Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
Re: First Hand Report on AIPAC conference in Washington

May 30, 2011

Thank you so much. we have forwarded it to others we think will enjoy reading it. GOOD WORK!

Brian and Jeanne Pauls


 
 
Re: Contrast the 2 speeches

May 29, 2011

To the Editor,
 
Contrast  these two speeches: 
 
George W. Bush speech after capture of Saddam:

The success of yesterday's mission is a tribute to our men and women now serving in Iraq . The operation was based on the superb work ofintelligence analysts who found the dictator's footprints in a vast country. The operation was carried out with skill and precision by a brave fighting force. Our servicemen and women and our coalition allies have faced many dangers in the hunt for members of the fallen regime, and in their effort to bring hope and freedom to the Iraqi people. Their work continues, and so do the risks. Today, on behalf of the nation, I thank the members of our Armed Forces and I congratulate 'em.

Barack Obama speech after killing of bin Laden: 

And so shortly after taking office, I directed Leon Panetta, the director of the CIA, to make the killing or capture of bin Laden the top priority of our war against al Qaeda, even as we continued our broader efforts to disrupt, dismantle, and defeat his network. Then, last August, after years of painstaking work by our intelligence community, I was briefed on a possible lead to bin Laden. It was far from certain, and it took many months to run this thread to ground. I met repeatedly with my national security team as we developed more information about the possibility that we had located bin Laden hiding within a compound deep inside of Pakistan.  And finally, last week, I determined that we had enough intelligence to take action, and authorized an operation to get Osama bin Laden and bring him to justice. Today, at my direction, the United States launched a targeted operation against that compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan. 
 
Let's be clear on this: OBAMA did NOT kill Bin Laden. An American sailor, who Obama just a few weeks ago was debating on whether or not to PAY, did. 
In fact, if you remember a little less than two years ago, his administration actually charged and attempted to court-martial 3 Navy Seals from Seal Team Six, when a terrorist suspect they captured, complained they had punched him during the take down and bloodied his nose.  His administration further commented how brutal they were.  The left were calling them Nazi's and Baby Killers.

Now all of a sudden the very brave men they vilified, are now heroes when they make his administration look good in the eyes of the public.
Obama just happened to be the one in office when the CIA finally found Bin Laden. and our sailors took him out. Essentially, Obama only gave an answer. Yes or No, to him being taken out. This is NOT an Obama victory, but an AMERICAN victory!

- Col. S 
USMC (Ret.)
"Semper Fi"


 
 
RE:FIRST HAND REPORT FROM AIPAC CONFERENCE

 

Dear Rhonda Spivak,

Thanks so much for your fine report: It really puts the AIPAC conference in fine focus.

Best regards,

Paula Fredriksen


 
 
Prime Minster Harper’s strong G8 stance on Mideast welcomed

May 28, 2011
 
 TORONTO, May 27, 2011: B’nai Brith Canada has welcomed the efforts of Prime Minister Stephen Harper to ensure that the call of the G8 leaders for renewed peace negotiations between Israel and the Palestinians is not tied to any precondition relating to the 1967 borders.
 
“We welcome the fact that the G8 communiqué will reportedly not impose preconditions that could a priori prejudice the negotiating framework and thereby undermine at the outset crucial Israeli security needs,” stated Frank Dimant, CEO of B’nai Brith Canada. “Preconditions of this nature can only hamper negotiations and cannot ensure lasting peace between the parties.
 
“We are proud not just that our Prime Minster has taken such a principled position on the world stage, but that he evidently commands the respect of the G8 leaders who have accepted his recommendations on this issue.”
 
For more information, please contact Anita Bromberg, National Director of Legal Affairs, at (416) 315-9438.
 B’nai Brith Canada has been active in Canada since 1875 and in Winnipeg since 1909 as the Jewish community’s foremost human rights agency
 
http://www.bnaibrith.ca


 
 
Subject: Prime Minister Stephen Harper”s actions at G8-Keeping 1967 Lines out of Statement

May 28, 2011

To the Editor
 
God bless Canada and Prime Minister Stephen Harper. .
 
- Ariel Avior, Israel


 
 
Re: Sharon Home

May 28, 2011

As someone who has spent most of his career in Health Administration in Toronto, the recent complaints that have come from the public concerning the Sharon Home are very concerning. The Management of the Home needs to be transparent or the Community will only believe the worst-if the Home does not set the PR Agenda the Community will and they will assume the worst. The Board needs to ensure that the Management Team is managing the Home in the best interest of all patients.
 
This is a problem that should have been dealt with years ago. But in typical Winnipeg style our Community has discouraged anyone who has wanted to speak out. We are talking about our loved ones here. We are a Community that does not engage in debate. We need to bring common sense/ SAYKHEL to the many issues in our Community. We live in a world of pettiness and miss the major issues of concern. As we have become a wealthier community have we become so narcissistic and alienated from the needs of our own community? If so, shame on us!
 
