Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
The Knife Sharpener's Bell

To the Editor
 
July 24, 2010
Could you pass on my thanks to Sharon Chisvin for her thoughtful and considered review of my novel, The Knife Sharpener’s Bell? Thanks so much.

Rhea Tregebov
Assistant Professor
Creative Writing Program
University of British Columbia
Buch. E472, 604 822 4958
http://rheatregebov.ca


 
 
RE: LIVNI AND ABU ALLA TOGETHER

July 20, 2010 

To the editor,

Livni is using diplomatic duplicity. She can say that she wants a two-state solution b/c she knows very well from her prior negotiations that it is impossible to carve out 2 states with borders that will be acceptable to both Israelis and Arabs. Even if borders could be decided, the resulting outcome would be an administrative impracticality. So Livni can act the moderate role so she can get wider support for her run in the next election. Qurei is at least being more honest in asking for a "just solution" that is very vague. The reality is that there can't be 2 states, it just won't work. It's time to acknowledge that and work on a realistic solution that will enable Jews and Arabs to live together in peaceful coexistence in the Jewish state of Israel and the liberated Jewish territories. Livni is using diplomatic duplicity. She can say that she wants a two-state solution b/c she knows very well from her prior negotiations that it is impossible to carve out 2 states with borders that will be acceptable to both Israelis and Arabs. Even if borders could be decided, the resulting outcome would be an administrative impracticality. So Livni can act the moderate role so she can get wider support for her run in the next election. Qurei is at least being more honest in asking for a "just solution" that is very vague. The reality is that there can't be 2 states, it just won't work. It's time to acknowledge that and work on a realistic solution that will enable Jews and Arabs to live together in peaceful coexistence in the Jewish state of Israel and the liberated Jewish territories.

Israel Zwick


 
 
RE: LIVNI AND ABU ALLAH TOGETHER

July 20, 2010 

To the Editor,

RE: LIVNI AND ABU ALLAH TOGETHER This constant referral to "Palestinian" might raise the erroneous impression that at some time in the past the land of Israel contained a "Palestinian" entity. Let me correct this impression. There never was one. No Palestinian language, culture, king or parliament. Did you ever hear of the Palestinian pound The entity contending with the Jews over the ownership of the Land of Israel is simply a scion of the Arab Umma, already with 22 states and a land area as large as Canada.

Yuval Brandsetter MD


 
 
RE: LIVNI AND ABBU ALLA TOGETHER: TWO STATE SOLUTION

To the Editor,

It should be remembered that the so-called "two state solution" was an  invention of the Israeli left, not the Arabs. It was proposed in the  hope that "if we give them something they will love us." That's the  Israeli disease. It is one of the main tenets of Islam that wherever a  Muslim sets foot, that is henceforth part of Dar Islam -- the land of Islam. There is no room in the world for a Jewish land and, as Europeans are learning, for Christian land either. Islam is not a religion, it is a political conquest movement with Jihad at its core and there can be no such thing as Israel or a Jewish homeland. It's time for Jews to disabuse themselves of the idea that peace of any sort is attainable other than the peace of the dead. Is there a path to peace? Yes, through war and a decisive, non-negotiated victory.

Marshall Shapiro
Vineland, Ontario


 
 
RE: THANK YOU

To The Editor,

Thank you and keep sending me stuff. I’ll keep you posted on KGB gigs.

Timothy J.
Member of the band Aliza and The KGB, Winnipeg


 
 
RE: LINKS SECTION

To the Editor,

I saw on the following page of your site: http://www.winnipegjewishreview.com/links.cfm

I would like to recommend the addition of the site www.careerjet.co.il

Careerjet.co.il is a job search engine for Israel. In one simple search, Careerjet gives job seekers access to a huge selection of jobs that are sourced from various internet sites, saving the trouble of having to visit each site individually.

I hope that this site will interest you and can be included in your listings. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Arik Rubinstein

Editor’s response: We are in the process of  building our links section and welcome all suggestions form our readers. Please contact  [email protected]  with any suggestions you have for this section. Thank you.


 
 
Re: BLOGSPOT

To the Editor,

Take a look at the blogpost I put up today: blog.jonnycline.com. I would love to hear your comments.

Jonny Cline, Modi’in, Israel (former Shaliach to Winnipeg)


 
 
GREAT FRINGE PLAY

July 15, 2010

Dear Editor,

I just saw a great fringe play today. It is called Billy Stutter. (My cousin wrote it!)

Billy Stutter is your typical mute Irish boxer with a secret, living across the graveyard from the unrequited love of his life.  But when a handsome stranger blows into town to woo the fair Taliesin, will Billy finally have the courage to "speak up"...or are things about to get that much more Irish?
  
