Winnipeg Jewish Review  
Site Search:
Home  |  Archives  |  Contact Us
 
Features Local Israel Next Generation Arts/Op-Eds Editorial/Letters Links Obituary/In Memoriam
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |
Editorial/Letters

The editor would be pleased to receive your emails at [email protected]
 
 
RE: UP CLOSE WITH A TERRORIST AND AN ACCOUNTANT

Great story! I have met Hezbollah members in different venues [Editor;s note: in his work with the UN acting as a mediator]. They should never be underestimated.

Take Care,

Alan Levy,

 
 
 
Assoc.Professor Alan Levy BA, MIR,LLM
Human Resources,Labour Relations & Dispute Resolution
Department of Business Administration
Faculty of Arts
Brandon University
International Graduate Program in Conflict Resolution and Mediation
Tel Aviv University, Ramat Aviv, Israel

 
 
AIPAC SALUTES PRESIDENT OBAMA’S HISTORIC TRIP TO ISRAEL

March 22, 2013

 

 

AIPAC SALUTES PRESIDENT OBAMA’S HISTORIC TRIP TO ISRAEL

WASHINGTON — AIPAC salutes President Obama’s historic trip to Israel which reaffirmed the unbreakable bonds and deep affection between these two key allies. We appreciate that the President went to the Jewish state as the first foreign trip of his second term. President Obama’s trip demonstrated not only the enduring strength of the relationship but Israel’s critical importance as a strategic partner in an unstable region.

President Obama made clear America’s unwavering commitment to Israel’s security. As President Obama stated upon his arrival in Israel, "the United States of America stands with the State of Israel because it is in our fundamental national security interest to stand with Israel. It makes us both stronger. It makes us both more prosperous. And it makes the world a better place."

Most importantly, President Obama sent the strong message in Israel to Tehran that his Administration is committed to preventing the Iranian regime from obtaining a nuclear weapon. The President further pledged to continue critical funding for the Iron Dome program, to preserve Israel's qualitative military edge and to work to extend the U.S.-Israel military aid to Israel beyond 2017. The President called for the resumption of direct talks between the Israelis and Palestinians without preconditions, with the objective of two states for two peoples -- including Palestinian recognition of Israel as a Jewish State.

President Obama’s trip not only unambiguously reaffirmed the solidarity between the US and Israeli governments, but reinforced the profound closeness of the American and Israeli people who share the ideals of freedom and liberty. That is why the President stated that the alliance is "eternal, it is forever."


Consistently ranked as the most influential foreign policy lobbying organization on Capitol Hill, AIPAC is a bipartisan American membership organization that seeks to strengthen the relationship between the United States and Israel. For more than 50 years, AIPAC has been working with Congress to build a strong, vibrant relationship between the U.S. and Israel. With more than 100,000 members across the United States, AIPAC works throughout the country to improve and strengthen that relationship by supporting U.S.-Israel military, economic, scientific and cultural cooperation.


 
 
On the Persian New Year, Kirk, Cotler, issue statement in defense of human rights in Iran
Picture of irwin.cotler.c1@parl.gc.ca
 

 
 
From: [email protected]This sender is in your safe list.
Sent: March-21-13 12:46:31 PM
To: [email protected]
 
 

Co-Chairs of Inter-Parliamentary Group Call on Iran to Uphold International Obligations, Release its Political Prisoners

On the Persian New Year, Kirk, Cotler, issue statement in defense of human rights in Iran

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Mark Kirk (US), Hon. Irwin Cotler (CA), Co-Chairs of the Inter-Parliamentary Group for Human Rights in Iran, today released the following statement on Nowruz, the Persian New Year.

“Nowruz carries a message of peace and offers people around the world hope for a better future. Yet, for many in Iran - religious and ethnic minorities, women, journalists, artists, activists and human rights defenders - the opportunity for renewal and hope is denied due to the widespread and systematic assault on the fundamental rights of the Iranian people – constitutive of crimes against humanity - at the hands of Ahmadinejad’s repressive regime.

