NURGITZ


 
 
RE: ANTS IN THE KITCHEN AND MISSILES OUT THE WINDOW

November 8, 2011

I returned from a long weekend and just now got to read the Ashkelon article. Good job! people should hear as much as possible about the impossible situation here. It is sad that the government isn't making enough "publicity" to it and the world get to see most of the time only one side of this sad story.

I will forward your article to my friends abroad. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Naama

 


 
 
RE: FIRST HAND REPORT FROM ASHKELON: ANTS IN MY KITCHEN,MISSILES OUT MY WINDOW

Nov 2, 2011

This is a very humorous and real account of what happens in the south.  Those of us in the merkaz need to be reminded too of how life is being lived just a few km. away.

Danita Aziza


 
 
RE: ANTS IN THE KITCHEN AND MISSILES OUT THE WINDOW

6 Nov 2011

Dear Orly,

I both l.o.l and was chilled at your commentary/pictures.

Shashi Ishai


 
 
RE: ANTS IN THE KITCHEN AND MISSILES OUT THE WINDOW

4 Nov 2011

thank you orli for your very interesting and informative article. one does not understand it all until one is living in it. hope that all is well with you and wish you a shabbat shalom.

Thelma Calman


 
 
Re: VERY NICE

Nov 4, 2011

To Editor,
 
I appreciate your efforts, and your bulletin is very nice,
 
R Landowne


 
 
Re:: MLA HEATHER STEFANSON'S STATEMENT IN LEGISLATURE: RE SANDY AND

 Nov 6 2011
 
Hello,
 
 We would like your permission to repost the  MLA HEATHER STEFANSON'S STATEMENT IN LEGISLATURE: RE SANDY AND ROBERT SHINDLEMAN posted October 28, 2011 in PDF format on our Shindico Canada iPhone App. The PDF would include a link back to the articles location on the Winnipeg Jewish Review website. Please let me know if you will allow this.
 
 Thank you,
  
 Melody Plishka
 Marketing & Research Coordinator, www.shindico.com

Editors response: Yes! My pleasure


 
 
RE: The Book of Life

To the Editor,
 
Nov 1,

 I enjoyed your news this week especially the new subscribers to  "The book
 of life" original stories of real life episodes. 
 
Yours truly,
 
 Irene Marantz, Wpg


 
 
RE: Interesting Articles

Date: nov, 2 
 
Hi Rhonda,

 I read the articles in the Winnipeg Jewish Review.They are very interresting. The article Orli Avior  wrote for your newspaper, Ants in My Kitchen, Missiles out my Window, is really good.

 Maureen Goldstein,


 
 
Re: WHAT SHOULD CANADA DO ABOUT THE IRANIAN FINANCIER IN CANADA?

To the Editor,
 
Nov 2, 2011
 
This is great . I will post it everywhere.
 
 Sayah Hassan


 
 
FW: Shocking Reports of mass grave in Egyptian Sinai

November 3, 2011

To the Editor,

 Allow me to bring to your attention a heartbreaking and indescribable story of Eritrean and other refugees in Sinai. The poor refugees were mostly kidnapped from Sudan by Bedoiun smugglers and were held for ransom in Sinai deseret for months. The women were raped; they were tortured. Now they found a mass grave there. One could read their names written in Eritrean scrpit. Engraved in Tigrinia on the rocks inside the hideout caves are read names and wishes of the victims.

 Here is the coverage from CNN.

 http://www.cnn.com/2011/11/02/world/meast/egypt-refugees/index.html?iref=allsearch

 An Egyptian private TV channel 25online.tv in its recent program called Lahza-Bilahza/Minute by Minute has highlighted horrific televised scenes of bestial acts perpetrated by human traffickers in southern Sinai. The dugout graves of the victims show corpses with tied hands and legs and bowels gorge out for the sale of organs by Bedouin tribesmen who perpetrator such crimes. Found at the hideout caves in the Sinai desert region were belongings like ID cards and clothes of the victims, anaesthesia, glucose plastics, bullets and other items.