The remaining days for the fringe play are:
 
Friday, July 16th, 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, July 17th, 7:30 p.m.
Monday, July 19th, 2:30 p.m.
Friday, July 23rd, 11:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 24th,  12:00 p.m.
Venue:
Venue #1: MTC Mainstage, 174 Market Avenue (Entrance on John Hirsch Pl.)
 
Jonathon Fine


 
 
Re: BILL IN FRANCE TO FORBID FACE COVERING VEILS IN PUBLIC PLACES

July 14, 2011

To the Editor
 
Lawmakers in France vote Tuesday on a bill to forbid face-covering veils in all public places. Although I do believe that these women are being discriminated against by their religion to treat them in less than an equal fashion than males in their religions . It is wrong on the part of my State to tell any population how they must express their religion whether we agree with it or not. We must all have the human rights to express our religious beliefs as we wish as long as it does not cause harm or threaten the safety of other citizens.

Frances move express more of the fear of the French State of a few woman openly expressing there religious beliefs. Should Nuns wear what they wear  she Orthodox Jewish women wearing wigs as they do since most of their hair has been cut off. Its not up to the State, as former Prime Minister Trudeau once claimed the State has no business to go into the bedrooms of the nation. I would extent that to our Mosques, Churches or Synagogues.  SHAME ON YOU FRANCE!

Assoc.Professor Alan Levy BA, MIR,LLM
Human Resources,Labour Relations & Dispute Resolution
Department of Business Administration
Faculty of Arts
Brandon University


 
 
Re: Jon Voight

July 13, 2010

To the Editor,

Please tell your readers to check out  what actor Jon Voight  has to say about  President Obama and Israel:    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/jun/22/dear-mr-president-jon-voight/

Lena Garber
Former Winnipegger now in Toronto
Class of 1982, Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate


 
 
THE GREAT DEBATE ABOUT LIBBY DAVIES - 1948, APOLOGY, RESIGNATION, ANTI-SEMITISM?

July 8, 2010

Dear Editor

Following the arguments of Elliot Levin, and Rhonda Spivak about Libby Davis’ comments in an impromptu interview at a protest in Vancouver, (Winnipeg Jewish Review.com July 7/10) Mr. Levin in his rejoinder to Ms Spivak’s response, graciously, in my opinion, acknowledges the weakness of his own initial argument in the face of her strong response.  The exchanges between them are informative, a good exposition of the issues, and were good reading.

There is one fact about which I think some clarification is required before any real argument can be made regarding the inference of Davis’ remarks being uttered in front of Chapters.  Levin says:
“An amateur blogger with a camcorder accosted Davies during the course of the rally and asked her a series of questions about Israel.  The spot at which he stopped her happened to be in front of a Chapters branch.”

If, as is suggested, this was a moving protest, and the blogger just happened to stop her at that location, I think  no real significance, in terms of her possible anti-Semitic sentiments, can really be imputed.   

Bob Kopstein 


 
 
NEW TEXTBOOK FOR THE INTRODUCTION OF BIBLICAL HEBREW

July 7, 2010

Shalom,

Some of your readers would appreciate knowing about a new textbook for the introduction of Biblical Hebrew: .

Biblical Hebrew the Practical Way, by Rahel Halabe, is a text and workbook  that offers an innovative curriculum for the introduction of Biblical Hebrew. The program balances two major demands of an introductory language program: the reflection of the most frequently occurring lexical and grammatical example, with sequencing the material in a way that will allow for easier teaching and learning. Attention is given to presentation of the broad picture of how Biblical Hebrew behaves, as well as to imparting the most efficient and effective skills and tools which will allow students to access straight-forward Biblical texts early on.

Volume 1 (available now) presents the basic grammatical subjects not conditioned by the verb, as well as the prefix and suffix forms of the qal stem in all root groups.  75-100 class hours. Volume 2 (will be ready by the end of 2010) presents the infinitives, imperative, and participle of the qal stem and proceeds to introduce the remaining verb stems in all their forms and root groups. 25-50 class hours.

This text and workbook is meant for adult students (or those in the upper highschool grades).
It may be used in a class or for self study. It would make an excellent reference for the use of Judaic teachers.

For more details and orders please read:
http://www.hebrew-with-halabe.com/Biblical%20Hebrew/About%20Hinneh.htm

Todah Rabbah,

Rahel


 
 
Subject: Debate on Libby Davis

To the editor,

July 1, 2010,

Subject:  Debate on Libby Davis

I liked the article on Libby Davis.