Should the Sharon Home continue to not respond to the needs of families concerning questions of the quality of patient care, the Ministry of Health and the Health Authority must live up to their responsibility and mandate and audit of care.

- Prof / Mediator Alan Levy


 
 
Subject: The Israeli Heart.....

May 27, 2011 
 
QUITE A GOOD STORY; 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YBgUCX9gEs&feature=youtube_gdata_player
 
- Ivan Berkowitz, Winnipeg


 
 
Aish Connections 10 day business program

Dear Editor,
 
The release below might be of interest to you, especially after reading your recent article by Ashley Faintuch: “What I learned from my discussions re Israel on campus.”
 
As the trip is quickly approaching we appreciate your quick response to our request, kindly be in touch with any additional questions.

Best,
Sam Gras

Graduate unemployment findings released today:
Jewish organization provides solution
‘Enterprize’ - June 13-22, 2011, New York City
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
 
For media inquiries please contact:                                              
Sam Gras, Marketing Manager
212.921.9090 / [email protected]
 
 
New York, NY (May 20, 2011) This week, Rutgers University released a study ‘Unfulfilled Expectations: Recent College Graduates Struggle in a Troubled Economy’, revealing that only 53% of those who graduated between 2006-2010 hold full time jobs. As quoted on the front page of the New York Times today “Employment rates for new college graduates have fallen sharply in the last two years, as have starting salaries for those who can find work.”
 
Responding to the current employment challenges college students are facing, Aish Connections has created an initiative designed to help students enhance their employment potential. Jewish students from across North America are invited to join a 10 day business program, where they compete in a series of business challenges to win internships in New York City.
 
During the ten days, participating students get the exclusive opportunity to meet some of the most powerful Jewish executives and entrepreneurs in New York City, finding out the secrets to their successes, and perhaps most importantly, developing their networking skills and gaining practical business experience to kick-start their careers.
 
This year is the third year of the program, and internships confirmed for this year include:
-          Cantor Fitzgerald: Investment bank and brokerage business
-          G-III Apparel Group: Representing Calvin Klein, Guess, Levis and more
-          Iconix Brand Group: Owners of a diversified portfolio of fashion and home brands such as Zoo York, Rocawear , Badgley Mishka, Candies and more
-          The Economist: The leading source of analysis on international business and world affairs
-          Lawlor Media Group: A long established, highly-successful boutique Public Relations agency specializing in luxury lifestyle
 
At the low cost of $199 for all 10 days, the trip is heavily subsidized by Aish Connections to make it affordable for as many students as possible. The price covers all food, accommodations and activities.
 
Interested students need to apply online at www.aishconnections.com/enterprize by June 1, 2011.


 
 
Subject: Investigative Documentary Series: Sex Scandals & Religion Interactive Website

May 25, 2011 

Greetings,
 
You may be interested to know that a documentary series titled SEX SCANDALS IN RELIGION is currently airing on VisionTV in Canada (Mondays, May 9th to 30th at 10:30p on Vision TV).  This compelling, original documentary series takes an unprecedented look at controversial incidents in four mainstream faiths and their ensuing repercussions. Perhaps not comparable to the sheer volume in the Catholic Church, these cases present situations prevalent enough to merit exposure and censure.  The series is produced by the award winning Cogent/Benger Productions Inc.


Ep. 1: IN THE NAME OF THE AYATOLLAH
This episode focuses on chilling reports that the Mullahs of Iran used
the Holy Koran to authorize violent gang rape and sodomy.
http://www.earthbook.tv/religion/channelhome/channelhome/147/

Ep. 2: WALL OF SILENCE
Allegations of pedophilia shock two quiet and devout Orthodox Jewish
communities.
http://www.earthbook.tv/religion/channelhome/channelhome/149/

Ep. 3: IN THE NAME OF ENLIGHTENMENT Monday, May 23 at 10:30 pm ET
A Buddhist Master beloved by millions uses his position and authority
to take advantage of young women.
http://www.earthbook.tv/religion/channelhome/channelhome/148/

Ep. 4: IN THE NAME OF THE LORD Monday, May 30 at 10:30 pm ET
A charismatic preacher rallies against homosexuality while drawing
young fatherless men to his Flock with questionable intent.
http://www.earthbook.tv/religion/channelhome/channelhome/150/

If this subject is of interest to you, go to the interactive website to join the discussion and to contribute - your insights are of value, and can benefit others in dealing with this sensitive subject. You will also find extended interviews, and other resources on the site.  Full Episodes of the show will be available for site users in Canada, after the show has aired on VisionTV.  Visit the site regularly for updates: www.sexscandalsinreligion.com
Right now you can watch extended interviews, read the director's blogs and post your comments.  At the end of the month there will be an exclusive online discussion with the producers and directors of the show "The Making Of..." scheduled for May 31st. at 9:00 PM (ET).  As a website member, you can send questions and even participate in the discussion.  More details on the website. www.sexscandalsinreligion.com

Our goal is to have a broad community share their comments and thoughts on the show, resources for coping with instances of sex abuse and connect with others interested in this topic and the show.  The goal is to get people talking, sharing and finding solutions to solving the problem of  these cycles of abuse in our trusted spiritual organizations.