These crimes have been going on for over a year now. Leaders and members of a major Bedouin tribe in Sinai who managed to expose these crimes have led the TV crew to one single site of the crimes.


 Here is the graphic presentation (warning: graphic and disturbing images.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEtt33obUAY&feature=player_embedded

 The saddest thing is as we speak, HUNDREDS of Eritreans and other refugees are perishing in similar manner in other parts of Sinai.

All the best,

Ghezae Hagos

 

 

 

YouTube - Videos from this email


 
 
RE: B'Tselem's Camera Project Tours the USA!

November 2, 2011

Dear Editor,

 
        We are pleased to invite you a special presentation this month featuring Israeli and Palestinian activists from B’Tselem’s groundbreaking human rights video project, “Visual Impact: B’Tselem’s Camera Distribution Project.”
We are pleased to invite you to attend one of our public events in Los Angeles and Washington, DC.  We also invite you to join our live online chat on Friday, November 11th .  Please click here for more information.
B'Tselem's Camera Project, which began in 2007, has trained more than 200 Palestinians to use video cameras to record human rights abuses, collecting and archiving more than 2,500 hours of footage.  These powerful videos have raised public and media consciousness about human rights violations, aided in the promotion of accountability, and empowered communities and individuals.  Featuring B'Tselem staff and Palestinian Video Project volunteers, the presentations will model the use of video and citizen journalism as a platform for human rights advocacy.  Please click here to watch NBC's coverage of B'Tselem's Camera Distribution Project.
        The events will feature presentations by Yoav Gross, B'Tselem's Video Director, Awatif Aljadili and Arafat Amira, Camera Project participants from Gaza and the West Bank respectively.  Yoav recently spearheaded B'Tselem's collaboration with The Guardian  culminating in "Living in East Jerusalem," featuring video diaries  from four Palestinians and two Israelis.  Awatif, whose work with B’Tselem has been featured in both Ynet and the New York Times, studies filmmaking in London.  Arafat, one of the video project’s youngest participants, established the Ni’lin Media Group to record the weekly local demonstrations. They are quite an impressive team.
        Please join us on our US tour for an inspiring evening of film and human rights advocacy.  For updates (and Yoav's musings on life), follow B'Tselem and Yoav Gross on Twitter.  For more information about events, please contact [email protected] or 202-783-0629.

Sincerely,

 Uri Zaki

Director, B'Tselem USA


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • RBC Royal Bank
  • Fillmore Riley
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Winter's Collision Repair
  • Gray Academy
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • CHW
  • Cantor's Meats
  • JCFS
  • Esther and Sid Halpern Shana Tovah
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Booke & Partners
  • Sobey's
  • Commercial Pool
  • CDN Visa
  • Jack & Debbie Lipkin
  • Daniel Friedman and Rob Dalgliesh
  • Rady JCC
  • The Bob Silver Family
  • Carol and Barry McArton
  • Shindico
  • D'Arcy & Deacon LLP
  • Shinewald Family
  • Piston Ring
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • Kromar Printing
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Bob & Shirley Freeman
  • Protexia
  • Ixtapa Travel
  • Superlite
  • Brent Schacter Sora Ludwig
  • Dr Ted and Harriet Lyons
  • Amalgamated Drywall Systems Ltd.
  • Josef Ryan
  • Munroe Dental Centre
  • Chisick Family
  • Broadway Law Group
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • JCFS
  • Western Scrap Metals Inc.
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Jim Gauthier
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Stella's
  • Chochy's
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Lazar Family
  • Dr. Marshall Stitz
  • Michel and Danita Aziza and family
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Dimensions Insurance
  • HUB
  • Doheny Securities Limited
  • Orthodox Union
  • Allan Davies
  • City Sheet Metal
  • John Orlikow
  • Ross Eadie
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Miller's Super Valu Meats
  • Pitblado
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Erickson Motors
  • Canadian Magen David Adom
  • Bridges for Peace
  • Elaine and Bernie Lofchick & family
  • Cascade Financial Group
  • Sorrento's
  • Canadian Friends of Boys Town Jerusalem
  • East India Company
  • Nikos
  • Sean Fisher
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.