“Iranian officials silence those who seek to exercise their freedom of expression, thought, conscience and religion through persecution, torture and imprisonment. While religious minorities are particularly targeted by repressive tactics, members of the Baha’i faith are routinely the subjects of persecution and prosecution – its leaders and educators imprisoned and demonized.

“Iranian political prisoners such as women’s rights leader Nasrin Sotoudeh, American-Iranian Pastor Saeed Abedini, Canadian-Iranian web programmer Saeed Malekpour, and political opposition leaders Mehdi Karroubi and Mir Hossein Mousavi remind us of the Iranian regime’s repression. No matter how hard the regime tries to silence these voices, it cannot succeed so long as freedom-loving people around the world plead their case and cause.

“We stand in solidarity with all those courageous Iranians who have stood up to the regime to demand basic freedoms. In the New Year, we extend our warmest wishes to all those celebrating, and we call on the Government of Iran to uphold its international obligations, cease and desist from its massive domestic repression, and immediately and unconditionally release all political prisoners.”

Background:

The Inter-Parliamentary Group for Human Rights in Iran, formed by co-chairs Kirk and Cotler in September 2011, works to combat the Iranian Government’s widespread and systemic violations of human rights and includes an international consortium of parliamentarians from around the world. Its work includes the Global Iranian Political Prisoner Advocacy Program, an initiative pairing Members of Congress and Parliamentarians from around the world with Iranian political prisoners and dissidents whose case and cause they plead.


 
 
Looking for Bar/Bat Mitzvah boys and girls videos, sharing their experiences of how young people can do good things for others.

March 15, 2013

Dear Rhonda Spivak, Editor,

Looking for Bar/Bat Mitzvah boys and girls videos, sharing their experiences of how young people can do good things for others.


For Immediate Release
Mazeltov.com Announces the 2013 Bar/Bat Mitzvah Video Contest
"What It Means To Me!'?
Los Angeles, CA: Mazeltov.com, the new, social-event website to congratulate, celebrate, and share all of life's happy occasions, is asking upcoming Bar/Bat Mitzvah boys and girls to create and upload a short video that expresses what the occasion means to them. We are encouraging participants to be creative, sentimental or humorous, focusing on the "Mitzvah" part of the celebration and tell us what causes they will fund with their gifts.
Bar/Bat Mitzvah program is a spiritual and religious experience connecting the child and family to god, the Jewish people and to each other. Students and parents strive to be nurturing, caring, kind and considerate. As part of Bar/Bat Mitzvah and becoming man/woman is the teaching of contribution to Tzedakah in honor of "simcha" joy. "Whosoever practices Tzedakah finds life, prosperity and honor."“Talmud.
All members of Mazeltov.com are eligible to vote for their favorite video. A panel of community judges will then choose three winners from the top ten videos with the highest number of votes.
First prize is a Round-trip ticket on El Al Airlines to Israel (from Los Angeles or New York City) or $1,000; Second prize is an Israel Mazel Tov Bond of $500 or $500; Third prize is 25 Trees planted in Israel in your name or $250. The winners will also be showcased on our homepage as well as be submitted to the Museum of Jewish Heritage in New York to become a permanent record.
Please visit http://www.mazeltov.com/Contest for complete contest rules and details.
Invite your friends and family on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to the Mazeltov.com community to vote. Contest submissions will be accepted from March 1, 2013 until 11:59 p.m.(PST), September 30, 2013. The top 3 winners will be announced for Chanukkah, on November 27, 2013.
About Mazeltov.com Mazeltov.com is a social-event website to congratulate, celebrate, and share all of life's happy occasions. Please visit http://www.mazeltov.com - find mazeltov.com on Facebook www.facebook.com/mazeltovdotcom or write us [email protected]
###
Contact:
Yehuda Ben Hanan
[email protected]
Phone: (818) 275-2218
5737 Kanan Road # 181
Agoura Hills, CA 91301
mazeltov.com


 
 
Re: Burst the Israel Apartheid Week Bubble - Buy Soda Stream Products
Are there going to be any Pro Israel supporters with signs showing up at front of the Bay to counter the anti Israel protesters? If not, Why not? The public needs to know the other side to this conflict
 

 

Mark Kittner


 
 
Floral Fruit Arrangements

Are you aware that floral fruit arrangements are considered non kosher. I tried to take one arrangement, (sent by a relative in the U.S) to the Sharon home and was told that it was not kosher and they would not put it in their fridge. The reason they gave was that the knife that cut the fruit might not be kosher.