Please pass this information on to anyone you feel might benefit from seeing the show or joining the online discussion.

If you have questions or comments for the producers, go to the site: www.sexscandalsinreligion.com 

Sincerely,
Damali Kai Little-White
Earthbook - Community Manager
www.earthbook.tv
Canada: 647-990-3524
US: 305-433-7035


 
 
Subject: Re-What Happened to George Mitchell

May 21, 2011

To the Editor,
 
I almost went to this conference you were at  in August  2009 near Bethlehem out of curiosity, but couldn't because you had to come for 2 days or not at all and there was no secure transport for shorter spells, itself a revealing state of affairs.
 
THIS IS THE WAY IT IS. I BELIEVE THERE IS A MINORITY OF PALESTINIANS WHO WOULD ACCEPT GERSHON BASKIN'S  PLATFORM, BUT THEY WOULD DARE NOT ATTEND LEST THEY BE MARKED AND INTIMIDATED. WHAT SUSTAINS THIS ZERO SUM POSITION IS THE TIDAL WAVE OF JIHADIST GENOCIDAL ANTISEMITIC INCITEMENT.
 
Dr. Elihu Richter, Jerusalem


 
 
Subject: Re: What Happened to George Mitchell

May 25, 2011

To the Editor
 
All of those of us who support Israel are going to miss Mr. Mitchel's fair and balanced approach. Obama is representing his view of America's political interest in a new emerging Middle East.  We should not be naive about what the future path will be.

- Prof. Alan Levy, University of Brandon.


 
 
Subject: Does Obama want the Negev for a new Palestinian State?

May 23, 2011 

To the Editor,
 
Both at the State Department on May 19th and at AIPAC on May 22nd, President Obama spoke about Israel having borders with the new Palestinian State which in turn would have borders with Jordan and Egypt. But, remarkably there was no reference to an Israel border with Jordan and Egypt. By virtue of the 1979 treaty Egypt already has recognized an international border with Israel that runs south of the Gaza strip and then along Sinai, i.e. on the west side of the Negev. And by virtue of the 1994 treaty Jordan has already recognized an international border with Israel that runs down the Jordan River and then south along the east side of the Negev.  Does this mean that Obama wants us to believe that the Negev will be ceded to a new Palestinian State? If not, how could the same egregious "mistake" be included in both speeches?
 
Obama at the State Department on May 19th:
 
"So while the core issues of the conflict must be negotiated, the basis of those negotiations is clear:  a viable Palestine, a secure Israel.  The United States believes that negotiations should result in two states, with permanent Palestinian borders with Israel, Jordan, and Egypt, and permanent Israeli borders with Palestine."
 
Obama at AIPAC on May 22nd:
 
"I said that the United States believes that negotiations should result in two states, with permanent Palestinian borders with Israel, Jordan, and Egypt, and permanent Israeli borders with Palestine."
 

- Allen Z. Hertz
(86) 131 4395 7308
Shenzhen, China


 
 
Re- What happened to George Mitchell ?

May 24, 2011

This was excellent. Thanks for sharing.
 
Regards,
Rena Elbaze


 
 
Subject: I would love to meet you at AIPAC Policy Conference

Monday, May 23, 2011

Rhonda,

I just found out that you are at AIPAC Policy Conference.  I'm also at Policy conference and I would love to see you.  My cell phone won't call Canadian cell numbers, but it might receive and I can get emails to my blackberry.  Hope all is well with you.

Pam (Freedman) Cohen [daughter of Bob and Shirley Freedman, now living in Florida]


 
 
Subject: Impressed with Site-Middle East Satire

Sunday, May 22, 2011

Dear Editor,
 
I was most impressed with the Wpg J review - this is the first time I've seen it.
 
I was unable to find the editor's name, so I don't know if I'm writing to someone I know or not.
 
Here's a recent  humour piece i put up on ETNI, the Israeli English Teacher site, under the column Northern Explosure.
 
Maybe you can use it .
 