Assoc Prof, Alan Levy, BA, MIR,LLM


 
 
Subject: Re Arabs in East Jerusalem Tell Me They Prefer Israel over the PA

To the Editor

July 1, 2010

Subject: Re Arabs in East Jerusalem Tell Me They Prefer Israel over the PA

I never understand such articles like this. Do all Jews want to live in Israel no many people like where they were born and want to live there ? There are Jews who live in Iran who want to continue to live in Iran.

There must be some argument to your piece. What is it? The recent Minister of Diversity in Israel just wrote a piece stating the Arabs of East Jerusalem are treated terribly by the State.

Assoc. Prof, Alan Levy, BA, MIR, LLM


 
 
Gilad Shalit Concert with Zubin Mehta 1

June 30, 2010
 
To the Editor,
 
We just received the email below from the American Friends of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra regarding the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra’s humanitarian concert to draw attention to the plight of Sgt. Gilad Schalit.  The concert, conducted by Zubin Mehta,  will be streamed live from the border of the Gaza Strip on www.ynet.co.il , Monday, July 5th at 10:30 AM (7:30 AM PT).

We would appreciate your publicizing this event and encouraging people to log on to stream this event in a show of solidarity.

Regards,

Joyce Ritter
Information Officer
Consulate General of Israel


 
 
Re: UNWRA/CANADA THE FALLOUT

June 29, 2010

To the Editor,

UNRWA should be defunded completely by non-arab nations. Why isn't the UN itself budgeting this phony entity? The number of so-called "refugeees" is far exaggerated and it is common knowledge that deaths are not reported so funding based on factual counts of the target population are skewed if not falsified. Of course if you were getting free handouts you would object to their cessation! The scandal of anti-Israel and anti-semitic texts in schools in the PA is not being addressed --at least they should be eliminated and revised texts implemented in the teaching programs. Only then will the world know that the Arabs in Gaza and Ramallah mean to accept peace with Israel and work toward some semblance of cooperation for the benefit of all among their younger generation..

A Ben-Dov


 
 
Re: HACKER UNLAWFULLY UNSUBSCRIBED ME

June 18, 2010

To the Editor,
 
I am so glad to learn that someone was responsible for unsubscribing me and that it happened to many people. I thought I had somehow done it myself and was horrified when I received your message that I had unsuccessfully unsubscribed.  I emailed back right away to tell you that this was a mistake and I wanted to receive your paper which I very much enjoy and learn from. I hope you catch the person who did this.

Diane Peters, [email protected]


 
 
Re: HACKER TRIES TO UNSUBSCRIBE

June 17, 2010

To the Editor,

Recently I got a message saying I was successfully unsubscribed from your list. I was really surprised to get it, because I sent no request asking to do so. Now I can see it's a hacker. OK, hopefully you'll find him. Please keep us, your readers, informed.

Good luck!

Anat Esterin, [email protected]


 
 
Re: Swastikas

June 17, 2010

To the Editor,

Have the ongoing swastika/graffiti incidents been covered in the local media?

Stacey Starkman
Communications Coordinator
Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center
902-5075 Yonge St. Toronto Ont. M2N 6C6

Editor’s response: To the best of my knowledge these incidents have not been covered by the local general media but I think they ought to be.


 
 
Re: INTERESTING AND NEWSWORTHY

June 17, 2010

To the Editor,

Hello Rhonda, thanks for including me into your subscribership, I read all of your articles and find them interesting and newsworthy, a very welcome addition to Winnipeg's Jewish development. I wish you continued success in your latest endeavour. We need more people like yourself -Smart, Capable and willing to take a chance.  A Kol Ha Kavod.

Barbara Goszer, Winnipeg


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • GTP
  • Jim Muir
  • Bruce Shefrin
  • Fair Service
  • Eddie's Gravel Supply Ltd.
  • Sveinson Construction
  • The Home Store
  • John Bucklaschuk
  • Tyler Bucklaschuk
  • John Wishnowski
  • Stringer Rentals & Power Products
  • JLS Construction
  • Roseman
  • Dakota Chiropractic Office
  • Holiday Inn
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Imperial Soap
  • Winnipeg Drapery
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Ingrid Bennett
  • Chochy's
  • Interlake Service
  • Hugh's Electric
  • Lakeside Roofing
  • KC Enterprises
  • Bulrushes Gallery
  • Gulay Plumbing
  • Trevor Arnason Plumbing
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Winnipeg Prophecy Conference
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Country Boy Restaurant
  • Total Lighting Sales
  • Shenanigan's On The Beach
  • Nikos
  • Sean Fisher
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Whytewold Emporium
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.