Bernard G. Sucharov

 
 
Re: Burst the Israel Apartheid Week Bubble - Buy Soda Stream Products

 

March 15, 2013

HI WJR


are you familiar with the book by Barry Shaw entitled: ISRAEL - Reclaiming the Narrative?
the first chapter is great. it's called: If You're Going to Boycott Israel - Do It Properly!

the chapter goes on to list all the things that have been developed in Israel that true boycotters should stop using.
to name a few:
most Windows operating systems
Intel processors
email
voice mail
text messaging
call waiting
cell phone technology
eBay technology
Altair chipset - interactive games, downloading video and mp3 files
personal security systems
a multitude of generic medications
medical testing
agricultural techniques

the list goes on - and this was written already a few years ago.

these developments may not have been located in Judea and Samaria, but when you consider the country is so tiny - you will realize that even if the actual location of the product development is not in Judea and Samaria, likely the residents of those areas would be part of the production process. so for the boycott to be complete, the boycotters cannot ignore the salaries going to Judea and Samaria from those products.

i am sure you are familiar with the work done by StandWithUs. they have a lot of good information and material. unfortunately they also have questionable opinions, so you have to be selective.

good luck with your anti-boycott,

Aliza Karp


 
 
Re: Burst the Israel Apartheid Week Bubble - Buy Soda Stream Products

And then I read this and am reminded why Israel is called an Apartheid State, despite my constant wishes to reframe and look to solutions that are not name-calling-based or polarizing. I want one Israeli apologist to read this and tell me what they feel when they read it. Don't mention how lousy are the Arab regimes in comparison, or reframe along sophisticated hasbarah lines, just simply empathize as a human with these workers. Then tell me if you will still be donating to the Jewish National Fund or the Combined Jewish Appeal with funds to keep supporting this.

From: HudBayWatch

       watchinghudbaygmail.com


 
 
Rosh Hodesh Women's Group

Dear Friends,

I'm so excited about our Rosh Chodesh program, Monday, March 11!

Some of us were born here, and have the stories of mothers or grandmothers who came to Winnipeg, others have lived here for years, and some are recent arrivals, just now making the city their home. We'll have the opportunity to listen and learn together.

Among those who plan to come and share their stories of immigration are

Mateja Carevic who works with the Immigrant Women's Association of Manitoba

social work student Vivian Gutstadt

and
Carina Blumgrund of Newcomer Services at Jewish Child and Family Service.

This week I'm reading my grandmother's memoir, so I hope to have a story to tell from her experiences.

I'm looking forward to a beautiful evening with everyone.

blessings,
Jane Enkin


Rosh Chodesh Women's Group

Shaarey Zedek Synagogue

561 Wellington Crescent, Winnipeg, MB

Doors open 6:45 pm for snacks and conversation, Program starts at 7 pm

Leaving Home, Making a Home: Immigration in Our Own Lives and the Lives of Our Mothers
Monday, March 11


In Nisan, we celebrate going out of Egypt. Our Rosh Chodesh gathering will be a time to share our own heritage of going out of “The Old Country.” How did you come to be in Winnipeg? What legacies do you have from your mother and your grandmothers? New immigrants to Canada will tell their stories and spark our memories and conversation.

Upcoming Rosh Chodesh women's group programs:

Tuesday April 9 The Joy of Movement

Thursday, May 9 The Colours of Judaism with Kedma Cantor

Saturday, June 9 Rosh Chodesh Shabbat program for men and women, hosted by Jane Enkin and Justin Jaron Lewis


 
 
Software Could Help Discover Next Piano Prodigy

For immediate Release: March 6, 2013 11:00 AM

Software could help discover next piano prodigy
School Celebrates New Technology for Teaching Piano
The Ohr HaEmet School will be hosting a demonstration of its music curriculum utilizing the Colorkeys software program On Thursday March 7th at 11:00 AM

Colorkeys utilizes unique made in canada technology to bring down the cost of piano lessons from $30 per hour to $30 per year per student.