-  Barry Silverberg, Kiryat Shmona, Israel
 
 
UN declares Barbara Streisand”s Nose  to be a Mosque
                                     
/by Kleen X, staph reporter:
 
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) decided last week to re-label as an Islamic mosque the nose of Barbara Streisand,  one of Israel’s matriarchs, and demanded that Israel remove the nose from its current site.  UNESCO also said Israel had no right to call the nose of Barbara “Jewish” and that several hundred worshippers claim that they have been gathering for prayers inside this sacred spot for the past two hundred years. 
Ismail Haniakerchief, speaking on Short-Memri TV, affirmed once again his support for a treaty based on the idea  of two nostrils for two nations.
 
Israel responded on Wednesday by suspending all cooperation with UNESCO. Israeli Deputy Foreign Minister Danny Ayalon said the suspension will remain in place until UNESCO reverses its decision.  Meanwhile, the IDF has deployed several nasal vessels to monitor UNESCO headquarters, just in case terrorist supporters decide to launch another  snotilla in Israeli waters.
 
In a statement released last week, Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s office decried the ludicrous nature of the UNESCO decision:
“The attempt to detach the nose of Barbara is absurd. If the nose that graced many of the great Patriarchs and Matriarchs of the Jewish Nation  Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Sarah, Rebecca, Rachel and Leah  is not part of its culture and tradition, then what is a national cultural site?”

As for President Obama's recent demand that the nose be returned to its 1967 proportions, Netanyahu responded that such an act would cause irreparable damage to what the world recognizes as an essentially Jewish monument. 
 
Items like the Dead Sea scrolls, Matsah,and the entire city of Jerusalem  present an inconvenient truth for the pro-Palestine movement and its supporters, who want to claim that the Jews have no historic ties to this land --or to anything else.  Already, Palestinian movie houses have changed the credits on all Woody Allen movies to Wadi Allah, and Lady Gaga has been repackaged as “Um L Ghazza.” 

Once again, the UN has shown itself to be anything but an impartial broker by ignoring historical evidence and embracing anti Semitic revisionism.  “If the UN had it,s way, quipped one pundit recently, the Jewish people wouldn’t even have ties to their own suits.”
 
 
Barry Silverberg,
Good Fences, Kiriat Shmona May, 2011


 
 
Re: WJR

May 15, 2011

To the Editor,
 
 
I have been receiving the on – line edition for a couple of months. Great idea!
 
 
Jerry Tollinsky
National Executive Director
Canadian Friends of
Boys Town Jerusalem
Kiryat Noar Yerushalayim, Toronto


 
 
Re: Jewish National Fund

May 12, 2011
 
To the Editor
 
JNF saved the Amazonas Forests in Brazil from extinction. Brazil never forgot and paid Israel back when the Southern America countries tried to boycott Israel. Brazil used her VETO.
 
A Goldberg


 
 
Subject: Excellent on-Line Newspaper

May 17, 2011

Dear Winnipeg Jewish Review,

Over the past number of months, I have become a regular reader of your excellent online newspaper. Now that I have finished classes for the year and find myself with some free time on my hands, it occurred to me that I could actually contribute to your newspaper.

Fresh on the heels of the ongoing "democratic revolutions" in the Arab world, I am interested in writing a piece on the potential for successful democracy in the region, with a special focus on Iraq,which was of course touted as a "model democracy" for the Arab world following the American invasion and state-building. I have just completed my first year at the University of Toronto studying International Relations and Middle Eastern Studies, giving me the necessary background for a solid analysis of the issue.

If this proposal seems reasonable, send me an email and I will begin work on the article immediately.

Thank you,
Aidan Fishman


 
 
RE: RABBI BRYKS-ALLEGATIONS OF SEXUAL ABUSE AGAINST CHILDREN-NEW DOCUMENTARY

To the Editor,
 
May 12, 2011
 
Rhonda,
We read with great interest the article in The Winnipeg Jewish Review about Rabbi Ephraim Bryks. We lived in Winnipeg at the time and had family members who were affected. It was devastating to many of the children and to the families who were his alleged victims. In addition, very troubling were actions taken by Rabbi Bryks defenders, board members, and lawyers, who threatened lawsuits if complaints were voiced.
Even if Rabbi Bryks has not been charged, your reviewing and highlighting the history of his infamous career allows justice to be served.
 
Carole & Chuck Faiman
Cleveland, Ohio


 
 
Subject: Re: Re Holocaust scroll THANK YOU

May 5, 2011

Hi Rhonda
 
I am very pleased with the article you wrote.
 
Thank you very much.
 
- Irma Penn


 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • TD Canada Trust
  • CHW
  • ClearCare Periodontal & Implant Centre
  • GTP
  • Imperial Soap
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Nick's Inn
  • Josef Ryan
  • Roseman Corp.
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • HUB
  • CDN Visa
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Pasquale (Charlie) Aiello
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Allan Davies
  • West Kildonan Auto Service
  • Kristina's Fine Greek Cuisine
  • Erickson Motors
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Grant Kurian Trucking
  • Nikos
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.