"The software and hardware(keyboards) allow us to implement differentiated learning. Teachers can monitor students progress and piano lesson happen in complete silence" said Principal Sarah Wasserman who spoke in glowing terms about how the use of technology at her school.

Traditional piano lessons at $30 to $40 per hour are out of range for many parents. Colorkeys changes the game by allowing schools to introduce keyboard lessons in the classroom at a fraction of the cost per student.

 
Instruments and maintenance of same is very expensive for school boards. One GTA school board recently spent close to $20,000 tuning 50 pianos. Colorkeys reduces costs and increases student access.
 
During the demonstration up to twenty students will be able to take piano lessons all at once in the same room. Unlike the traditional music room, onlookers will only be able to hear the gentle tapping of fingers on keyboards.

Ralph Alter, Director of Operations and Managing Partner at Colorkeys stated "Our goal is to make instrumental music accessible to as many students as possible. Our solution means that schools and school boards can meet their curriculum requirements in a cost effective way."

"Students whose parents could never afford a piano lessons can now have access to an instrument that opens up a world of music. Who knows maybe we'll find the next piano prodigy."

Toronto Catholic District School Board recently awarded Colorkeys the as the sole successful bidder to introduce the technology. Currently 41 schools use the Colorkeys software, ncluding five in the Toronto Catholic District School Board.


 
 
Postal Workers distort union mandate in anti-Israel tirade
Toronto, March 6 2012 – B’nai Brith Canada has called the latest tirade of the Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW) against the Jewish state a distortion of the union’s core mandate. In its March newsletter, CUPW accused Israel of a list of alleged misdeeds, while berating the government of Canada for its ongoing support of its ally and sister democracy.

Frank Dimant, CEO of B’nai Brith Canada, commented: “We have watched with dismay as the union for this Crown Corporation has insinuated a dogged anti-Israel slant into its agenda. Whether it is the union’s calls for boycotts of Israeli products or sending postal carriers to protest in Judea and Samaria and attend anti-Israel conferences oversees, CUPW has completely failed to set an unbiased agenda for its members. If CUPW is going to divert resources away from domestic issues of concern to union members, where is its voice on such issues as the mass slaughter of civilians in places like Syria?

“It is a distortion of the CUPW core mandate to use union resources in this fashion to demonize and delegitimize the Jewish state, while ignoring real human rights violations across the globe.”

-30-
 
 
For more information please contact: Sam Eskenasi, Communications Officer at (647) 780-8490 or [email protected]
 
B’nai Brith Canada has been active in Canada since 1875 as the Jewish community’s foremost human rights agency.
 
 


 
 
Re Obama Visit to Israel -Middle East
Dear Editor,
 
It finally dawned on me. In Canada (and the rest of the Western world) shooting conflicts between Israelis and Palestinians always receive more ink than when Arabs shoot at one another. Even when the number of casualties is only a fraction of the 70,000 dead suffered in Syria, the front page is always reserved for events involving Israelis.
 
Why?
 
The mainstream Western media in its wisdom has decided that Jews should always be prepared to turn the other cheek. End of story. (Or is it?) To attach blaim to one of the groups of participants in Islamic- only-conflicts is more difficult and rather pointless. They don't care.
 
Unfortunately this is another puzzle. How did we ever conclude that those who embrace a death cult are always the victims when Israel is involved?
 
Another strange situation is how our political left seems to be in lock-step with the media. (Or is it the other way around?) Is it time for us to lift the veil, show them what role women have been alotted in the Islamic world? Their idiology for domestic consumption, such as 'equal opportunity', peacekeeping only for Canadas military and 'let's-not-profit-from-our-resources' seems solidly on hold when they are holding hands with their Islamic brothers. Why that should not be hypocritical is beyond me.
 
The above was written after I learned that President Obama on his visit to Israel may climb the Temple Mount. However, no Israeli would be permitted to accompany him!
 
Way to go, guys! In your warped minds that should be a good first step to everlasting peace!... Hopefully Bibi sees it my way!
 
Ziggy Eckardt
195 Hythe Ave., N.
Burnaby, BC
V5B 1G3

 
 
Jewish Alcoholics and Addicts

I am a South African Jew who lives in Johannesburg.
articles irrelevant.

What did interest me was the article on the number of Jewish alcoholics
and  prescription addicts in Winnipeg. I thought this rather strange as
I had always believed that the socio-economic climate in Canada was a
lot healthier than here. Many people my wife and I knew personally
"relocated" to Canada, mainly to Toronto

I remember the case of Professor Deborah Lipstadt and David Irving.
Unfortunately these people do abound. My own stepfather spent 4 years in
a German concentration camp. The only reason he survived was that he was
a blacksmith and useful to the Nazis. Unfortunately his wife and 5,
including twin sons, children perished in the Holocaust.

What is amazing is the number of people who still believe that this was
a Jewish invention. Just read Lord Russel of Liverpool's "Scourge of the
Swastika".

We stopped asking him about his experiences because it simply produced
nightmares

Regards,

Michael London
Johannesburg


 
 
RE: SPECIAL REPORT FROM JERICHO AND ATTEMPT TO BOYCOTT AHAVA PRODUCTS
 

I am Canadian – living in Ontario- A year ago I was taken by a Yerushalmi guide to dine in a local Jericho restaurant. I got the feeling I was in an independant city state with far less government oppression than I feel in Ontario. I spoke with quite a few people & other than being peaceful hard working non-political citizens the main cultural norm they all seemed to have was hatred of Jews!

Saul Estrin


 
 
Re: Federal Goct's Launch of Office of Religious Freedom

February 19, 2013

The Centre Commends the Federal Government on the Launch of the Office of Religious Freedom

Toronto, ON – Today, the Government of Canada announced the establishment of the Office of Religious Freedom. The Office, which will be an arm of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT), was developed following significant consultations with various faith communities – including Canada’s Jewish community via the Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs.

In response to today’s announcement, David Koschitzky, Chair of the Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs, issued the following statement:

“We commend the federal government for this important initiative, which is in keeping with Canada's best traditions of advancing human rights abroad. As history has painfully shown, a given country’s treatment of religious minorities is a barometer of its human rights record as a whole.

“Today, millions around the world are repressed, assaulted, imprisoned, and even executed simply for their faith. The hatred that motivates such abuses has likewise fueled horrific conflicts, perhaps most notoriously in Darfur.

“Having benefited from freedoms earned by previous generations, as Canadians we have a duty to speak up for those who face persecution for their religious beliefs. We look forward to working with the new Office of Religious Freedom and Canadians of all backgrounds in support of this urgent and noble cause.”


 
 
Re Opening of Federal Office of Religious Freedom

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Toronto, February 19, 2013

B'nai Brith Canada has applauded the government for establishing the new 'Office of Religious Freedom'. The Jewish human rights organization, which has been championing the rights of religious minorities in Canada and abroad for years, stressed that this long-awaited project is a chance for Canada to display moral leadership around the world.

 

Frank Dimant, CEO of B’nai Brith Canada, commented:

“The opening of the Office of Religious Freedom is a positive step forward in helping to secure fundamental freedoms across the globe and we were pleased to be part of the original consultation process. Canada has an obligation to display moral leadership and do its part to protect vulnerable communities around the world. Today’s announcement, widely anticipated across religious communities in Canada, will hopefully be the first step in a series of important initiatives by the Office to further the rights of religious minorities.

"Whether it is the persecution of Christians or Ahmadiyya Muslims or protection for at risk Jewish communities in various countries around the world, Canada can be a leading voice. When you protect the rights of religious minorities you make real strides towards protection of the rights of all.

"We welcome the appointment of Dr. Andrew Bennett and congratulate him on his new role. We trust he will be ready to meet the challenges ahead.”


 
 
REPORT FROM JERICHO-WHY SHOULD ANYONE IN THE WEST BOYCOTT AHAVA PRODUCTS WHEN PALESTINIANS IN JERICHO ARE SELLING THEM?

 

BRAVO!!!!

Assoc.Professor Alan Levy BA, MIR,LLM
Human Resources,Labour Relations & Dispute Resolution
Department of Business Administration
Faculty of Arts
Brandon University

 


 
 
REPORT FROM JERICHO-WHY SHOULD ANYONE IN THE WEST BOYCOTT AHAVA PRODUCTS WHEN PALESTINIANS IN JERICHO ARE SELLING THEM?

 

BRAVO!!!!

Assoc.Professor Alan Levy BA, MIR,LLM
Human Resources,Labour Relations & Dispute Resolution
Department of Business Administration
Faculty of Arts
Brandon University

 


 
 
Enjoy Reading Winnipeg Jewish Review especially Roytenberg

I enjoy reading the review, especially since my wife Annette (Bush) and I left Winnipeg in 1957 for Israel, for six months at Kibbutz Hazoraya and a 18 months at Moshav Orot. We returned to Winnipeg in 1959 for 3 years to finish my studies Ms. in agriculture and 3 years at Iowa state university for a PhD. We subsequently moved to Ontario where my career in plant breeding kept us into retirement.

Winnipeg never leaves one's heart. We enjoy the Review especially Max Roytenberg's contributions..I knew him well.

Thank you for your contribution to the Review from all of us expatriates.


 
Annette and Hershel Teich, 1455 Pope St. Windsor Ontario

 
 
RE RIVER HEIGHTS RESIDENTS ASSOCIATION
Dear Friends, Neighbours and Residents of River Heights!
 
This is a reminder notice regarding our upcoming meeting on: February 19th, 2013 at 7:00 pm at the Asper Community Campus (123 Doncaster St) in the Berney Theatre Foyer.
 
Speaker: Michael Robinson, City Planner – River Heights Area, City of Winnipeg.
 
Our area elected officials (Joyce Bateman, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South Centre, Jon Gerrard, Member of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba and John Orlikow, City of Winnipeg Councillor for River Heights / Fort Garry) will also be in attendance.
 
Please see attached re: Developer Open House for the “Major Redevelopmentâ€쳌 proposed 1000 Taylor Avenue development.
 
Thank you for helping to grow the RHRA! In the short time we have been in existence since October 4th, 2012, we have become known in the community through our continued media presence, word of mouth and by people such as yourselves! Our communication team has worked hard to increase our visibility and we are grateful to those of you who have devoted much time and energy growing our organization; but we still have much work to do!
 
Please share this meeting notice with your family, friends and neighbours. Our community needs everyone to get signed up and involved to protect and preserve the historical integrity of our home, the River Heights community!
 
Looking forward to seeing you at our meeting next Tuesday at the Asper Community Campus!
 
All the best,
 
Judy Plotkin, Acting Chair
On Behalf of the River Heights Residents Association

 
 
 
Subscribe to the Winnipeg Jewish Review
  • Jewish Federation of Winnipeg
  • Coughlin Insurance
  • Joyce Rykiss
  • Munroe Pharmacy
  • TD Canada Trust
  • CHW
  • ClearCare Periodontal & Implant Centre
  • GTP
  • Imperial Soap
  • Daien Denture Clinic
  • Nick's Inn
  • Josef Ryan
  • Roseman Corp.
  • Thorvaldson Care
  • Cavalier Candies
  • Ambassador Mechanical
  • HUB
  • CDN Visa
  • Laufman Reprographics
  • Maric Homes
  • Artista Homes
  • Pasquale (Charlie) Aiello
  • Southwynn Homes
  • Tradesman Mechanical
  • Taverna Rodos
  • Capital Grill
  • CVA Systems
  • Accurate Lawn & Garden
  • Dr. Gary Levine
  • Fetching Style
  • Ronald B. Zimmerman
  • Allan Davies
  • West Kildonan Auto Service
  • Kristina's Fine Greek Cuisine
  • Erickson Motors
  • Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Grant Kurian Trucking
  • Nikos
  • Sarel Canada
  • Santa Lucia Pizza
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Roofco Winnipeg Roofing
  • Center for Near East Policy Research
  • Nachum Bedein
Rhonda Spivak, Editor

Publisher: Spivak's Jewish Review Ltd.


Opinions expressed in letters to the editor or articles by contributing writers are not necessarily endorsed by Winnipeg Jewish Review.